We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food!”
Review of La Paloma

La Paloma
Ranked #31 of 277 Restaurants in Quincy
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Delicious authentic mexican food. Everything here is good. You can't go wront. Drinks and desserts are amazing. Waitstaff is friendly and efficient. One of the owners is usually present, at least on the weekends, and they are very friendly and care about their customers. Great place for dinner and drinks with friends!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ange2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“average food in a mediocre setting for a fair price.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

this is one of the most unremarkable restaurants i have ever eaten at. i dont have very much positive or negative to say other than i ate here and probably wont again. For a app i ordered the gorditos and this was actualy the star of the meal and pretty good. but then again anytime chorizo is your base ingredient in a dish its pretty hard to mess it up. for a entree i ordered a chicken mole enchilada and i was left unimpressed. the whole dish just felt kind of bland to me and was not as good as the same dish i have ordered in other restaurants. My girlfriend got a steak fajita and from what i saw you could get the exact same dish at the same quality at applebees or chilis. the margeritas were ok as i got the pepper rita and it tasted great but maybe im just spoiled and used to having giant margiritas at other mexican restaurants. the restaurant is in a strip mall and although there are some decorations the place just dosnt feel like it has much charecter or very festive. lastly my server didnt even bother to tell me about the dinner specials as i saw them on the board on my way out the door. theres nothing wrong with this place per say but if your going on a first date and you want to impress so you can get laid you can do much better!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous, friendly Mexican meal!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I live in the area and whenever I'm in the mood for a delicious enchilada, a refreshing margarita, and a relaxing meal, I always go to La Paloma.

The prices are reasonable, the restaurant is cozy, and it always feels like a fun fiesta when I go there! There is a cute, little bar and an adjoining enclave where you can munch on warm tortilla chips and their own salsa (which is so good you can buy in local supermarkets!) while you wait for a table.

They have awesome specials, and whenever they have the scallop or shrimp on offer, I get it. I recently had a lobster quesadilla ... to die for!!

La Paloma is in a strip mall next to a Wendy's and unless you are from the area, you would never know what a gem it is. Enjoy!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbsboyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

La Paloma of Quincy is our favorite local Mexican restaurant. My wife and I have been dining there since 1998, and we still love it. The dining room is small and cozy, but not cramped, the staff is friendly, and the food is superb. I almost always order Enchiladas Mole with rice and beans, and have flan for dessert. The most difficult decision for me is whether to have a Corona or Dos Equis. La Paloma also makes fabulous homemade salsa and guacamole. If you're going to dine there on a Saturday night, I suggest you go early, because it's a popular spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarthMacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good eats you won't leave hungry!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere has changed little in almost 20 years so even though the decore is dusty the food is consistent and good. Very filling. Salsa is very yummy with warm chips served before you order. Could use a bigger bar and more tables. If you like food with a home cooked comfort feel then this is a good place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainelyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paloma also viewed

 

Been to La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing