We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views....comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Beautiful views....comfortable rooms”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Bluenose Inn was a perfect experience for our Northeast stay - Two mid-fifties couples traveling the East Coast from Connecticut to Bar Harbor. The Bluenose Inn was wonderful - from sitting on the front porch of the room enjoying the views to sitting by the fireplace listening to the piano music...we enjoyed every minute of our stay! Breakfast in the restaurant was both delicious and scenic. Would definitely want to stay here again! Thanks Bluenose Inn - the Higgins and the Grundmeyers had a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I'm delighted you chose The Bluenose as the Bar Harbor stop of your coastal journey! Bill Trowell has been adding to the ambiance in the Great Room with his piano playing for 16 seasons-I'm glad you enjoyed hearing him play. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    241
    80
    32
    10
See reviews for
208
491
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Blue Nose is conveniently located and within minimal walking distance to the town of Bar Harbor. My husband and I loved our room, which was located on the third floor. We had a gas fireplace and a balcony that overlooked Frenchman's Bay. The view was simply spectacular and a pleasure to wake up to each morning! The staff were very accommodating, friendly and responsive to all our needs. The manager was very personable as well and we were able to meet him the one evening at the wine and cheese meet and greet. And of course we can't forget the wonderful cookies they had waiting for us every evening. All in all, a very nice place to relax while you are vacationing in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I'm delighted we made you feel welcome, it's always our goal to meet the needs of guests and it's lovely to hear about it when we succeed! I'm also glad you enjoyed the area, your room, the view and, of course, the delicious afternoon cookies. Thank you for your comments and we hope you'll visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

a nice place only a few minutes walk from the town of Bar Harbor. A big hotel, friendly staff and large rooms with stunning views. Ample parking for your car. If i travel to Bar Harbor again, i would stay at the Blue Nose again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Bluenose! It's a wonderful compliment that you want to visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel as part of our tour of New England. The room was very good and clean with lots of space. And a very good view + balcony Breakfast was in the restaurant up the hill. It was well worth the walk to the Looking Glass Restaurant. All the hotel staff were very helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in the main hotel floor 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Your lovely review on TripAdvisor is much appreciated. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the views are exceptional! Thank you for your compliments on the staff, we work hard to ensure you enjoy your time at The Bluenose and in the Acadia National Park/Bar Harbor area. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We shared our dearest friend's 50th birthday with a trip to Bar Harbor to eat fresh lobster. Stayed a week at the Bluenose Inn. Loved it! Staff was very friendly. Brian, the Bellman, was top notch and especially helpful. He really made our stay enjoyable. Enjoyed the evening cookies that were set out daily & the dark chocolate we received at check in. The general manager had a nice touch with the handwritten thank you note and the Tue/Thur wine & cheese meet & greet. We had a great view from our room with a private balcony overlooking Frenchman's Bay. Loved watching the ships come in and the big night sky. Breakfast at The Looking Glass Restaurant was enjoyable as were evenings sitting by the fireplace in the piano bar. On a couple occasions we felt it was slightly understaffed although the staff were always friendly and appeared to be doing their best. Would have been nice if the bar opened before 5pm but were close enough to town to remedy that. Had a great day at the pool, hot tub and sauna on the one rainy day of the trip. Our friends got a massage in the spa.....ooooh nice. (Should have joined them)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBnSUE2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Bluenose on TripAdvisor. It's a great place to celebrate! I will certainly pass your compliments along to Brian, we are very fortunate to have such a great group of people working on property and I know they appreciate hearing positive feedback. I will also share your staffing comments with our General Manager, we appreciate hearing how we need to improve our property and our service-it's the only way we'll be able to do better. We hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We took a trip for our 30th wedding anniversary to the Bar Harbor area and stayed at the Blue Nose Inn. We were greeted warmly at the reception desk after a long day of travel, and our check-in package included a handwritten thank you note from the general manager of the property. All staff were very helpful and friendly. A bottle of celebratory cider was delivered to our room shortly after check-in, again with a thank you note from the staff. That was a very nice surprise.

On our first night we enjoyed a dinner of lobster rolls in the Grand Room while listening to live piano music. The next morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast at the Looking Glass restaurant (on property) with fine views of the bay and surrounding scenery.

Our suite was roomy and had a delightful view of Frenchman Bay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to share such a special anniversary with us! I'm delighted you could experience Bill Trowell's piano playing and the gorgeous views at The Looking Glass. We are fortunate to be located in such a beautiful area-the property was designed to take advantage of the vistas available. We hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here in August and from start to finish our trip was amazing. The views from our room were breathtaking. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because it can use some updating. The piano music was very relaxing we enjoyed a casual dining atmosphere while listening to the piano music. The staff were very friendly. The rooms are very large. Close to downtown Bar Harbor. We ate in the restaurant one night which was very good and we had breakfast there one morning as well. We were not able to take in the amazing views from the restaurant due to heavy fog but enjoyed the meals. The manager could always be seen around the hotel. This is one place worth staying at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyn301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Bluenose-it's great that the fog didn't get in the way of the view from your room! Our pianist, Bill Trowell, has been with us for 16 seasons and definitely adds to the ambiance of The Great Room. I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again and perhaps next time you'll experience the panoramic views from The Looking Glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing