We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent two nights here and splurged on a beautiful room with king bed and fireplace overlooking Frenchman Bay. We were celebrating our 41st anniversary and took advantage of their anniversary special. Service was great and the hotel and grounds were lovely. It was quiet and peaceful compared to some of the hotels we looked at downtown.The manager gave us a gift of small bottles of oil and vinegar, as well as a bottle of sparkling cider to celebrate. These and other nice touches that you don't find in most hotels makes this hotel stand out. For example, there was a wine and cheese reception one evening. We had no trouble parking downtown... Just had to walk a few blocks.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjd328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to share it with us at The Bluenose! I'm so happy we helped you enjoy your celebration, the 'Anniversary Special' really is a great value. We hope you'll visit us again soon and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    244
    84
    34
    11
See reviews for
215
498
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a great place - we stayed on the 4th floor with an unobstructed ocean view that was absolutely breathtaking. Of course, the room was not cheap, but it was a special occasion so we splurged. The bed was comfortable and the place immaculate.

We thoroughly enjoyed the pianist they have every night.

We ate breakfast one morning at the Looking Glass restaurant which was very good (and another spectacular view).

The Bar Harbor area is a short drive and we did not have any problem finding parking in the public lot - free parking, limited to 3 hours (I think) during the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantillyHokieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Bluenose on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you chose to 'splurge' on a 4th Floor Mizzentop View-it is truly spectacular! We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Very deserving of 4 diamond rating. Super clean. Super friendly. We had a room over looking Frenchman Bay, beautiful view. I am super picky about room cleanliness and could find no fault during our stay. Every request and need taken care of. Will stay here again next time we venture to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelguy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are very proud of our AAA 4 diamond rating-we work hard to improve and maintain The Bluenose in order to retain that rating. I'm glad we met your standards and helped make your visit to the area a success. The highest compliment a guest can pay us is to return-we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and sampled most of the amenities. The views were impressive and the room was comfortable. We bought the Coastal Comfort package and it included breakfast each morning in the Looking Glass restaurant, one dinner for two, and two one hour massages. We especially enjoyed the Maine omelet with fresh lobster and the blueberry pancakes. We recommend Cathy for a massage, after hiking all day, she was wonderful. Dinner was delicious, we watched the sun setting and it was beautiful. Everyone was very service oriented and friendly. We liked having a glass of wine at night and listening to Bill play the piano. We will be returning to the Blue Nose!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBluenoseInn, Marketing at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I'm delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy so many of the amenities we offer at The Bluenose. Our 'Coastal Comfort' package really does offer a great way to experience the property-a massage at the end of a day of adventuring in Acadia is a lovely touch of luxury! I will pass your compliments along to Cathy, as well as the rest of our staff, for offering the excellent service we pride ourselves on. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences on TripAdvisor and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was a special trip for us, since we were returning to Bluenose Inn after 25 years of marriage.
It was just as we remembered, very nice rooms, but a bit outdated (victorian style). Downtown was walking distance for us, thankfully, because parking is a big issue every day. The rooms were clean and well maintained. There was a massage chair in the room which was a bonus. The deck overlooking the ocean was not private at all, as it is just one long balcony with a couple of chairs and end table for each room with no partitions. Overall I felt it was a nice place to stay but a bit pricey, comparing it to other places we have been to.

Room Tip: We were on the floor with the balcony which enables you to have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights here. The room was a smaller motel type (big glass windows onto veranda corridor). This is not my ideal kind of room but other than that it was fine. You need the shuttle bus to get into bar harbour where parking is difficult. This is regular and roughly a five min trip in and fifteen back. The hotel is a spa resort so I am not sure ultimately if it is a base I would use again for bar harbour. We didn't dine there but plenty of options in town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palinscamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked out stay at the Bluenose Inn through Tingo for our "mini-moon", and I"m pretty sure the pictures only included the main part of the hotel and not the part we stayed in, which was more motel-esque. It was a bit older and a little noisy, but the room was clean and had a beautiful view. The staff were very kind and accommodating and we would stay there again if the price was right and made sure that we were staying in the main part. We noticed there was a new hotel in town that had nightly rates that were $23 less than what we paid that was much nicer. We paid $223, which from our perspective was a bit overpriced for what it was given other places we have been to. It's about a 15 minute walk into town, which isn't bad if you don't want to be in the middle of all the tourists.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which part of the hotel your booking (main vs. not).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porkachop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing