We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot in Bar Harbor, Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The Bluenose Inn has been a favorite for us for years. They are very accomodating. You have a casual feel in top notch and nicely decorated surroundings. The Piano Player is a nice touch for a relaxing evening by the fire. The view is outstanding. This is a must for any family combination: with kids; couples or even alone!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurette2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose and your continued support over the many years. We appreciate it! Casual elegance is our theme with a high tech/high touch core value. Regarding the pianist, Bill Trowell; he has been here for 17 years and continues to be as passionate in his work as ever. He truly is a great entertainer that should not be missed not only by those staying with us but anyone who is visiting the Island as our piano lounge is open to the public.
We look forward to your return!
Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
There are newer reviews for Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 979 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We drove up from Freeport ME and decided to make a reservation before we did. A good idea and the reservation person was professional and friendly. Her room suggestion was enjoyable as we wound down from the day with a bottle of wine and when we woke up. A well maintained room, good bathroom ammeneties, and well done decorations. As noted by others, not sited in the village of Bar Harbor, but that was a plus for us....less hectic.

Room Tip: Second floor ocean facing balcony was a good choice for us
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCRhoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I will certainly pass on your very favorable comments about our reservations department. I am glad you enjoyed the room and the view. I will also make sure that housekeeping and maintenance see your review. When your travel plans bring you back to Maine, we hope you will once again stay with us.
Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Modern and spacious rooms--and if you're in the main building--expansive views of the harbor and bay (if you can afford the main building you should do it). About a mile or so out of downtown, I'd imagine this property would be a good break from the crush of high season. The lobby is comfortable for reading, sitting and looking out over the view. The main building rooms have balconies that are perfect for a private morning or late afternoon.

Room Tip: Might be expensive in high season but try to go for the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmiclir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. As you pointed out, we are only a few minutes from downtown but out of the heavy congestion and noise. Our private balconies as you depicted are a very positive feature for our guests. Should your travel bring you back to Bar Harbor, we hope you again choose us for your lodging.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager & Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My elderly 87 year old mother and I returned to the Bluenose to reminisce with family members about the wonderful times we shared with dad at the Bluenose. Dad passed away a few months before, at 93, and would have so enjoyed the extra effort and kindnesses we received from all the staff, as well as the wonderful piano player, who accommodated dad when he was alive by playing "all the music in his book"! He made a special effort to play music mom loved to listen to with dad. Their favorite was Laura's Theme fro Dr Zhivago.

Although we miss dad, we know he was with us once again, and would have been so appreciative of all the "extra attention" and thoughtful gestures we received.

The Bluenose is THE BEST of the best.
The Wallace Family

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcwalla6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We are truly humbled and honored by your comments regarding your visit to the Bluenose Inn. I just lost my Dad who was 91 so occasions like this mean so much for the family. Our staff is by nature very kind but I am thrilled that there was even an extra effort paid to your family.
Bill Trowel, our pianist, is not only a great performer but above all an outstanding man. I am certain that playing the songs that meant so much to Dad and Mom meant a lot to him as well. The theme from Dr. Zhivago is special indeed.
Please come back to see us again in the future and thank you again for your input.
Jim Ash
General Manager & Co-Owner
The Bluenose Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Beautiful property and grounds. Service was great, as was breakfast and dinner. Overall value was fair due to cost. It was our first trip to Bar harbor. It was was very nice however a bit too far off the beaten track for me. I thought it would be on the wide open ocean, but it isi n a protected bay - nice but not what I was looking for.

Room Tip: Second floor of detached building has best view of water
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalpoleBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Bluenose last August. We truly appreciate your praise for the property, the grounds and the food. Glad you were able to experience both breakfast and dinner at our Looking Glass restaurant.
I apologize for the property not being exactly what you were looking for regarding being right on the water. Many of our guests like the idea of being so close to town and Acadia National Park but being a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but obviously it is not for everyone.
We do hope that if your travels bring you back to Bar Harbor, even if you opt to stay elsewhere you will come dine with us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager & Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Room was beautiful! We stayed in the the mizzentop on the 3rd floor, which gave us wonderful views of the bay. The room was spotless and spacious. Our check in was quick, and all the help
we encountered were friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the Looking Glass restaurant, which
was delightful. Great food and great service.
We will be staying here our next trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Mizzentop has good views of the bay, with nice balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your great comments regarding the hotel, the service and the staff. So glad to hear that it went so well. As you pointed out , the views are truly spectacular as well. We certainly look forward to your return visit.
Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'll start by saying that if you are a bus tour don't come here... It's not bus friendly.

If you are lucky enough to have a room in the main building, you may have a great view but if you are stuck in the back building ask for a room furthest from the main building for the view. If you have disabilities; such as walking, the only elevator is found at the far end of the back building or you can climb; up to, four flights of stairs. Not very friendly in that sense either. If you do stay here...be prepared to walk up stairs and up hill, also if you have dinner and are given pie for dessert it will be cold so ask them to heat it up for you, unless you like cold pie.

Personal account....About 8pm my husband and I returned from dinner and touring the island. Climbed up all those stairs, looked forward to relaxing watching TV, turned the tv on and we found that the cable was screwed up. I went to the front desk; down the stairs again, and I was told that our corner room on the third floor and the room under us the cable was effected but that the cable company was aware of it. She said that we could change our room but the cable should be on in the morning. I told her that we weren't going to change our room this late and that we were leaving early in the morning so that didn't mean anything to me...so up the stairs I went again. How come they didn't let us know somehow? Not very friendly there either.

The best part of the stay at this hotel was the free cookies and coffee in the main lobby (when they were available) and the breakfast buffet for the tour bus was great, the male server we had was the best and very professional. We appreciate that curtesy. I'm afraid I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, there are others to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TBCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent trip to the Bluenose Inn. While many aspects of your stay you commented on favorably such as the buffet and the service for it, there were other areas where we simply did not meet your expectations. No excuses are offered. We simply did not perform in the manner that we normally do for your accommodations.
We do hope however that if future travel plans include Maine and Bar Harbor that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves. I am therefore offering one night of complimentary accommodations for either the balance of this season or anytime in 2014 based only on availability.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Jim Ash
General Manager & Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $140 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing