We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pinoy Food in MA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JnJ Turo Turo

JnJ Turo Turo
Ranked #110 of 274 Restaurants in Quincy
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: whatscooking@jnjturoturo.com 617 471 8876
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Pinoy Food in MA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We go to JnJ once a month since we moved to MA. The restaurant is next to SurePinoy which is very convenient when we do our Filipino grocery shopping monthly. I always order my to go before going to the grocery and pick it up after.

My favorite are: dinuguan, fried tilapia, lechon kawali and sinigang! I order 2 or 3 dishes and JnJ never turned me down. This is how I satisfy my craving for Filipino food, from JnJ.

The place is always packed every time we go there, that means the food is delicious! I have no complaint about the amount of serving, a small order is good for my 2 meals except the lechon kawali serving but I have no complaint, next time I will order 1 up size.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikbalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Filipino Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The food here seemed to be about as authentic as you're going to find in North America. Great pork adobo, lumpiang shanghai, and pancit bihon.

The staff were all friendly and will take the time to explain each menu item to all the gringos.

They have a fantastic selection of Pinoy goods in the market connected to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good value + decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

The SO (Significant Other) and I stopped by there last night for a quick bite on the way to the Cape.
The SO is Philipino and commented that the place was much like those in other Philipino communities in NY and California - warm and friendly and unpretentious .It was also extremely clean and spotless. The service did not disappoint either - friendly and efficient from the young man and woman.
The barbequed pork was flavorful and the Kare-Kare (Beef) had a yummy sauce.which though not a good as the SO's mother (per the SO) was tasty.The Lumpia Shanghai was also good. The Pansit Bihon (steamed vermicelli w/veg) was the not so terrific menu choice we made - too much vinegar .
The pprices were inexppensive and we'd definitely return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SoEndBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Decent sisig, good lechun kawali, friendly atmosphere. It's a cozy little place with about five tables. It's next to a nice little pinoy grocery story as well. If you want to try Filipino food out in Boston, this is probably the only place you can go. But that doesn't make it bad. It was very clean and inviting for such a very small place. Don't think of it as much more than someone cooking for you out of their kitchen and you'll like it fine. Prices are a bit high but well within reason.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and tasteless food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

First of, our server was so unfriendly, she did not even crack a smile. She left the plates and serving ware in the middle of our table. After a few minutes, I figured she wasn't going back to arrange them so I decided to do it myself. There was no greetings what so ever. We ordered eggrolls and for the price, it was not worth it. They were so tiny and there were barely any filling at all. There were 4pieces for $4.95 which is $1.25 per piece. They are so tiny it's even smaller than a regular bite!

The food are so small and the rice doesn't come with it. You have to order rice and they are again, overpriced. They are lacking meat, vegetables therefore, NO TASTE!

Forget Halo-Halo (dessert). TASTELESS!!!!

I WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN.

I would like to support my fellow Filipinos, but this place....NEVER! It's a shame to call it a Filipino Restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FellowPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JnJ Turo Turo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing