We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed September 4, 2014

We were sorry to say goodbye for such nice location and relax hotel. the price was reasonable and the warm water of the pool did the rest :-), the ones that coming to see Arcadia, they have a bus making this trip every day.

Room Tip: sea view not above the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gadiguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Glad to hear it. There is not a prettier pool setting in Bar Harbor. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

This place has beautiful grounds with pool and hot tub that overlooking the ocean. Food is delicious. We were very happy with the breakfast selection. You almost don't have to go into town. I still recommend to take shuttle into town this picturesque town. Enjoy!

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Imelda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

When your that close to the ocean the views are awesome! I'm glad you enjoyed the Island Explorer. It is a very convenient way to get around town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2014

My family stayed here one night as we were driving from Portland to New Brunswick. The positives - the view of Bar Harbor was lovely, enjoyed the shuttle service into town, and the beds were very comfortable.

However, this property needs a facelift. The pictures on the HI website are not entirely reflective of how the property truly looks. Our room was not located in the main building and had no view (perhaps that explained the rate we received) - I have no issue with that. What I do have an issue with was the exterior appearance of our building. There was one room that had (what appeared to be) a towel or shirt stuffed under the window (maybe in a vent) as a temporary fix for leakage or whatever problem was going on. It looked really junky.

As far as the staff, the hotel check-in staff was fine - no complaints there. However, I stood at the pool bar for an unacceptable length of time waiting for the staff to: 1) acknowledge me; and 2) pour a single beer from a tap with only one other patron at the bar.The two staff seemed flustered and unhappy to be there.

I also worked out one morning and used the fitness center, which had a water cooler but no water.

The hotel certainly has potential, but we likely wouldn't stay there again. We've enjoyed a number of Holiday Inn stays in other locations, but, ironically, our two stays at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts have been disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

There are several building on the property. This gives us the flexibility to offer a variety of rates and amenities. The water cooler does not need a bottle because it is a filter unit. Please contact me if you want to give us another chance and I'll make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

This hotel has a beautiful view from the pool and hot tub area. The rooms are average, but we stayed in a room with a bunk bed, which was great for our kids. The breakfast is an extensive buffet and somewhat expensive, but kids eat free. The breakfast got busy while we were there and people were annoyed to have to wait 15-20 minutes to sit down. There is a shuttle that goes around to local hotels into Bar Harbor which is convenient as parking is tight downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MQMiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

The kids suites are a new addition and they have been a huge hit. We have several more planned for next season. Thanks for enjoying your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed here in 2001 and it was a great experience so we wanted to repeat that this year in July 2014. The hotel is on the harbor and if you have a room with a view it is amazing. Parking lot view, not so good. All Bar Harbor hotels are expensive in the tourist season, but with the high $200 price per night you expect decent service, don't expect it here. Upon arrival with a confirmed reservation, the check in line was long and slow, the two rooms for two days we wanted were not available. The front desk clerk kept leaving and returning asking somebody basic check in questions and finally a supervisor appeared. At that moment I did not have my confirmation and she told me my room type was not available and nothing else was available, I accepted that until I found the printed confirmation (you will need it) and then she found one room which we gave to our friends. The next night while walking in a young mother with two small children was distressed as the front desk scrambled to find her room. Confirm your reservation and print it before you try and stay here. I left a note with the front desk for the manager, who never contacted me. The building and grounds are nice, views of the water great, rest of the staff pleasant. hotel is walking distance to downtown, but the side walk is in very poor condition and it's over a mile. The bus service in season is good, but stops at many hotels so slow and ends early so not available if you are out late. I would recommend staying closer to downtown and some where else. There are a lot of non chain hotels and bed & breakfast hotels that were not sold out while all the major chains were when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Dear Mike T,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Despite a nice location this huge hotel has very old fashion ugly rooms.
Rooms on the restaurant roof are noisy due to the air conditioning system.
Breakfast was bad: coffee and eggs really not good.
Service was poor.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grizz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Dear Grizz64,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you liked the fine location of our hotel. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room you had and our breakfast selections. We also apologize for the service you received fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into.Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

After the awful awful screw-up at check-in our stay was not bad. I'll start with the bad first. Upon driving in, there is not a sign that specifies that the Bar Harbor Regency (there is a sign for that) is the Holiday Inn. We turned off by the little Holiday Inn sign but there is nothing to indicate that there is a reception and we later finally figured out that the sign for the Bar Harbor Regency is indeed the one for the Holiday Inn. Note: the Holiday Inn sign is actually the sign by the Eden House.

We had booked a King Kid Suite as their were 4 of us and we needed 3 beds. Upon arrival we were told that they had overbooked that room type and had no more left but that they would give us an upgrade for the room. Only problem was they were only giving us 2 beds and we needed 3. After being told by the manager that there was nothing he could do to get us 2 rooms so that we would have 3 beds we were at a loss. They expected us to pay for another room when it was their fault in the first place that we even had a problem. Eventually, we were told that he would split the rate between two rooms so that we didn't have to pay for a second room (again, this was AFTER being told that he could not comp us a room because his "revenue manager" would get upset). We tried very hard to not let this impact our entire stay but it definitely did. All I can say is that the manager should be given the power to fix a very bad situation because it was as if he did not have the authority to do what needed to be done to fix it.

Breakfast was very delicious but expensive so if it doesn't come with your room I'm not sure it's worth it. The grounds are lovely and the pool area looks right out over the water which was such a nice way to spend the late afternoon after a day out sightseeing.

Overall, I would say that there were probably better options for our stay in Bar Harbor

Room Tip: The Eden House is not awful if you are ok not being in the main building, having no security into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank skiergirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Dear skiergirl92,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 42 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 42 in Bar Harbor
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 42 in Bar Harbor
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $163 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing