We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Nose Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Blue Nose Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

We stayed in the Stenna Nordica building, a more modest building than their Mizzentop building where each room has their own balcony. Our balcony was the main corridor for the building. Our room had good views of Frenchman Bay but if privacy is an issue you have to close the curtains.

The room was good size, comfortable and clean although the bathroom was fairly small. Two comfortable chairs, a table, a desk and desk chair are provided. They also have a small refrigerator and safe in each room. The building has a coin operated laundry room.

The building is made of wood and you can hear the people walking in the room above you and the TV on each side of you. If you want to have the windows open, people walking by on the corridor can be annoying. Possible this can be avoided by staying at the more expensive Mizzentop building

The hotel restaurants are very good although priced much higher than you'd expect in a moderately priced hotel. The staff is very nice and there was a very good piano player in the bar. The location is very convenient for Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor's stores and restaurant.

People complaining about the price apparently have no understanding of the prices of a well maintained resort hotel.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — main room windows overlooking busy walkway to rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank barely alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    236
    79
    31
    10
See reviews for
202
479
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

We stayed at the Bluenose (the main building) with another family. We booked a separate room for our 3 teenage daughters to share. Our first impression was that the rooms were in fact adjoining (as requested) and they had put three sets of everything in the room for the girls, including robes (very nice touch). The rooms are lovely, with balconies overlooking the harbor. The property is beautifully maintained. There is free coffee in the lobby with excellent cookies in the afternoon. The two pools (one indoor and one outdoor) are spotless and have lots of nice lounge chairs. The staff was excellent, including the concierge, who recommended the Rinehart for lobster (walking distance), the Rose Garden (for a special dinner; it was outstanding) and Havannah for dinner (in town--the best paella I ever had). She also arranged for our sea kayaking and our whale watching trip. The main part of Bar Harbor is a short drive (less than 10 minutes) from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Pretty, clean, modern amenities, thoughtful staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Westportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

Stayed here in mid September and had a room in the front section, I believe it is called the blue nose.
Room was nice but the beautiful gas fire place either had a gas leak or something was very wrong with it.
Our room had a foul odor that we blamed on each other until we had enough to question, what did we each eat ???
Turned out that it wasn't us at all and we both believe it was either a past gust that may of had an accident on the carpet or it was the gas fireplace. ( Room 237 )
We put up with it until our 2nd night and I put my nose to the heater and smelled what appeared to be a pilot light out. ( It was not ) but it did smelt like it was. We called the front desk and they send not a maintenance man but the bell man named Roy who stated because we didn't leave the a/c on through the day, the room gets an odor. He also stated that this is not the first time that people have complained to him about it. He tries to tell us that this is normal !! We ask about another room and he tells us that they are sold out until the next day. Later we talk to a gentleman at the front desk who works the night shift, he tells us that we could of moved and that the place was not sold out !!
We were so furious and light headed, that the following day we decide to leave!! We go and stay at the Harbor side Inn & Marina on West street that was right on the ocean, but all we heard was the boats banging against the dock all night long and the rooms are smaller and already looking worn.
For $240+ per night, neither one was really worth it.
Also, be warned that the sidewalks around town are NOT in the best condition, use CAUTION when walking or your trip may also include a visit to the hospital with a bad sprain or even worse, a broken ankle.
Bar Harbor in general is very 'Over Rated' in my own opinion!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Lovetheocean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puck7, Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2007
This situation was anything but normal! Unfortunately, the hotel's propane supplier allowed a very large tank to run dry, which supplied all fireplaces. This was a first time occurrence, hopefully never to be repeated. When this occurs, the additive that gives the propane its distinct odor becomes quite concentrated in the tank bottom and the gas pressure drops causing the pilots to extinguish. The fireplace valves automatically close, but prior to closure, some of this highly concentrated gas escapes leaving an odor in the affected rooms. The tank was topped off and we called in a team of technicians to examine and relight all fireplace pilots. We placed ionizers in all affected rooms, (not all were affected), to clear the odor as expeditiously as possible.
Apparently, this room may not have been completely cleared prior to these guests checking in. In this and any similar situation in which a guest found a room to be unsatisfactory, we would immediately offer a room move including complimentary upgrades, if there was availability, or a discounted downgrade at the guest's option. If a guest has a complaint regarding a fireplace in the evening, a bellman may respond to the call, (they have been trained by the maintenance manager to attend to minor fireplace issues in his absence). Any issues they cannot resolve are referred to on call maintenance. If there was availability in a room type satisfactory to this guest, they would have been given the opportunity to move. We will always do everything possible to make our guests happy and ensure they have an excellent visit. We are here to serve.
I'm disappointed these guests did not leave the Bluenose Inn and Bar Harbor, in general, with the wonderful memory-filled experience most of our guests encounter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

Just as advertised, Fourth Floor Mizzentop worth every penny.
Breakfast was above average.
Staff went overboard to please.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kenney_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

Went with my mother for a week in Maine and after tons of research, we landed at the Bluenose Inn with the Autumn Package. We both couldn't have been more pleased with our room ~ 2 queen beds AND still a very large room with an outstanding view. We were 3rd floor Mizzentop. I highly recommend rising at least one time at 5:30ish for a spectacular sunrise over Frenchmen's Bay!! The breakfasts were terrific, from hearty oatmeal to amazing blueberry pancakes. Additionally, if the uphill/downhill walk is too much, their attentive staff is there to give you ride. Everything about their Rose Garden dinners was excellent ~ great staff, superb presentation and superior food. Take my word for it......we both travel often and can't find a negative thing to state about the Bluenose Inn. Make sure you check out their great packages ~ well worth the investment. Can't wait for August 08 to revist.

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — hard for my mom to make the stairs to the pool area without assistance
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buorno1will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed on the 2nd floor in the Mizzentop. The room was beautiful and the view was exceptional. We had a king size bed and the staff brought in a cot for our children. The room was a nice size with a fireplace. The indoor and outdoor pool were very clean and a nice place to relax. The hot tub was wonderful after all the hiking in Arcadia. The outdoor pool had beautiful views and the indoor pool area was so pretty. We enjoyed both very much. We ate at the rose room and the food was very good. We had a wonderful stay at the BlueNose and I was very sorry to leave.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

Following a review of this hotel suggesting we get a room in the main hotel we contacted our travel agent who changed the booking for us with no further charge. We were very impressed - the comfort of the room was outstanding and the views were wonderful. We stayed for only one night last month (July 2007) and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Neep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing