We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel did not honor website price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Be very careful if book on-line. I tried to book 6 nights on-line (4/2/16) and there was a computer glitch showing all 6 nights were just $350 plus taxes. Being a very honest, I called the hotel and inquired. I was told there was a computer glitch. The summer escape package was rated for $218 per night and it came up as $350 for ALL 6 nights. I can understand they wouldn't honor their price the website shown for the $350 plus taxes, but when I called to let them know THEIR error on the website they would NOT offer the website summer escape package for the price shown on the website for $218 per night. This is poor customer service and can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Rim2Rimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

I would first like to apologize for the computer glitch that we experienced that lead to the issues. As you stated you clearly recognized something was wrong and that the price was erroneous.
However as part of our follow up, the Assistant General Manager informed you of the proper rates for the package and that she would indeed honor the $218 as the room rate which was a substantial discount but could not have this as a package price. Unfortunately you rejected this offer although as a sign of good faith and customer service we believe we were being more than reasonable. We hope that you reconsider and if you read the reviews on the Bluenose you will see that customer service is indeed rated very high by our guests. We welcome the opportunity to serve you and will still offer the room rate quoted above.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 997 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I went last summer mainly because it had two pools and I love to swim. the pools were very nice. The staff was outstanding and very helpful. I enjoyed going to the wine and cheese event, the manager was very kind. We met a very nice couple whom we chatted with for a little while before going to dinner in town. I enjoyed my stay, the beds were very comfortable. Thanks for a lovely get away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your stay last summer. I am glad to hear you enjoyed both our indoor and outdoor heated pools. They are indeed great assets for the property. Your comment about our outstanding staff will certainly be shared. Given that you stated you had a lovely getaway and enjoyable stay we certainly hope to see you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here while hiking Acadia. It was so beautiful. Clean and intimate. I will stay here again. Being a fitness junkie, the large hill going up to the Inn is good for sprinting :) The rooms are clean, the fireplace puts out massive heat. Enjoyed my stay tremendously.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalTechnique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your visit to the Bluenose. I especially liked your statement about the cleanliness and comfort and intimacy of the property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much and hope to see you again in the near future.
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We lived everything about this hotel. We had a room on the 4th floor and the view was fantastic. We had drinks in the lounge and that was such a beautiful room. Dinner was fantastic. We also enjoyed the pool. We can't wait to stay genre again.

Room Tip: It's worth the money to have a room on the 4th floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your great comments regarding your stay. I am glad that you had a fantastic dinner at the Looking Glass. We have an incredible culinary team and comments such as yours continue to provide additional motivation to excel. I am happy also that you had drinks in our Great Room. We think it is a very special place but it is very rewarding to hear it from our customers. You mentioned you enjoyed our pool. Both the indoor and outdoor pools are heated and how many places have crystal chandaliers in the pool area. Above all, we re thrilled that you stated that you want to come back! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again.
Great location, very clean everywhere and stunning luxury apartment/ rooms. Definitely better to have a room/ apartment above the ground floor as better views, which were fantastic.
Meal in lounge bar, fabulous atmosphere with pianist playing in background.
Simple but lovely touches in the room like great coffee machine, luxury hair products and very good hair dryer!
Very helpful staff. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SF312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your stay at the Bluenose Inn. Very pleased you liked the location as it is so convenient to the town as well as Acadia National Park. Our housekeeping department is truly outstanding so the cleanliness of the facility as you pointed out is paramount. In the rooms the use of Keurig coffee machines, Gilchrist and Soames products and quality hair dryers have been well received by our guests so thank you for noticing.. Most importantly is your comment about the welcoming staff and that you "would love to come back". We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My sister and brother in law and my wife and I stayed at the Blue Nose Inn the week of September 22. It was a little expensive but we all thought it was well worth the money. The view and facilities were excellent as was the staff and the Looking Glass restaurant. The previous review which was not the best involved a stay shortly after ours. We didn't experience anything like that review related at all. Our rooms for both couples were excellent as were the views, we had no problem sleeping, and the manager had an evening wine reception twice while we were there. We strongly recommend this resort hotel to anyone who wants a very pleasant stay while visiting Bar Harbor. We made reservations through AAA and had no idea what kind of a hotel they were sending us to. We did not use the spa. We are retired.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your stay at the Bluenose Inn. I wish you a very happy and healthy holiday season and new year and hope that your future travel plans bring you back to Bar Harbor and our property.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We expected a AAA 4-diamond and TripAdvisor 4 of 5 hotel, one that might be old but would certainly be restored and well maintained, quaint, enjoyable even, for a short stay. That is not what we found. Old-fashioned I can like, but I’ve come to expect quiet private rooms with heating, cooling, indoor plumbing, Wi-Fi, and a safe locked door and room to store our gear when we are out.
Our first night in room 210 was unpleasant, with problems from noise, heating, plumbing, and Wi-Fi. Our sleep was disrupted multiple times throughout the night by a clack clack clacking from the ceiling above, as if a child on the floor above was wearing her mother’s high heeled shoes in the middle of the night enthusiastically enjoying making noise on the hardwood floor. It was obvious there was no sound insulation between the floors.
A second noise issue was a motor from a generator, or something similar, running all night outside the building. I confirmed when I found a motor and generator in the morning – it was the hotels and was not enclosed by a fence or structure, and no other attempt had been made to quiet the motor. The noise from this motor was loud and objectionable even with the room windows closed – think of a lawnmower running outside of your bedroom window. The noise from the children above is somewhat outside of the hotel’s control, but the motor was obviously there by their design. Why would a hotel have a noisy gasoline generator running outside guest rooms with no sound enclosure or other attempt to muffle the noise?
A third noise issue was the flushing water sounds throughout the night; not that we expected people to not use their bathroom, but rather that we did not expect to hear it.
Another issue was that the thermostat malfunctioned. When we arrived, there was no heat, only cold air coming out of the heater ducts – it was not a complicated thermostat so the 70 heat setting should have gotten a little warm response from the heater. A call to the front desk confirmed the issue: yes, the tab is set to heat, yes, the temperature is at 70, yes, setting it at the highest does not elicit a warm response from the heater. This issue was fixed while we were out to dinner. It revisited us later in the night when the room became too hot, but this time turning down the thermostat worked like a modern miracle.
So first thing after breakfast in the morning we went to the front desk to change rooms. The clerk was nice, polite, professional, but did not, at first, appear to understand our complaint nor request to move to a different room. She explained that a family with children was staying above us but was expected to check out, so we should try another night. She did, however, finally acquiesce and located another room on the top floor and further away from the generator. I think she was a little reluctant to change the room because she believed the problems were all due to the family on the floor above.
The new room, room number 315, was quieter so our second night was better. The heater worked, there was no noise from above. The main problem with room 315 was the gap under the door, about an inch. This gap allowed the noise of everyone passing by to be heard in the room: their talking and their luggage wheels rolling on the floor. Since room 315 was just at the top of the stairs, everyone who went to or from a room on the third floor went by room 315. We rolled the bed cover and put it in front of the door – that seemed to block the noise. This room was better than room 210, but it still was not good, just acceptable.
Both room 210 and 315 had weak Wi-Fi signals. Neither of our iPhones nor the iPad were able to connect, and showed only a one bar signal. I did get a strong signal and good connection while in the front desk area.
Although this next seems like a nit, it is a real security issue. My final issue is with hotel security: the room keys with the room number stamped on them. The keys are quaint, but anyone can have a duplicate made, and the room number on the key means anyone finding one knows what room it belongs to. Actually, anyone can make a bump-key and use it to open any of the hotel rooms in less than 15 seconds, no lock picking skill needed. It probably is not feasible to use the old fashioned metal keys without the room number, but as is this poses a real risk to hotel guests. Other hotels have maintained their quaintness, their old-fashioned ambiance even with modern electronic door passes.

Room Tip: top floor only, or new building only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Bluenose Inn. While I deeply appreciate your input, I do take exception to many of your opinions. As evidenced by the overwhelming majority of guest reviews, you are in the minority but regardless we did not meet your expectations and for this I sincerely apologize. Should your travel plans bring you back to Bar Harbor, I would welcome the opportunity to give us another chance. Therefore I offer you a night of complimentary lodging subject only to availability. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $138 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing