We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, Beautiful Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Beautiful Room!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for just one night and wish it could have been more. Beautiful, beautiful view from our balcony - even what they call a "partial ocean view" room (perhaps 30% not ocean view... was wonderful. A lovely, well maintained property. Convenient shuttle into main part of town, which isn't far from the property. Great value for the money - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcgcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    403
    277
    159
    116
See reviews for
374
559
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I didn't find the staff very friendly, like robots just doing their jobs. I had wished the Lobster Pound restaurant would have been open but that was closed. The room was fine but my view was obscured by a dumpster and on Saturday morning between 2 & 3 in the morning, there was a lot of laughing and talking loud from quite a few people who must have come from a night of drinking. If I wasn't sick and up, I would have called the front desk but then again, I think they must have been having a good time too. It was a great location, near Arcadia and the shops.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a waterfront view....
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Cathy M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked a room in a building separate from the main lodge. It as good-sized and pleasant, although lacking any views of the water (that's why it was appreciably cheaper!) The design of the complex is a bit incongruous with the other hotels and resorts in the area, but not at all objectionable. The staff was courteous and efficient.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The facility has just been recently acquired by Holiday Inn and I expect it will become a bit more Standardized in the future. Overall I rate this facility good but my comments will primarily focus on things I think can be improved.
I was unimpressed by the young lady that checked us in, she did her job but I judged her to be cold and unfriendly. I had the same impression with the bar tender. One big disappointment was the "advertised" a wine bar but all they had was a simple wine service from the bar - if you call it a wine bar it should be a specialized service with lots of different wines as well as tastings and or flights.
Rooms are nicely appointed and were adequate but our only access to the balcony was via a window(albeit a large window). Pay attention to other reviews about room locations some have magnificent views and others are poor. There were room service dishes in the hall for over 12 hours—way too long. The Lobster pound associated with the hotel was closed for the season—it should be open if the hotel is open.
It won’t take much to get this up rating up a notch or two with some work on the Personnel training and general management oversight and planning. Assuming the price stays where it is now it could be a great value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view and you will likely not be disapointed with a problem view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Que3731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Que3731,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just got back from two nights at this place. We booked a room on the non-ocean view side. They didn't tell us that our second floor balcony looked out onto the dumpster - gross!! We couldn't go out on the balcony at all. Plus the staff is up very early putting stuff into the dumpster making lots of noise - not nice.

The wait staff was very nice but the portions were tiny. For breakfast I ordered toast and was served one very thin slice of bread - barely toasted - it was $2.75 plus tax and tip. That evening our party of four ordered an appetizer to share. For $8 plus tax and tip we received three tiny sizes of brucshetta to share with four people!!! Seriously????

We were also there for the Oct 19th fire alarm - they said it is common - people smoking on the balconies.

Next trip to Bar harbor we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Cindy V,

Firstly let me offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, and hopefully on such occasion we can start to rebuild your trust in our hotel.

Again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Walked in to a friendly reception and smooth check in. We stayed for two nights at this hotel, and WOW for the views! We had a "partial waterfront view room" and it was really nice waking up and enjoying the sunrise. The pool/jacuzzi area was very enjoyable. Great location as well, close to downtown and Acadia! The room itself was clean and spacious, but very uncomfortable bed and a little fridge totally out of place. The fridge was left on the floor, next to the TV stand. Couldn't even open the thing. I spoke to front desk about it at the time of check out, and hopefully they will take care of it soon. We do plan on going back to Bar Harbor next year, and I will call to make sure those 2 items have been improved, if so, I will love to stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room and enjoy beautiful views. Maybe there are rooms with newer mattresses. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medeiros12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Medeiros12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location is BEAUTIFUL. Beautiful views from the restaurant, from some of the rooms, from the elevator. The property is fantastic but the rooms need updating. The restaurant staff should retrain the front desk staff in hospitality. Restaurant staff was excellent, front desk really couldn't be bothered. Even the houseman was friendlier than the guest service agents. Value for price paid, however, really wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Lis M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing