We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, great view, not a fan of Stenna Nordica bldg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great view, not a fan of Stenna Nordica bldg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Bluenose Inn (it's more of a hotel than inn) has a beautiful view and a good location basically in between Acadia and Bar Harbor so a convenient 5-ish minute drive to either place. There is a main building that has the check-in and several stories of rooms and then a separate building on the property that I stayed in which is called the Stenna Nordica. The actual room was clean and ok (decor is very floral-not especially modern and could use updating), the bed was very comfortable and I loved the keurig in the room. However, enjoying the view while in the room is difficult since the rooms are all lined up facing outside like an old school motel. People walk right in front of your room (your window) to get to and from their room and the parking lot so if your curtains are open they could see right into your room and you hear their conversations. I felt most comfortable keeping the curtains closed when I was in the room so couldn't get the benefit of the view. The restaurant on the property (up 2 steep walks but they will drive you in a golf cart) has an incredible view but was quite expensive. I wouldn't stay in the Stenna Nordica again but would consider the main building.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad that you took the time to check out the full range of accomodations we offer and based on your specific comments, I agree that you would probably really like the Mezzentop building. I do hope that we will have that opportunity to host you again.

Likewise, we are very proud of our restaurant The Looking Glass, but are always willing and able to help steer our guests to other options better suited to tastes and budgets.

I hope to meet you in the future,

Jim Ash
GM/ Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    200
    63
    29
    9
See reviews for
175
418
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel is beyond walking distance from town and for less money, you can stay at the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa, be right at the center of everything and still have a spa. I feel that we way overpaid for a dated very average room.

Room Tip: Get the end room that has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWHSUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay with us.

The location here is viewed by many and certainly me as actually preferrable to being directly in town. Our views are unmatched and the ability to be out of the hustle and bustle of town yet within a short distance of town is an advantage in many ways.

If we were not accessible for you by foot I am concerned that you may not have been aware of the shuttle service to town from our sister hotel the Wonder View that might have been of help to you. I apologize if you were not informed of all of the options available to you.

I wish you well in your future travels and thank you for the opportunity to serve you while you were here.

Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It's located walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. The room was very spacious with a working fireplace and balcony overlooking the bay. The fridge was clean and working order so we were able to keep a supply of snacks on hand from the local grocery store. Convenient drive into Acadia for day hikes, and Jason in the Great Room bar and Lookingglass restaurant provided excellent hiking advice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBSmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our location. We are not in the busy middle section of town yet we are really just a few blocks from Main Street.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed your room with the fireplace and all of the amenities. We want for our guests to be able to feel truly comfortable in their rooms even if they don't spend much time there.

It's great to hear that Jason gave great tips on hiking. It is always best to get your information from someone who has had the experience personally.

I look forward to hosting you again should you decide to return to Bar Harbor.

Thank you,

Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The beds were very uncomfortable - very soft and backache inducing! The carpet can do with some upgrading. The driveway definitely needs seal coating!Very clean and easy access to most attractions. Indoor pool is nice but the outdoor one is too small.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It sounds like you found several specific things that were not to your liking. We strive to please our guests and are always working to do more. I hope you had a wonderful vacation and thank you for choosing us while you were in Bar Harbor.

Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We took the kids, ages 7 & 9 to Bar Harbor for the first time to experience Acadia. The Bluenose Inn is the perfect place for the family. Great accomodations! Awesome pools, perfect room with an unbeatable view from the balcony. Just outside downtown Bar Harbor. Close enough to walk. Just down the street from an Acadia Park entrance. Quiet! We were probbaly the ones annoying the other guests. We would come back year after year after year.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a Harbor view and a balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you! It doesn't get any better than this. I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our facility and location so much. It sounds like you had the experience we strive to provide to all of our guests.

I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again and again as you say and look forward to having the opportunity to meet you personally the next time you are here.

Jim Ash
General Manager/ Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Everything was great. Attentive personnel, great location, clean rooms, easy parking. Why 4 stars instead of 5? The hallway was in front of room, like a motel style. Meaning you can not open curtain on your window to have more light or enjoy the view without been observed by everyone who walks down the hallway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am very happy to hear that you had a good experience and appreciated our staff, location, parking etc. It sounds like you stayed in the Stenna Nordica building and would have been happier in the Mezzentop where you would have had a completely private balcony. There is a price difference between the two but when this is an important feature to a guest it is definitely worth the extra expense. I am sorry if you were not made aware of this when booking your room.

We always encourage potential guests to call our reservations desk directly so that all of the variable features of our rooms are made clear.

I certainly hope you will be back and will consider staying with us again. You are now a valued friend to us.

Thank you,
Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Unfortunately, we did not get to take advantage of the many amenities of the Bluenose, as we did not get to stay very long. Our room was clean and the bed was super comfortable. We stayed in the mizzentop area of the inn, on the 3rd floor. Wonderful view of the water from our balcony, as well as of the sunrise. The most expensive place we stayed during our trip, but is think it was worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, you'll need to spring for a more expensive room, but if it's not im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are absolutely right about the view and certain amenities as they relate to price. We always strive to match our guests to the best room for them. It sounds like in your case that worked just the way it should.

I hope you will continue returning when you can spend some more time with us and enjoy all that our beautiful property has to offer.

Thank you,
Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#17 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing