We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but farther from the Town than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable but farther from the Town than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room had a spectacular view, it was clean and beds were comfortable. There was room for all of us to spread out with our suitcases. The air conditioner didn't work to get room as comfortable as we would like but it did cool it down some. As typical of almost every hotel I've stayed at, even though my reservation was for 4 people, only two sets of towels were provided. Quickly remedied but I get irritated by the constant need to request adequate supplies from most hotels. Pools and spa were clean and nice to use and it was nice having an indoor pool as well as an outdoor pool.

The bathroom & sink were rather cramped and a mix of nice amenities and cheap replacements...such as having a real mug in which to make coffee, but again, only one mug provided. Toilet paper roll holder was plastic and towel holder was builder grade cheap stainless. Didn't match the older charming features.

It was odd having fridge under bathroom sink (outside of toilet & tub area) but still awkward to use. A little noisier than expected due to exterior entries (people walking past talking). Nice to have two chairs outside room to sit in for coffee or drink while enjoying the view of the Bay.

Don't recommend the restaurant - Looking Glass. Dirty, some servers excellent training others not so great. Had purchased package with Hotel that included some meals and would not do that again. Mistake because there are so many dining options available that would have been more reasonable and likely cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonO04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It sounds like overall you had a very positive experience.

I appreciate your specific feedback. We try to provide the top of the line when it comes to the amenities in our rooms. Those small touches mean a great deal to guests when they are away from home.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your experience at the Looking Glass. I have not heard feedback about a lack of cleanliness before nor have I personally experienced it so I am wondering what might have been going on that was out of the ordinary. In any case, I will look in to it with the restaurant management team.

Should you choose to stay with us again please call the front desk to learn more about our various room options. The building across the parking lot from where you were, for example, has private balconies and some suites which might be appealing to you traveling with four in your party. Thank you again for your time with us and here on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    236
    79
    31
    10
See reviews for
202
479
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The room was fine. Lovely view. Way too much money. Really dissapointed to pay $299 for this quality of room. With all the amenities on the property and the price I was expecting a very nice hotel. It was clean and well appointed but average is size layout and decor.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you were dissappointed in any way, however, I do want for you to know that we are very familiar with our local competition both in terms of facilities and pricing.

I hope that should you consider staying with us again in the future, which I certainly hope that you will, you will call our on site reservations desk to make sure that you are booking the perfect room for you, at the best price we can offer. There are quite a few different styles and price points for rooms on our property and we will do our very best to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Located on the top of a hill. Hotel property is pretty, very clean. Room is neat, older but kept well. Our room did have a tiny smell of dew but not bad. Staff is friendly! Piano bar area is nice with musician playing from 7pm-11pm at night while we stay there. No bad experience, weather was nice. Parking was plenty, would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Run_ar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience with us with other travelers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Great Room with Bill Trowell and that you were with us for some of this summers good weather.

I hope you also had the opportunity to enjoy dining at the Looking Glass and to experience some of our other amenities on the property such as the pools and spa.

We are thrilled to hear that you would return and certainly hope that you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were very lucky to get a room on a friday night. The room was very inviting. The pools and spa were extraordinary.I will be back. The staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you to a very kind lady I think her name was Jana for being so helpful to us.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angcpel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We look forward to seeing you again and are very happy to hear about how much you enjoyed your room, the pools and spa.

Jana is our Assistant General Manager and one of great assets. We appreciate you taking the time to share your good experience on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for one night while visiting the Bar Harbor area and Acadia National Park. The hotel is not in the main downtown area. The property is quite large. Rooms are much older but very clean. Service was friendly.

At night there is a pianist in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaDonnainDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor. It helps so much when our customers can let others know of their good experiences. We take great pride in the care of our guests and our facility. It is always nice to know when that is appreciated. It is also great to let folks know about our unique location. We have plenty of room to spread out in whether it be our large rooms or our expansive grounds which are over 19 acres total just blocks from the town of Bar Harbor. We hope that you will return to Bar Harbor and spend your vacation with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I visited Bar Harbor last weekend and can not say enough about our stay. I was hesitant about staying because the pictures on their website made the place look dated (think flowers). Once we arrived, all concern for the decor was gone when we took one look at the view! It really could not have been a better view, the checkin was a breeze, room was clean, they even had the old fashioned piano man playing in a very comfortable lounge (total throwback and totally enjoyable). We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room on the third and fourth floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetodineinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your sincere and thoughtful review of your stay with us. We pride ourselves on customer service and the special touches that create lasting memories for our guests.

It is great to hear that you discovered our pianist Bill Trowell. Bill is with us for his 18th year and there are many people who come to see us annually because he is here.

We never tire of the view and recognize how much it adds to the experience at the Bluenose.
Please come back to see us again soon. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Travel Down East we needed a place to land for a few days. After a long day driving around and deciding what to do we found the Blue Nose. The staff who helped us check in were great and got is a good room with a view. In fact we check in for just the night and decided the next day to extend our stay two more days! The sunrise was good (all though I don't have personal knowledge of it!) and the view of the bay was beautiful. The Blue Nose is within walking distance to most of the stuff in Bar Harbor but far enough away to be quiet. The local bus also makes trips from town to the Inn.

There was a funky bar where the guy playing piano was covering all sorts of hits from the 70s (turns out he has been there forever). The crowd was older (you could tell by the tray of reading glasses for people to use!). But was fun. Nothing like a little "Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree" by some dude playing the piano to get your blood flowing! We were starving after a long driving day and at at the bar. Finger food but did the trick. The bartender was attentive and we had a nice chat with the hotel manager.

In town we discovered 2 Cats for breakfast (wow!) and went for breakfast twice. We had pizza at Rosalie's and Mexican food at Gringo's. All delish.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jimscantlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your good experience with others on Tripadvisor. You discovered many of the special qualities about our property that make us unique and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it. We are away from the crowd yet within walking distance to town, the best views by many accounts in town, a fabulous restaurant, shuttle service, and of course the nightly entertainment by pianist Bill Trowell.

I sincerely hope that you will return to Bar Harbor and choose us again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing