We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly an outstanding experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Ms
1 review
“Truly an outstanding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The stay was even better than expected. The grounds are beautiful, wild flower gardens everywhere, shade trees, kept immaculate. The rooms are spacious, with amenities I have not seen in a while such as doorbells, ceiling fan, 5 excellent pillows per bed, comfortable beds, flatscreen tv, balcony overlooking the bay, even still had the little latch that says do not disturb when you turn the deadbolt lock. The ice machines are real ice machines with plenty of ice. Cont breakfast had many choices and all fresh. The staff was very helpful and courteous.
The two restaurants were both outstanding. The terrace right above the dock was nice, but also had very good food with excellent waitstaff, try the wraps and blueberry pie. The reading room food was oustanding. The lobster bisque was as good as I have ever had, lots of chunks of lobster. The food was cooked perfectly, the presentation was great, the value was good, and from the maitre d to the waitstaff, it was a wonderful experience.
Quiet, peaceful, great view, exceptionally clean, helpful staff, close to everything you need, what a great place to stay. I just wish we did not have to come home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipYms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    388
    94
    48
    12
See reviews for
376
850
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. To me, the time on the deck facing the ocean was priceless, and I didn't see any other Bar Harbor hotel that offered the same kind of location/views. Spectacular!

The room was quite clean, with a very friendly and accomodating staff. We were granted a late checkout with no questions asked, and our interactions with housekeeping were very pleasant. The location of the hotel is excellent for exploring downtown Bar Harbor, and the views from your deck are the sum of the reasons that people go to Bar harbor... beautiful, serene, and private! The decor is a mixed bag... fixtures are definitely dated (early 80s we guess) but furniture is modern and comfortable. The included continental breakfast was quite impressive, we thought.

We found that the hotel exceeded our expectations, even at the fairly steep price. We will definitely book there again when we go back to Bar Harbor, no questions asked. in fact, throughout our 4 day stay we constantly remarked on how fortunate we felt to be staying there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfpackVortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Bar Harbor Inn is wonderful. On the pricey side but you can't beat the location. We had a King Size Garden view with Balcony and were very pleased with the amenities and overall condition of the room. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. There is a path leading around the property to Acadia State Park.
The view from the shoreside restaurant is wonderful!
Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Beautiful place to stay! The room was immaculate, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the harbor. Hot coffee was always available in the lobby, and the fireplace was lit to take the chill away. Very cozy! The grounds were well manicured and flowers were blooming everywhere. Absolutely breathtaking setting!

We ate many times at the Inn. All the meals were excellent. I highly recommend the rasberry and cream cheese stuffed french toast for breakfast and the lobster bisque for dinner. Yummy!

There are many things to do within walking distance. At low tide we walked across the sandbar to an island and hiked. One day we rented bikes and rode around for over 3 hrs. on the carriage roads (no cars allowed). Another day we took the tour through Acadia Park. It was great! Our tour guide was Roger, and he was full of information. The bus makes stops at all the right places for photos. It's a "must do " while in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

My husband & I went with his extended family to Bar Harbor Inn to celebrate his parents' 50th wedding anniversary. We booked the "Summer Delight" special which includes: 5 nights, 5 breakfasts in the Reading Room (their restaurant), 2 Reading Room dinners, a lobster bake at the Terrace Grille (their outdoor cafe), a cruise around the harbor, and a $20 gift shop gift card.

The best features of BHI are its location and landscape. The views from the Inn are spectacular. BHI sits right on Frenchman Bay. Watching the changes that occur with the tide and the busy harbor was relaxing. The grounds are really gorgeous-everything was lush and in bloom. I talked to the gardener, Chris, and she was friendly, helpful, and more than happy to take the time to discuss the numerous flowers with me. A path hugs the shoreline in front of BHI and loops back through town. I enjoyed walking the tranquil path every morning. You can also walk to Bar Island from BHI at low tide. We gathered beach glass there. If you are into tourist shops, the main strip is within walking distance (not my thing.) Acadia National Park is within driving distance. Great fun climbing rocks and spotting deer there.

The food was goodish. Breakfast was amazing. A variety of french toast dishes, waffles, and eggs benedict kept us looking forward to mornings. Dinner was good, but not great. We were not impressed with the lobster pie. I had the sea scallops and everyone agrees that was the best entree that any of us had. The desserts were very good-interesting, rich, and yummy. Although the dinners were included in the package, they were over priced for the quality. My husband and I are foodies and like I said-good, not great. The service was very good-friendly, accurate, fast.

The room we had was the least impressive aspect of our stay. Our room was large- a king room in the Newport building. It really needs to be updated. It looks as if it were decorated in the 80s. The couch had a place that you sank into if you tired to sit. The TV was tiny. I know that you don't go to a hotel for the TV but one day was really rainy and we had to sink into the couch and watch the tiny TV because we couldn't go out. The shower curtain rod was bent-no big deal, but God, as they say, is in the details. The room staff was good. Our room was clean and I was brought extra towels immediately upon request.

So overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsTRBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, PA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

Bar Harbor, Maine was such a pleasant surprise. We are on an Americana tour this year (spending our money in the USA), and Maine was one of the states we decided to visit.

The Bar Harbor Inn made our trip. It is in a beautiful location, has very friendly staff, excellent food at the restaurants, and a nice pool. It was a touch of class!

Bar Harbor had a lot of great stores to browse; we also went to the Acadia National Park (even went to the beach at Echo Lake!) for phenomenal views, and enjoyed local pubs and food. Blueberry everything (pie, soda, beer!), and of course lobster.

The only thing we didn't enjoy as much was an evening cruise on the Margaret Todd boat. It was very cold, and sort of boring.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mockx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

The view from the balcony of our 2nd floor room was great, right overlooking the water. Room was very spacious and well equipped. Complimentary breakfast was one of the best ever, with lots of fresh fruits and great pasteries. The Reading Room restaurant served one the memorable meals I have had in 45 years of travel--lobster bisque, lobster pie, and lemon cheesecake with blueberry sauce--super good and wonderful attentitve service, with a 270-degree view of a picture sunset!

There is a waterside walking trail right outside the rooms.

My wife and I each enjoyed spa services. My Swedish massage was perfect after days of driving.

The hotel is just off Main Street, so as you exit the property, you are in the middle of Bar Harbor shops, restaurants and harbor front. Only 5 miles to Acadia National Park Entrance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-am-the-Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing