We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a winter climb of Katahdin, this is the place!”

Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School
Ranked #1 of 44 Tours in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tradition of excellence. Featured in Outside Magazine, the Boston Globe, Downeast Magazine, National Geographic Adventure and on Bill Green's Maine, CBS, Maine PBS among many others. Experience a half-day or full day climb with Maine’s original and most respected climbing school. Acadia Mountain Guides is one of the most sought out leaders of climbing instruction and guide education in the US. We specialize in designing unique, personalized climbing experiences for all ages and abilities on the scenic shores of Acadia and throughout Maine! Join us for a healthy and fun activity that is guaranteed to be a highlight of your vacation.All equipment is provided. Unlike other local seasonal climbing services, guiding is our profession! We guide year round on rock, snow, and ice. 100% of our staff are independently trained and certified above national guiding and medical standards set by the American Mountain Guides Association and the Professional Climbing Instructors Association. AMGCS has the distinction of being the only school in Maine to be dually accredited by both the AMGA and the PCIA. AMG has been under the same consistent ownership since opening in 1993. The owner, Jon Tierney, began guiding in 1983 in Acadia and is one of a handful of Americans to earn the International Federation of Mountain Guides Association (IFMGA) guide license. The IFMGA license is the PhD of guiding and requires full AMGA certification as a rock, alpine and ski mountaineering guide. We look forward to meeting you on the rocks!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For a winter climb of Katahdin, this is the place!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Dick Chassé was a fantastic guide for two older guys. Great cook, too. If you want a tough, but safe climb up Katahdin, you can't do better than hiring Dick.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    8
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“safety on the rocks”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I just finished a week with Acadia Mountain Guides chief, Jon Tierney. We went to Joshua Tree in CA and Red Rocks in NV. His knowledge of the areas is amazing, and he tailored climbs for a friend and me - so we had challenge but were not overpowered. Cracks galore, slabs, and faces with cracks. Weather great. I like the fact he teaches you how it should be done safely and efficiently while you are having a ball doing the climb.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank climber06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great mountain, great guide”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A friend and I just spent a couple days on a wonderful winter climb of Katahdin in Baxter State Park, Maine. Dick Chasse, our guide, did a fine job of leading two fit (but still - late 50s!) guys up snowy & icy Katahdin's 5268 feet. Dick is not only a fine guide and good companion, but full of information on the park's flora, fauna and history. While we had expected the usual backwoods freeze-dried dining, DIck is a fine cook, and prepared great meals with fresh ingredients. I strongly recommend Acadia Mountain Guides for both overall quality and value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHK-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rockclimbing school”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had an awesome one on one rock climbing/rapelling class on the cliffs of Acadia. Would absolutely go again!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3-Day Ice Climbing”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

An amazing adventure and great experience. Dick was a great guide and instructor. I learned so much about ice climbing, mountaineering, and how to accomplish this safely. Some of the most amazing views while climbing up on Mt Washington on the final day. An experience that will not be forgotten. I will use Acadia Mountain Guides again when it comes to climbing rock, ice or mountains in New England and would recommend this guide service to anyone looking to do the same. Thanks again to the entire staff for a great 3 days.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MDMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing