We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel & Wonderful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Wonderful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family and I recently visited Acadia NP, and we stayed here. The hotel room was great, plenty spacious enough for a family of four, and clean and in good condition. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel's location was ideal--close enough to Bar Harbor that getting there was easy, and right next to the Hull's Cove entrance to Acadia. They also have a lobster restaurant that's decent and a poolside bar that looks out over Frenchman Bay. There's a stop on the Island Explorer Bus too, which was really nice. The only downsides were that things like laundry could be difficult to find, and the Internet was not particularly strong, but those were very minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apdemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Your positive comments are appreciated. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    381
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
516
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the worst time. July 5 at 7pm, after the power had been out on half the island for the past 12 hours, including at the hotel. The staff was amazing. They got us checked in and to our room with no issues. When we can back from dinner the lights came on magically. They certainly operated very well under adverse circumstances.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and updated and enough room for the 4 of us (two kids and two adults). The best holiday inn I have ever stayed at.
The pool and grounds were great and we all had fun. The breakfast buffet was over the top and 'kids eat free' was great on the wallet.

We would definitely return.

GAP

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
You certainly came at an interesting time! The staff did a super job during a brief and difficult period. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We are staying in a king ocean view and have thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our balcony with breathtaking views! We were originally going to stay for 2 nights, but are enjoying Bar Harbor and this hotel so much that we asked to extend our stay another night! Everyone was very accommodating! From room service, housekeeping, the restaurant, front desk, etc! It is an older property but very nicely maintained! I recommend staying here! You won't regret it!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for the positive notes. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was a bit mixed when reserving this hotel after reading the mixed reviews on tripadvisor...but I will tell you that this hotel was GOOD! A beautiful lobby, newer bathroom...yes, our room was in a different building and there was no elevator but it was just fine!
They did a "complimentary upgrade" to a bay view room which was nice to sit out on the balcony and have a drink. We really had no problems with this hotel...so take the chance knowing that...
1. It may be in a different building, lots of lighting in the parking lot.
2. No elevator if you are on the upper levels.
3. Small dorm sized refrigerator.
4. Very comfy beds and pillows, best sleep of our 6 hotels on our 2 week trip.
Book it and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Nice beds and large pillows, best of the 6 hotels in our 2 week trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeperburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Glad you had a great time!

Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was by far the best Holiday Inn we ever stayed in. It is a beautiful resort. They checked us in early and upgraded us to a bay view. The pool, facilities and grounds were immaculate. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. We highly recommend this hotel to all travelers and plan to go back there to stay on future trips to Maine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVUFanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Glad to hear it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

First, let me say that the staff at the Holiday Inn whom we encountered were great - friendly and helpful; so this review is not a reflection of their service.

We stayed at the Holiday Inn to treat ourselves over the 4th of July weekend. Although the news had predicted Hurricane Arthur, we were confident that this big hotel would have a plan in place to deal with the weather. We were wrong. The hotel lost power during the first night we were there - and subsequently, no communication from the staff (no phone call, letters under our door, no one checking on us) to what was going on. Everything was out...hot water, electricity and fire alarms. You would think that a family hotel would have a generator or a plan (i.e., let's move everyone to one building and get a generator for that building...or at the very least, send someone out to buy lamps for the totally dark hallways and stairways). The hotel actually had the nerve to initially tell us that morning that if we checked out early, they would impose a $100.00 penalty! So basically, they were forcing the hand of people who had already spent $2-300.00 to stay in a non-functioning hotel without any fire/light or safety mechanisms in place.

Needless to say, we will NEVER stay at any Holiday Inn hotel for their lack of infrastructure support was ridiculously bad. There are so many cute, wonderful chalets, cabins and B&Bs in Bar Harbor - there is no reason why you need to spend your money here. Yes, there is a free shuttle that picks up people from the hotels that are not in Bar Harbor...but you will have to visit about 10 hotels before you reach Bar Harbor (making it more convenient to walk the 1.5 miles it would take you to walk from the Holiday Inn to the edge of town. The below reviews are also correct - the rooms are not what they appear on their website; they do not show the antiquated rooms, the shabby and water-stained walls or the stained carpets.

If you have children, I would especially stay away - the hotel should have had a plan to preserve the safety of its families - you will not find this here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WrldTrav520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear WrldTrav520,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for our Anniversary Weekend. I found our room to be a bit dated. We used a discount with CAA which I still found was a bit pricey considering the distance from downtown.

We used taxis to travel back/forth for dinner as we wanted to have some drinks. I had wished I would have booked closer to town and paid a bit more.

The outdoor pool area is beautiful and I love the bar/snack area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for you input. You may have just missed the start of the free shuttle that networks throughout the island. It picks up at the hotel twice an hour all summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing