We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Everything was great. Attentive personnel, great location, clean rooms, easy parking. Why 4 stars instead of 5? The hallway was in front of room, like a motel style. Meaning you can not open curtain on your window to have more light or enjoy the view without been observed by everyone who walks down the hallway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am very happy to hear that you had a good experience and appreciated our staff, location, parking etc. It sounds like you stayed in the Stenna Nordica building and would have been happier in the Mezzentop where you would have had a completely private balcony. There is a price difference between the two but when this is an important feature to a guest it is definitely worth the extra expense. I am sorry if you were not made aware of this when booking your room.

We always encourage potential guests to call our reservations desk directly so that all of the variable features of our rooms are made clear.

I certainly hope you will be back and will consider staying with us again. You are now a valued friend to us.

Thank you,
Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    235
    78
    31
    10
See reviews for
201
477
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Unfortunately, we did not get to take advantage of the many amenities of the Bluenose, as we did not get to stay very long. Our room was clean and the bed was super comfortable. We stayed in the mizzentop area of the inn, on the 3rd floor. Wonderful view of the water from our balcony, as well as of the sunrise. The most expensive place we stayed during our trip, but is think it was worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, you'll need to spring for a more expensive room, but if it's not im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are absolutely right about the view and certain amenities as they relate to price. We always strive to match our guests to the best room for them. It sounds like in your case that worked just the way it should.

I hope you will continue returning when you can spend some more time with us and enjoy all that our beautiful property has to offer.

Thank you,
Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week. The Balconies are large with a great view and are attached to a
sitting room with fireplace and a second TV. They have refrigerators and Keurig Coffee pots in the rooms and Bose Music players & Free Wi-Fi. (This place is top notch!) Very Clean Hotel and rooms with a very friendly staff. We also used the meeting rooms and the staff was very attentive. The restaurant is located up a hill, but they have staff with a golf cart to transport you if you wish a lift. The bar area was beautiful with daily specials... They also have coffee and cookies in Lobby area...I would and will stay at this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl-Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. You were staying in one of the 10 suites in our Mezzentop building that features a separate sitting room with a fireplace and private balcony. We have many price points and room types available and yours is a great testimony to how important it is to ask and get for all of the amenities you want during your stay.

I am very happy to hear that the little touches such as cookies, our golf cart transportation to the restaurant and our amenities in the room such as the Keurig and Bose player were noticed and appreciated. These details are very important to us.

Thank you again,
Jim Ash
General Manager/ Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This Inn is not in the heart of Bar Harbor which is a good thing. It's a little out of town but a very short drive to the town. We had no trouble parking or driving anywhere and it was prime summer time. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There's a great restaurant a short walk up a hill with a fabulous view. You are close to the park visitor center. The rooms are decorated in pink with Mary Cassat prints on the walls. Twinkly chandeliers. Very sweet. Clean, comfortable. We had the pool to ourselves and it is a fabulous pool with a hot tub at one end and a spa at the other. There is a highway out front but you are up on a hill. You'll hear the noise if you sit on the balcony-and since the views from the rooms are spectacular, you will. But it's very quiet as soon as you close the door.

Room Tip: ask for a high room in the Mizzentop. Suites are very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margarita200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for your very nice review of the Bluenose. I am happy that you enjoyed your room, the restaurant (The Looking Glass), the pool, and our wonderful location. You have written a great description of our rooms. I hope you will think of us again if you return to Bar Harbor and look forward to meeting you personally when you do.

Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Mass.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just returned from a stay in bar harbor. I loved this hotel...Gorgeous, clean, spectacular views from our room. Cannot wait to return to this lovely place, both the hotel and the island! Wonderful room on the third floor of the mezza"something" building. Loved it all!

Room Tip: It's worth it, if you can, to pay a little more to have a room with a balcony, right off the Atl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanBlousteinHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to your return visit and sincerely hope that we have an opportunity to meet in person if we have not done so already. I host weekly Manager Receptions to meet our guests and welcome you to attend.

Thank you,

Jim Ash
GM/Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bluenose Inn. The location is not right in the "downtown" area of Bar Harbor, but it is a very short drive (less than 5 minutes). The rooms are very clean with great quality linens and toiletries and comfortable beds. Having the fridge and Keurig in the room was great. We used both the indoor and outdoor pools and were impressed with both, as well as the fitness room, steam room and hot tub. We stayed in the Stenna Nordica building and had no issues with the room. The view from our room was absoutely wonderful. We ended up staying an extra night and the staff were very helpful in extending our reservation during a very busy time. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. We also ate at the on-site restaurant. While the food was good and the view was fabulous, the service was a bit slow and it was a bit pricey. The coffee, hot chocolate and sometimes cookies in the lobby were a great bonus as well.

Room Tip: If you are in the Stenna Nordica building, choose a higher level floor if possible. This building do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sk8erm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would join us again if you are able to return to Bar Harbor.

We enjoy the fact that we are a little bit away from the downtown area, yet we are within walking distance and offer a shuttle service, in season, from our sister property the Wonder View which is next door.

I hope you were able to spend an evening in the Great Room listening to piano, with Bill Trowell while you were here. If not, then you definitely must come back!

I appreciate hearing that you enjoyed the small touches such as the refridgerator, Keurig and cookies.

Happy travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Bluenose Inn was rather old but 'well kept up'. It's main restaurant food didn't live up to what I expected nor did it's description as a 'glass-walled structure offering a beautiful view' (my expectations based on it's description of the write-up of it on the web-page of the Bluenose Inn). I also wished the single bathroom in our room was better ventilated. I was told on the phone when I reserved our stay at the Bluenose Inn that the 3rd floor rooms would have newly installed mattresses but, if they were indeed brand new, my back ached as if that we're not the case. But, despite all these complaints, I hope to never forget the breath-taking, beautiful view from our balcony and I really enjoyed eating outside for breakfast at the Bluenose Inn's restaurant. The first night we also enjoyed the piano music in the great room too. The staff at the Inn were always gracious and helpful as you could ever hope for.

Room Tip: We stayed at the building called the Nordica. It was a little outdated but well kept up. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryoochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds as though you had a very successful trip and a good stay with us. Now that you are familiar with our property you will know exactly what to ask for, and we would love to have you back.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in some of your experience at the Looking Glass, it sounds as though you found your way to the deck for breakfast though and it enjoyed it. I appreciate your time with us and the time you took here to tell us about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing