We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster on our trip”

The Travelin Lobster
Ranked #2 of 165 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Description: Phil & Kelly Corson welcome you to their family owned and operated lobster takeout restaurant. Previously located at our old location 864 State Hwy. 3, we have moved to our new location - a brand new building, more parking and full restrooms. The Corson family has been lobstering for generations. Captain Phil delivers the freshest catch daily. Customers can hand pick their own lobsters. We are most known for our lobster dinners of lobster, mussels, corn, and melted butter along with our "overflowing" lobster roll. We pick our lobster meat fresh daily sometimes twice. We provide the best of local seafood at affordable prices. We have outdoor seating only. Open late May - October. We've added fire pits and tower heaters for the ultimate outdoor eating experience!
Restaurant details
Description: Phil & Kelly Corson welcome you to their family owned and operated lobster takeout restaurant. Previously located at our old location 864 State Hwy. 3, we have moved to our new location - a brand new building, more parking and full restrooms. The Corson family has been lobstering for generations. Captain Phil delivers the freshest catch daily. Customers can hand pick their own lobsters. We are most known for our lobster dinners of lobster, mussels, corn, and melted butter along with our "overflowing" lobster roll. We pick our lobster meat fresh daily sometimes twice. We provide the best of local seafood at affordable prices. We have outdoor seating only. Open late May - October. We've added fire pits and tower heaters for the ultimate outdoor eating experience!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The lobster roll was amazing.. There was none better at any location we’ve been at at. The chowda and bisque were fantastic as well. I definitely put this mom and pop stop as a must when in the area. I hope they never change in the years to come.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank ThominOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank T, Public Relations Manager at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much folks for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We do try very haed to offer a good portion of food for the amount of money that we all pat for today. Again thank you Hank T. The Original Travelin' Lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stopped at this place due to good reviews. After hiking in Acadia park I was ready to eat a whole horse! It is good that this restaurant provides a large portions. We ordered lobsters with corn and clams. Everything was very fresh. Local beer was delicious. Price was very affordable.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Menada25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank T, Public Relations Manager at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the nice review so happy you folks enjoyed your meal with us. Hopefully you will come our way again at some point. Again thank you Hank T. The Original Travelin' Lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here after hiking in Acadia and the food was great. I had a hot buttered lobster roll and the local root beer. Lobster is pricey even at this low key outdoor stand but it was a good portion piled on the buttery bun.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank desertsky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank T, Public Relations Manager at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you folks for stopping and for the real nice review. So happy you enjoyed your meal with us. We put at least 5 ounces of meat in our lobster rolls the amount of meat we are getting out of the lobster right now is equal to one and one half lobsters per lobster roll. Again thank you Hank T. The Original Travelin Lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't have plans to stop here originally but because an accident closed the road off of the island we decided to stop and eat. We went for the basic lobster, clams and corn dinners. The lobster was good and the clams were very clean. The corn was the letdown, it seemed tasteless. They only have outside seating so it's not a good place to stop in bad weather.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r0bertg222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank T, Public Relations Manager at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for taking time to write us a review. Happy you enjoyed your meal with us.The corn we have now is from New York state we have had allot of compliments about it but you may of gotten an ear that just wasn't good. I would of gladly cooked you another ear if I had known. We are a very casual outside picnic table setting which is what we want to be. Again thank you very much. Hank T. The Original Travelin' Lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was in charge of finding an evening out for a group of 9 and I delivered, or I should say The Travelin Lobster did. The service was great as our group was quite a handful.
Not a Lobster guy I'll admit but when in Rome. Spent a few nights in Portland and 6 days of eating non stop lobster in Bar Harbor so was starting to get a little sick of it.
Got the special with mussels and the lobster. Boom. Excellent choice. It's a road side joint with incredibly fresh food and a sneaky Blue Berry pie that will knock your socks off. Will be back here.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TheMish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank T, Public Relations Manager at The Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to writing us such a wonderful review of our roadside lobster shack. So happy that we were able to provide your group with great simple food at a reasonable price. We enjoyed your group everyone was super friendly and nice. Again thank you so much Hank T. The Original Travelin' Lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Travelin Lobster also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Travelin Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing