We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so nice”
Review of Tony's Clam Shop

Tony's Clam Shop
Ranked #1 of 281 Restaurants in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just so nice”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to their Wollaston Beach location. You order and pay inside, then you try to nail a table and wait for your beeper to go off. There is seating inside and out, but if the weather cooperates the outside, across the street from the ocean, is really nice. As for the food, fried clams and the lobster roll seem to be the main attractions. I thought the clams were among the best, just a tad under our very favorite, the Clam Box in Ipswich. But that is a much further ride for us, and these calms didn't miss by much. The cole slaw that came with the clam dinner was another matter. I guess it all depends on one's personal taste, but this version was all mayo with a touch of cabbage. When I picked up our order at the counter, then proceeded to the condiment counter, I didn't take any tarter sauce because I thought I saw it on the plate. Wrong! It was the cole slaw. The lobster roll was terrific and, unlike the preceding, used the mayo sparingly and that, for me, was a big plus. It was loaded with what I came for - lobster! And it was delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    97
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Galena,IL
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Appropriate for the beach”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Shared an early dinner with the daughter on a sunny Sunday recently. The fried whole claims were a first for us...should have gotten the clam strips. Personal preference only, the wholes were well -prepared. The star of the meal for me was the homemade onion rings. Light crunchy batter surrounding a sweet onion. I tasted more onion than batter. Next time I'll get clam strips.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLH828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll on south shore. Maybe even north shore”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fantastic lobster rolls with tons of lobster. Excellent clam rolls. Onion rolls a bit tasteless. Excellent fries. Went on a Friday 90 degree night. Arrived at 5:30. Easy parking in back. Waited about 10 mins for food. A definite must for lobster and clam rolls

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ssc3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fried Lobster is here”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Yes, if you are a native of Boston, you may be thinking, "Why would you do that to a Lobster." I had fried lobster in New Hampshire about 20 years ago & was searching for another place in the Boston area. Tony's Clam Shop is a great place for lunch when you are searching for a family-like atmosphere. Tony's is the "Pizza shop of seafood." You order from the board on the wall behind the counter. The food is delicious and the customer service is how-are-you-doing friendly. You can watch the shore while you eat either outside or sit in. Very reasonably priced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank D_Diane_105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Back for more”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Update for April 2013. Good as ever. Hard to beat their clam strip baskets or meals. Every now and then you must indulge.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank phu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Clam Shop also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Clam Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing