We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We recently spent 3 nights at the Bar Harbor Hotel, and loved it. The rooms are immaculate and beautiful (we stayed in a Stena king on the 2nd floor) and the service was good too. As soon as we checked in the desk clerk spent 10 minutes with us going over maps of the area in detail, giving us information and offering the help with advice in any way. The rooms in Stena are large and comfortable - the terry cloth robes and beautiful view from the deck outside our room was a great extra. The only small complaint we had was having to walk to the property next door for breakfast; but because there is a fridge in each room, we ended up buying cereal & milk and having breakfast there in the room with the coffee the hotel supplied. The pools, indoor and out, and hot tub were also immacutely kept. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    236
    79
    31
    10
See reviews for
203
482
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Definitely an upper-tier 4 star hotel. Rooms were very well decorated with nice amenities. They have a masseuse on the property daily and the piano bar was lots of fun and the pianist is excellent. Staff was very friendly; we had good babysitters and the doormen are really friendly and do look after you. We took the 2 bedroom apartment on the lower level; you give up the view that you get from upper floors which is beautiful but you have a great apartment with a huge wraparound terrace and the kitchen is stocked to the hilt (the previous owners used it as their summer residence). Prices were very good value considering other properties closer to town; this one is just a 20 minute walk to the center of town and we did the walk daily. The nearby Wonderview restaurant is certainly adequate and the Rose Garden restaurant featured one of the best dinners we had on our 2 week vacation -- totally first rate particularly considering that a good number of restaurants in the center of town were not that great. A superb restaurant we did enjoy in town was Eden, a vegeterian choice, with excellent anything we had. We would definitely recommend this place for people with kids and hope that they will build more family type accommodations in this hotel. Another hotel closer to town with family-type suites and pretty views right on the waterfront is the Harborside Hotel but the rooms there are twice the price, so I think the Bluenose is the best bang for your buck. Be sure that when approaching this hotel in your car you find out where the hotel is; there is poor signage from the road and you can easily miss it since it is up a hill off the road. The hotel manager reports that because the hotel doesn't own the land abutting the road the hotel is prohibited by law from improving its signage but they are trying to appeal the zoning ruling.

  • Liked — Good value and good family accommodations available
  • Disliked — 20 Minute walk away from town or a one mile drive
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

I stayed at the Bar Harbor/Blue Nose Inn ................ very clean,
scenic property. My room was immaculate ......... scenery from the balcony (i was on the second floor) was beautiful. The pool was awesome, again very clean. I would definetly stay here again. A must see in this town is, of course, Acadia National Park.

Helpful?
3 Thank dianaprince4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2006

There are few places that we've loved staying at more than this one. Staff was geat, the pianist in the lounge was terrific, and the accomodations were first class. We've been there twice now, and look forward to coming back. Rooms are large, great views above the second floor front, and the fireplaces add much to their ambiance.

  • Liked — Great rooms with balacnies and fireplaces
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shrink2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2006

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely nights stay at the Bluenose Inn on what was the last night of their 2006 season.
The staff was friendly and helpful when needed but not underfoot .Our room was absolutely beautiful and very clean. It was spacious and had a magnificient view of the bay. Inspite of it being their last night, the hotel itself was very clean and well organized. Absolutely nothing "looked" closed-up.
What a wonderful time we had! You will not make a mistake in booking yourself a room for 2007! I know we will stay again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early and late season for more room choices.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IMPickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

After traveling around Maine and staying in many quaint bed and breakfasts, I found the Bluenose to be an overpriced dissapointment. and the staff to be unfriendly. Our high-priced room (in the Stenna Nordica part of the hotel) was very much a nice, but over-priced motel room. The open walkways lend nice views of the ocean, but no privacy as other guests pass your room. I felt especially bad about this choice when passing many other small and beautiful hotels and b&bs in town (not even out of town, like the bluenose), that were advertising much better prices. This hotel stay was definitely the low point of our time in Maine.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank nodeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puck7, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2007
My #1 problem with this review is that these guests apparently did not enjoy themselves and departed dissatisfied. My #2 problem is that we never found out about their dissatisfaction until well after their departure....we never had an opportunity to possibly remedy their situation. #3, but most painful to me was their opinion of our staff as unfriendly. I am most proud of the friendly accommodating nature of all of our personnel and their dedication to ensuring complete satisfaction from all of our guests. The vast majority of the reviews on TripAdvisor are very supportive of our staff and their commitment to service excellence.
It appears these guests were more interested in a "B&B" type experience and Bar Harbor does have some nice B&Bs. However, they do not have 4 Diamond restaurants, indoor and outdoor pools, a beautiful Great Room bistro and bar with one of Maine's finest pianists playing every night in season. They do not have a steam room, a Jacuzzi, fitness center, and massage services. And I don't believe they have a staff anywhere near as friendly and accommodating as the staff at Bluenose Inn.
The Bluenose Inn has two buildings for accommodations, the Stenna Nordica and the Mizzentop. While the Mizzentop is more luxurious, the Stenna Nordica is very well appointed and offers a Four Diamond experience and amenities at competitive pricing. There are rooms with lower pricing in Bar Harbor, but not with comparable property-wide amenities and services.
I feel badly that these guests were unhappy, but I sincerely believe their review was quite unfair and did not even closely describe our wonderful hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Beautiful hotel, with amazing oceanviews!!
After reading positive reviews on this website, we booked a top(4th) floor at the mizzentop building.
The location of this room allowed for a 180 degree view of the harbor, with spectacular sunrises.

Staff was exceptional, and there was nothing that we even needed to call down to reception for.

Great stay, and worth the price!!

  • Liked — sunrise view from the room
  • Disliked — We werent there long enough
  • Tips/Secrets — request 4th floor mizzentop
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CTSURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing