We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a great vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having never been to Bar Harbor/Acadia before, we relied heavily on TripAdvisor reviews. And once again, we were steered in the right direction. The Bluenose is just outside of the center of town, which, during Labor Day weekend, is a great place to be. Bar Harbor gets busy, so being able to slip away from town at the end of each evening, off to a quieter location, way up on a hill overlooking Frenchman Bay, is perfect. We spent four nights here, in a suite on the 4th (top) floor of the main building (there is a main building and a back building). The suite was very comfortable and quiet, with a balcony overlooking the bay. It comes equipped with a small fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker, which are always nice to have. We didn't eat at the Looking Glass, but we did walk up the hill to see it, and it's clear that it provides the best dining views in the region. Special thanks to Chelsea, who helped us get the perfect room, and who provided us with all the "must see/must do" placed and activities for our stay.

Room Tip: The Mizzentop building is the main building, which appears to be newer and definitely has the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdubs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Bluenose for your first visit to the area, it is such a special place! I'm delighted Chelsea was able to steer you in the right direction-our 4th floor Mizzentop Suites are exceptional accommodations. We hope you'll visit again soon, there is so much to see and do in Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    236
    78
    31
    10
See reviews for
202
478
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bluenose overnight and just loved it (again , we've been there before). The views are as gorgeous as ever and the proximity to town is great. We even saw a deer from the balcony make it's way across the front lawn f the hotel. We ate at the Looking Glass restaurant on the property and it was delicious, with a few new items to try. The hospitality is as wonderful as ever, everyone making you feel welcome. The GM Jim Ash greeted us personally and sent up a lovely card of welcome to our room. He was even there to say goodbye as we reluctantly checked out - fabulous place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggy338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Bluenose on TripAdvisor. We LOVE it when guests choose to come back and see us again-it's a wonderful compliment to the staff and the property. It's amazing how much wildlife we see around here, we love being so close to Acadia National Park and yet so convenient to downtown Bar Harbor. We are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spend one night here every year when we visit the area but this year we stayed two nights. We couldn't wait to get to Maine so we came up a day early. Despite the fact that we only had made a reservation for the following night, we decided to try to stay at the Bluenose for both nights. They were able to accomodate us but we did have to move to the reserved room the next morning. We didn't mind...same room, just two doors down! And they discounted our stay for the first night!

We love everything about the Bluenose...the service is excellent, the rooms are delightful and clean as can be, the views are amazing and we love love love the pool!

see you next year! Thank you...

Room Tip: the views from the 3rd and 4th floors overlooking Frenchman's bay are best and I would suggest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAFOODIE01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I'm so happy we were able to accommodate you for both nights at The Bluenose and we appreciate your willingness to change rooms! It's a wonderful compliment to the property and the staff that you keep coming back and chose to stay longer this time. We are looking forward to seeing you next year (maybe for 3 days this time?) Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Rooms are cozy and had a great view of the bay, walk able to town, but easier to drive in and park. Great bar and piano entertainment! Not all rooms have views, so be sure to ask when making reservations. Coffee, cookie and tea in lobby is a nice touch. Appears rooms in the maine building are probably more modern than back building. Pool area looks very nice rained the weekend we were there so pool beach party had been cancelled

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CtNoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We love our location on the edge of downtown Bar Harbor, it's easy to access downtown and Acadia National Park but it's lovely to be a little bit above it all! As you mentioned, the rooms in our two buildings do have some differences, the main building, Mizzentop, has mostly larger rooms and private balconies and our Stenna Nordica building has slightly smaller rooms and shared balconies. All of our rooms are kept to 4-diamond standards and the differences allow us to offer more options to our guests, our website gets into more detail. One thing I will mention is that all of our rooms do have a view of Frenchman Bay, some are towards Bar Harbor and some are of other parts of the Bay. We hope you'll visit us again, we very much appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved this hotel, great location walking distance to town or you could catch the Island Explorer at their sister propery next door. Room was spotless, amazing view, service could not have been better. Outdoor pool was refreshing, indoor pool was warm. Manager had a wine and cheese welcome reception on Tuesday and Thursday evenings. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdinCanada_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I think you summed it up! I'm delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy a few the amenities The Bluenose has to offer. The entire staff works as a team to ensure that the hotel is clean and welcoming for all our guests-it's lovely to be appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor-I will be passing your compliments along. We hope you'll visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent two nights here and splurged on a beautiful room with king bed and fireplace overlooking Frenchman Bay. We were celebrating our 41st anniversary and took advantage of their anniversary special. Service was great and the hotel and grounds were lovely. It was quiet and peaceful compared to some of the hotels we looked at downtown.The manager gave us a gift of small bottles of oil and vinegar, as well as a bottle of sparkling cider to celebrate. These and other nice touches that you don't find in most hotels makes this hotel stand out. For example, there was a wine and cheese reception one evening. We had no trouble parking downtown... Just had to walk a few blocks.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjd328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to share it with us at The Bluenose! I'm so happy we helped you enjoy your celebration, the 'Anniversary Special' really is a great value. We hope you'll visit us again soon and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a great place - we stayed on the 4th floor with an unobstructed ocean view that was absolutely breathtaking. Of course, the room was not cheap, but it was a special occasion so we splurged. The bed was comfortable and the place immaculate.

We thoroughly enjoyed the pianist they have every night.

We ate breakfast one morning at the Looking Glass restaurant which was very good (and another spectacular view).

The Bar Harbor area is a short drive and we did not have any problem finding parking in the public lot - free parking, limited to 3 hours (I think) during the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantillyHokieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Bluenose on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you chose to 'splurge' on a 4th Floor Mizzentop View-it is truly spectacular! We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing