We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

While touring the New England states we recently stayed at the Bluenose Inn and it was great! The indoor pool was beautiful! We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub after being on the road all day. The views of Bar Harbor from the hotel and restaurant were breath taking. Our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough at the Bluenose Inn!

Room Tip: If you want a place with a beautiful view of Bar Harbor this is the place to stay! Wonderful hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSGTStockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the inn, the pool and hot tub and you found the view to be as breath taking as we do. It never gets old. Your ending statement, "our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough" says it all. Therefore I hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    236
    79
    31
    10
See reviews for
202
479
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great Location, excellent staff. Friendly and helpful Manager/Owner Jim. This place is beautifully located and is a comfortable old fashioned hotel, old fashioned meaning with tasteful furniture and fittings. Not old worn out furniture - just right. The rooms overlooking the Bay are stunning. This is on my 'return list'.

Room Tip: Book early and get a room at the front of the property - one with the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGSpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. Your concluding statement of "this is on my return list" says it all. As discussed when I met you, I hope I get the opportunity to travel to your country some day as I have a lot of Scottish ancestors. When your travel plans bring you back to New England, we sincerely look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
The Bluenose Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was out of this world. It was the largest hotel room I've ever been in. Fireplace in room with balcony overlooking the bay. Woke up to sunrise over the bay.
The Great Room was very relaxing. The wine and cheese meet the manager hour was very nice as well. Breakfast at the restaurant was good with great views of Bar harbor and the bay.
If you are visiting Bar Harbor I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding your recent visit to the property. Above all I sincerely appreciate your comment that you would recommend this hotel. We are very pleased that you were that happy with your room, the fireplace and great view and I am glad you came to my manager reception as it was indeed a pleasure meeting you. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Bar Harbor at the Bluenose Inn. We have been back 5 more times and will soon be spending our 12th anniversary there again. This place is just amazing! The atmosphere is fantastic and so relaxing. We've met so many great people and LOVE to sit in the Great Room each night listening to and talking with Bill Trowell. We can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor of the Mizzentop!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments and above all else, staying with us on your honeymoon and coming back for anniversaries. We are very pleased that you enjoy the property, the atmosphere and people. Your ending statement of "we can't wait to come back" is very rewarding and will be shared with the staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Bluenose Inn was not as advertised and not worth the price. Make sure you check which building you are staying in. I thought I was booking a room in the Bluenose Inn and Spa, I ended up with a room in the Bluenose Motel across the parking lot. Room was very outdated and musty, poor lighting and a small bathroom that didn't even have an exhaust fan, all things that made it feel like a cheap motel as opposed to a nice hotel. The lobby was in a separate building from my room and the pool was in a completely separate building from both. Did not even offer any sort of breakfast. Very disappointing, especially considering the price tag. I would not recommend to anyone. I will be returning to Bar Harbor, but not to the Bluenose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZCMecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I deeply apologize that you felt the value was not there. The two buildings of the Bluenose do vary in size and certain features. The problems that you alluded to will certainly be looked into. You stated that you would return to Bar Harbor so I am offering you a complimentary night's lodging in the Mizzentop building to hopefully make amends. We take great pride in our product and service and hope you give us another chance. Please contact me directly should you opt to take us up on the offer.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed in Bar Harbor a number of times at what claims to be the best hotel in Bar Harbor. However the Bluenose Inn is truly the BEST hotel in Bar Harbor. We had a fantastic room, more like a mini-suite, over looking the bay, with beautiful views of the sunrise. Our room had a sitting area, balcony, electric/gas fireplace, two extremely comfortable queen beds and a spacious pristine bath. The staff was terrific and the manager, Jim Ash extremely cordial and friendly. If you are thinking of visiting Bar Harbor, the Bluenose Inn is certainly the place to stay.

We will certainly be back next year.

Mikealb115, Stamford, CT

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikealb115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am thrilled by your statement that the Bluenose Inn is truly the BEST hotel in Bar Harbor as we have plenty of excellent properties in the town. I sincerely hope that when your travel plans from Connecticut bring you back to Maine, you will again stay with us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location between the town of Bar Harbor and the Acadia National Park. There is both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. In addition, there is a convenient shuttle stop to get you to the town. Parking is free and spots seem to always be available. I stayed last time across the parking lot in the motel like rooms. They were decent but the rooms at the main lodge are the best. They are huge with a working fireplace. The balcony has a great view. All good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. As you stated, many of our guests feel that we have a great location being so close to the downtown area yet away from the crowds as well as being so near to Acadia National Park. The ample parking and free shuttle to stops on the Island are also great amenities as you pointed out. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing