We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel in Bar Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel in Bar Harbor”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Bluenose for three nights - September 5-8, 2013. The double room (125) was perfectly maintained and I was impressed with the cleanliness and appearance of the entire facility. I previously read reviews about problems with the AC units, however, I found the one in my room to be brand new and a European type model - located near ceiling - and it worked well and was quiet. The location of the refrigerator under the bathroom vanity was a bit odd and the orientation of the safe was awkward but neither detracted from the room. The view was very good and if you can get a room on the second or third level, the view is even better. Cruise ships could be seen entering the harbor in the distance. Keep in mind that even though the elevators and entries are "indoors" there is no interior hallway and all rooms face out with an "outdoor" walkway. The Keurig Coffee machine was nice but I found it easier to get the coffee from the free coffee dispenser at the end of the hall by the building entrance - it was always available.

The only negative aspect of the hotel is that it is a far walk to "downtown" and after dark is frankly very "dark"..... I never tried it and drove back and forth.....I did not eat at the hotel restaurant since I wanted to try the local Lobster Pounds and restaurants.....proximity to Acadia National Park is great and the hotel is on the main route (Rt. 3) into town.

Finally, the indoor pool is excellent and one of the best indoor pools I have ever been to. There are large open windows and a lot of light plus an elegant chandelier/pillared interior. The hot tub was very hot but the size of the pool was great. There was no overwhelming chlorine smell etc. which you usually find with indoor pools, and it ranged from 4 to 8 feet.....the pool was actually larger than the outdoor pool......

I would not hesitate to re book if I am in the area.....

Room Tip: Upper room if staying in building across from hotel lobby/reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Bluenose Inn. I am particularly pleased you found the room to be extremely clean and well maintained. I will certainly pass this along. I apologize if the safe and location of the refrigerator seemed odd but it obviously did not taint your overall impression of the accommodations. It is indeed very dark walking downtown and when you return (we hope you will), we will provide you with a flashlight. Bar Harbor takes pride in being named one of the best places in America to see the stars and our illumination standards are very tight and somewhat restrictive. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the pools particularly the indoor one that has received great acclaim from so many of our guests. Your comment that you would not hesitate to rebook if you are in the area is the ultimate compliment. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    242
    80
    32
    10
See reviews for
209
492
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our second visit and it was absolutely terrific. The rooms are beautiful, clean, spacious and the balcony overlooking the harbor was a great plus. The location a few minutes from Bar Harbor and also just a few minutes from Acadia is perfect. The pianist who played every evening was superb and gracious to take requests. His repertoire was amazing!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed an end room that afforded beautiful views from the balcony. It was incredibly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkostrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am extremely pleased with your remarks about the cleanliness of your room with a private balcony overlooking the harbor. The location, as you depicted, offers easy access to both the downtown as well as Acadia National Park. Bill Trowell, the pianist, has been here for 17 seasons and delights our guests with his extraordinary talent and as you cited his amazing repertoire. We hope to see you again in the near future for your third visit.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were fortunate to get this room wth only booking it 2 days in advance. Stayed at this hotel about 8 years ago when last in Bar Harbor and it still excels. We stayed in the older building which is $50 per nigh cheaper and was not disappointed. Room was very clean, 50" flatcreen TV had most channels, 8 pillows, deluxe high quality bed linens, EZ parking, Water-Pik shower head with good pressure, 4 sets of towels so you can shower twice a day, refrigerator, safe and a nice desk. My only 2 mior compaints are the weak Wi-Fi and no fan in the bathroom shower area. AC unit was quiet and our window overlooked the water and moutains as most do. Kara at the front desk (she is a gem) checked us in and answered all of our questions. Manager left us a hand written note and the houskeeper did a great job. We will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestREMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I really appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms and the amenities offered. I apologize for the problems you experienced with the WIFI and assure you that is being corrected. I will certainly pass along your remarks about Kara and your housekeeper as well. I hope that your future travel includes a return visit.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bluenose Inn for three nights towards the end of a sixteen night tour of New England and found it to be the best hotel of the whole tour. We were met after a long drive by a very helpful and friendly receptionist who booked us in extremely quickly and efficiently. Our room was in the Stenna building and had amazing views of the bay. It was large, very clean and had a really comfortable bed. We took advantage of the indoor pool on three occasions and each time had it to ourselves. The hotel is located in a quiet area but within easy walking distance of all the amenities in Bar Harbor. Without exception every member of staff that we met was polite and greeted us with a smile. Special mention must go to Karyll who made up our room with great attention to detail. Now that we are back in the UK we still recall the fantastic sunrise that we were lucky enough to see each morning. Without doubt the Bluenose is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richrun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you. Your tag line of "We saved the best until last" is a remarkable statement considering how many great properties there are in New England. We are thrilled with your comments about the room and particularly the friendliness of the staff as well as the housekeeping. I am glad you used the indoor pool on a regular basis and found our location to be an easy walk to the downtown. We truly hope that when your travel plans bring you back to the U.S. you will return to Maine and the Bluenose.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel sits back from the main downtown district but not too far. It's between there and Acadia Park. Only a few minute drive to both. However, we loved the view. We stayed in the Stenna Nordica building. It was a better price but still a great value. The rooms weren't huge but very clean and pretty. Could still sit outside your room on a shared balcony and look at the view. More privacy than we expected. They have coffee and tea available for free in the balcony which was very nice. The best part was their pools. The outdoor pool was simple but had a nice view. The indoor pool was beautiful, just like in their pictures!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carcarliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am glad to hear that the location suited your needs and you found the room very clean with a great view. I am also pleased you liked both our outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool. I feel the architect did a magnificent job with the indoor facility as it truly is quite beautiful as you pointed out. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We reserved this hotel based on generally positive reviews of Trip Advisor. Some parts of he reviews are indeed justified: clean, spacious and comfortable rooms; friendly staff; and fun manager's wine reception a couple of times a week. But there are also some drawbacks: it is not walking distance to Bar Harbor; the restaurant is a bit of a climb from the hotels; and, most seriously, the WiFi was very weak and intermittent. The WiFi problem has been highlighted in previous reviews and it was disappointing that it has not been fixed. This will keep us from returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IS1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am very pleased that you found the rooms comfortable and spacious and the staff friendly and enjoyed my manager's reception. While we are located away from the downtown area by less than a mile, many of our guests actually view this as a positive due to the fact they are away from the crowds. Regarding the WIFI, we did experience some problems with our service this season and apologize for the problems this caused. I can assure that this will indeed be corrected so I hope that you return to visit in the future. In reference to the restaurant, we offer golf cart service to the site so I apologize this was not offered to you. The location has, in our opinion, one of if not the best views on the island. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very pleasant, helpful staff. Nice clean room. We were surprised to receive an upgrade when we arrived. Even better!
Our room was very clean, with a great view of the water. Great breakfast at the Sea Glass restaurant. Good facilities -- nice pool and workout room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgerover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. We truly appreciate your remarks regarding the cleanliness, and the pleasant and helpful staff. Glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast at our restaurant as well as the pool and workout room. When your travel plans bring you back to New England, we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing