We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Harbor Birthday Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We shared our dearest friend's 50th birthday with a trip to Bar Harbor to eat fresh lobster. Stayed a week at the Bluenose Inn. Loved it! Staff was very friendly. Brian, the Bellman, was top notch and especially helpful. He really made our stay enjoyable. Enjoyed the evening cookies that were set out daily & the dark chocolate we received at check in. The general manager had a nice touch with the handwritten thank you note and the Tue/Thur wine & cheese meet & greet. We had a great view from our room with a private balcony overlooking Frenchman's Bay. Loved watching the ships come in and the big night sky. Breakfast at The Looking Glass Restaurant was enjoyable as were evenings sitting by the fireplace in the piano bar. On a couple occasions we felt it was slightly understaffed although the staff were always friendly and appeared to be doing their best. Would have been nice if the bar opened before 5pm but were close enough to town to remedy that. Had a great day at the pool, hot tub and sauna on the one rainy day of the trip. Our friends got a massage in the spa.....ooooh nice. (Should have joined them)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOBnSUE2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Bluenose on TripAdvisor. It's a great place to celebrate! I will certainly pass your compliments along to Brian, we are very fortunate to have such a great group of people working on property and I know they appreciate hearing positive feedback. I will also share your staffing comments with our General Manager, we appreciate hearing how we need to improve our property and our service-it's the only way we'll be able to do better. We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We took a trip for our 30th wedding anniversary to the Bar Harbor area and stayed at the Blue Nose Inn. We were greeted warmly at the reception desk after a long day of travel, and our check-in package included a handwritten thank you note from the general manager of the property. All staff were very helpful and friendly. A bottle of celebratory cider was delivered to our room shortly after check-in, again with a thank you note from the staff. That was a very nice surprise.

On our first night we enjoyed a dinner of lobster rolls in the Grand Room while listening to live piano music. The next morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast at the Looking Glass restaurant (on property) with fine views of the bay and surrounding scenery.

Our suite was roomy and had a delightful view of Frenchman Bay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to share such a special anniversary with us! I'm delighted you could experience Bill Trowell's piano playing and the gorgeous views at The Looking Glass. We are fortunate to be located in such a beautiful area-the property was designed to take advantage of the vistas available. We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here in August and from start to finish our trip was amazing. The views from our room were breathtaking. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because it can use some updating. The piano music was very relaxing we enjoyed a casual dining atmosphere while listening to the piano music. The staff were very friendly. The rooms are very large. Close to downtown Bar Harbor. We ate in the restaurant one night which was very good and we had breakfast there one morning as well. We were not able to take in the amazing views from the restaurant due to heavy fog but enjoyed the meals. The manager could always be seen around the hotel. This is one place worth staying at.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyn301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Bluenose-it's great that the fog didn't get in the way of the view from your room! Our pianist, Bill Trowell, has been with us for 16 seasons and definitely adds to the ambiance of The Great Room. I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again and perhaps next time you'll experience the panoramic views from The Looking Glass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We visited the Bar Harbor Hotel in August.
The hotel is a short walk/ride from downtown Bar Harbor.
The room was a nice size with a small but efficient bath. We had a water view from our otter door.
We enjoyed the quiet after a long day sightseeing. We especially loved the evening music from Bill Trowell at piano.
The front desk staff and the management were helpful in making reservations for dinner and activities.
The Managers wine reception was a nice touch.
I did not use the pool or hot tub, but the outdoor pool was busy during the week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne4768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you were in our Stenna Nordica building-the views of Frenchman Bay are lovely from there. Bill Trowell has been playing in The Great Room for 16 seasons, we are so fortunate to have him and I will pass your compliments along! Thank you for your comments and we hope you'll visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A beautiful view in a large 2nd floor room with 2 queen beds and a seating area with a loveseat, with 2 chairs and a fireplace, plus a balcony. With Views. Amazing views!!! The service was helpful and extremely accomodating. The pool and hot tub was a plus as was the free wine tasting in the evening. Highly recommend and will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blumpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The Bluenose and chose to share your experience on TripAdvisor. The oversized rooms in our Mizzentop building really are a special treat. We are looking for to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

First time in Maine. Inn has a great location with 2 pools ( indoor/outdoor) and spectacular view of Frenchman bay. Room was very clean...a little dated...but had lots of charm. Staff was very kind, helpful and gracious. Cookies, Desert island spring water, and bathrobes will greet you. My family(4) had a wonderful time at The Bluenose Inn. 4 days...not long enough.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with view of bay and pool. No elevator and can keep an eye on kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjpslacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Bluenose for your first visit to Maine! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I completely agree about 4 days not being enough. There are so many things to see and do in the Acadia National Park region and it's nice to still have time to enjoy relaxing at The Bluenose. We hope you'll come again and perhaps stay longer. Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

First, I have to say the people in Bar Harbor where some of the nicest people I have met in a long time. The Bluenose Inn was such a clean and friendly Inn. They would go out of their way to help you!! They have a in door and out door pool that was so great! Stayed there for a week and would come back again because of the people and the service!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building. Ask for a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I'm delighted you had the opportunity to stay with us for a week, a longer stay gives you the opportunity to get a great sense of the area and a chance to explore much of what makes Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park so fantastic. For the record, I completely agree with you about the people of Bar Harbor-it's a wonderful place to live and work. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $152 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing