We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Overall, the service was great. The staff was friendly and very helpful with any questions that were asked. Rooms were very clean. The restaurant inside the hotel had great pizza. The location was convenient, close to town and near the Acadia National park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    381
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
517
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked this room through a travel agent. We were surprised to be placed in the worst room in the hotel. We were in an auxiliary building on the first floor, next to the elevator. We hardly got any sleep with the noise. When we asked to change rooms, we were just told of the prices to upgrade. Also, there was no lid on the toilet - Yuck! We were afraid we were going to accidentally drop something in. The location is fine, but it is not really in walking distance to town. Plan to drive into Bar Harbor for shopping and meals. I would only book this hotel if you are willing to spring for a room in the main building with a water view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Colleen M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. It is regrettable the room you received did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Moncton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were fortunate to have been able to visit this facility in Eastern Maine, and the experience was wonderful. The staff were very accommodating, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the grounds offered a very relaxing experience, being able to walk around, view of the Bay, and the mountains to the East, was very warm and solemn.
I would encourage any couple looking for a nice, not pushing weekend get away to visit the Bar Harbour region, and stay at the Holiday Inn Regency. The food and service were also very good.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonctonMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. Rooms were clean and not smelly. Grounds around the hotel very nice and clean. Best part of this hotel for us was the proximity to Acadia National Park. A little pricey but I guess you pay for the convenience of being right outside the park. Didn't have much dealings with staff so I cannot give my opinion on them.

P.s. I did not use the spa but cannot unselect the "terrible" rating

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1960Rosedale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our room was very nice, absolutely nothing to complain about. It's right on the ocean with great views from the promenade. The pool area is also very nice as well as the hot tub. It felt more like a resort than a Holiday Inn - I didn't expect it to be quite so nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

They charged us 200$ for a room, for my Husband and I. Said they wouldn't take any money out of my bank account untill checkout the next day. After checking my atm balance, we discovered they did take out the original 200$ and also took out an extra almost 300$!!! For reason's they say they "wont explain". Never going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Emily W,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were alittle worried when were checking in because they were going to give us a standard room. The nice woman at the check in desk did upgrade us to an oceanfront room and it was really appreciated. The room had everything that we needed although a microwave would have been nice. The view from our room was outstanding, with cruise ships and schooners to look at. Also it was very quiet, except for one morning there was the sound of a fog horn, which was charming.There was a nice walking trail right out front and was a nice addition. We were looking forward to going to Stewart's Lobster Pound but perhaps it was closed for the season, so we had to drive to get our lobster dinner. The hotel is situated very well in relation to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, just a short drive to both. We loved the area and loved the park and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely get an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing