We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Quincy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spiddal, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good base location”
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for a week as part of a football team visiting area. Must say that the hospitality was excellent. The concierge especially made every effort for us to enjoy the stay.

The rooms were large and clean. Beds were comfortable. Without saying anything else the bedrooms were of a high qualitty.

Only had breakfast in hotel twice as wew booked room only. The breakfast was good, with a good choice, but extremely expensive (approx $18 each). The bar was nice but I must say that the barmen could do with lightening up. Found it very difficult to justify tipping them as they were wooden faced and made very little effort to communicate with us (they did with native Ameericans). In the end I stopped tipping and went elsewhere (beer was moch cheaper, about 40%, elsewhere).

There was a pool and jacuzzi, which were great and the location is excellend, very close to shopping malls and the T.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive bar and restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Donncha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    340
    116
    37
    32
See reviews for
216
166
48
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Just back from boston, stayed in Quincy Marriot. Its a super hotel. Its very big but never seemed to be over busy. Staff were very helpful. Concierges were all great knew exactly where to send us. Shuttle bus is great facility to have even has one that drops and picks up from South Shore Plaza Mall. Even though bus finished at 9.00 the taxis are very reasonable. Buffet breakfast is $15 but would fill you up for the day.

  • Liked — Friendlieness of staff. Great value for money
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinUn_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on business in Boston. It's a good location for people looking for a reasonably priced hotel which is not to far from Boston's centre.

The T shuttle which is complementary to and from the hotel is a great perk and very useful when it’s cold outside!

All in all a good hotel, nice sized rooms. My only criticism would be of the waitress in the bar who thought we must have been ignorant English people who informed us on our first night that “it works a little different over here. You have to tip 18 – 20%”. It made me not want to leave her anything.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NovemberIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be just fine. It's an older Marriott so there are some dated aspects but overall it's fine.
The staff was pleasant. The workout facility way-above average.
Food on site was good. Rooms were clean. Starbucks coffee is available in the morning (for sale). And, they had nice touches, like cookies in the Lobby in the afternoon and even a Halloween goodie bag for my 3-year old. The hotel is situated on a bluff overlooking Quincy so it offers really nice views, especially with the fall color. You can even see glimpses of Boston and the bays.
My biggest nit was the overpowering smell of air freshener in the Lobby. It was quite aromatic.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southern_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Well worth staying here and saving on the price of a hotel in central Boston. Easy to get into Boston using the hotel shuttle bus ( once every hour) and the T from Quincy Adams for half hour trip. we walked back from the T to the hotel and it only took 10 mins tho uphill. You can either buy a ticket for $2 per trip or a 1 day travel card for $9 which lets you use the T as much as you like.
Very comfortable bed, flat screen tv and tea/coffee facilities in the room. Good views from the room although hotel is in a business district.
Good pool, jacuzzi and gym facilites.
Very good breakfast for $15.95 - buffet type with ample choices.
We ate in the bar each night, menu a bit limited but the food was fine.
Hotel has a 'discover Quincy' package available sometimes which provides 2 tickets for the harbour express and for the Adams visitor centre - interesting trips both of them!

  • Liked — Comfort at a good price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluemtns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

A good stay, in a clean comfortable room. Was a bit concerned taking the 'T' out to Quincy Adams stop as it seemed quite far but was actually very easy. Approx 20min train ride from centre, and a complimentry shuttle avaliable from station to hotel - very handy. At the time we were in Boston most decent hotels were $350 - $400AUD, this we got for a little under $200, so was well worth the 20min train ride. Only issue for anyone who may want to book, shuttle service ends at 9pm, (but taxi's wouldnt cost much from the station) and there is not much to do in the immediate area, its just the hotel. 2 restuarants to choose from in hotel, as well as a snack area near front desk.

  • Liked — Shuttle service
  • Disliked — not much in immediate area other than hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mattykaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Chose the hotel based on comments from other Tripadvisor guests and was not disappointed. Wanted something easy to get to by car with good parking and near a train station for access to Boston. Chose to drive down the train station about a mile away rather than rely on the shuttle bus...parking was reasonable $5 for the day. Ride into Boston centre took about 30mins and you might need some help working out the ticket machine! Hotel is very large but rooms and public areas all well appointed and comfortable. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and there was at least one wedding party.Consequently there was lots of corridor noise until the early hours of the morning and the lifts made an irritating ding dong when they arrived at the floor...not good for light sleepers! Internet was available but in the bedroom was charged at $9.95 a day which also included some landline calls. Free wireless access was available in the lobby and there was a business centre we didn't use. Restaurant was OK but quite expensive. Overall a great edge of city base for visiting Boston.

  • Liked — Convenience to train station
  • Disliked — Paid internet access in room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
3.8 mi away
Best Western Adams Inn Quincy-Boston
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Quincy
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
1.1 mi away
Beantown Inn
Beantown Inn
#4 of 7 in Braintree
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Quincy

Property: Boston Marriott Quincy
Address: 1000 Marriot Dr, Quincy, MA 02169-0940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Quincy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Quincy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Quincy, MA, this hotel offers access to Boston, Plymouth and Cape Cod. Features 464 hotel rooms, a pool and health club, and on-site restaurants including Kilroy's Irish Pub and Hancock's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Boston Marriott Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Quincy Hotel Quincy
Marriott Quincy
Quincy Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing