We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hit with my family”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Bar Harbor Inn in Maine. The hotel faces the harbor with the shore path lining the floral gardens. We enjoyed our first meal on our summer vacation at the Terrace Grill. Reading Room was too formal for us.

Our room could have used a new or steam cleaned carpet and the beds were not the most comfortable, but we still found it charming with good service. Our room was just outside the pool which our children enjoyed every afternoon.

Running the shore path and then taking the short walk to morning breakfast was a great way to start the day.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank tomnatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is great to read that you loved your stay with us and it was a hit with your family. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed your meal at the Terrace Grill. I apologize about the carpet needing a steam cleaning and the beds were not to your standards. I appreciate that you mentioned this because it helps us manage our rooms. Your feedback on our rooms is very valuable to us. I am very pleased to learn that your children enjoyed the pool and our shore path. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

The hotel was New England rustic and yet quite elegant. The rooms are comfortable with all the usual amenities. The location itself is nice, close to the shops and Ocean path. It is convenient to Acadia. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us when we had a couple of special requests.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor main building which was fine. The ocean front rooms are more $ and looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve-USABoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review and it was our pleasure having you as our guest. It is fantastic to read that your room was comfortable, you approve of the location and that our staff went out of their way to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for our visit to Acadia National Park. We took the package which was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and the food was delicious. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is located right near town which is very convenient. It is also very close to Acadia National Park. HIghly recommend a stay at Bar Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lin430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed Acadia National Park, your meal package with us, your room, your food and our staff. It is very satisfying to read a review that thinks our staff does a wonderful job. This is very important to us and we understand that providing memorable guest service is expected at the Bar Harbor Inn. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great location, excellent room and view, good package and food plan,and history of the hotel was interesting. Very friendly staff. Hope they read the review we left at the hotel and we mentioned several specific people. Would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the main inn, with a harbor view. It was close to the restaurant and a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PamelaT702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa a fantastic review on Tripadvisor and for your review you left with us. I will pass on your reviews to our team. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We recently stayed here for a wedding and were happy with everything overall. The rooms aren't super fancy but nice and clean. We had a few meals here and all were good. Breakfast is standard with fruit, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee, etc. There is a heated pool and playground for the kids. The location is probably the best asset. It's right on the water and although our room didn't have a few of the water, many do. It's also within very short walking distance of the main street. If you book here I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Warwicker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest while you were attending a recent wedding. We appreciate that you mentioned your room was nice and clean, your meals were good, our heated pool and playground for the kids, and our location right on the water. We hope that you return as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Wonderful family vacation and stay at the Bar Harbor Inn, Maine. Staff was tremendous in welcoming us back home on our return visit to Frenchmen Bay, Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island. From the doorman, front desk staff, waiters, all hotel staff; exuded confidence and sincere geniuses, which makes the Maine people and surrounding area such a consistent repeat destination for many visitors. The people of Bar Harbor & especially the people of the Bar Harbor Inn, have integrity, take intense pride in their service, attention to detail and are excellent in all they do. Miss Cathy the Bar Harbor Inn Restaurant & Hotel Manager, even prepared a beautiful dinner table for us with the magnificent and unforgettable dinner view, depicting the grandeur of Bar Harbor's schooners, fishing/lobster boats and Acadia's Porcupine Islands. It was a most romantic & classic dinning experience, with the Inn's well known live piano music playing old time favorites, candlelight, exquisite cuisine (outstanding clam chowder and North Atlantic seafood). This Victorian era Inn is a crown jewel that sits on the cool sapphire blue Atlantic waters of Frenchmen Bay. The rugged splendor in location of the Hotel & property are second to none and are so rich in heritage and people that help make this wonderful place even more special and such an unforgettable experience. The Bar Harbor Inn's location is perfect and walking distance to anywhere in town. Sailing, whale watching, horse drawn carriage rides in Acadia, sea kayaking, mountain biking, rock climbing, hiking, shopping, restaurants, micro brew pubs and sightseeing are just some of the many activities offered to the adventurous travelers. A long time ago, a friend once told me, that when one first discovers Bar Harbor & Acadia, it keeps on bringing you back! So when we keep on coming back, time after time again, there is no better feeling place, then our beloved Bar Harbor Inn! Most Respectfully: Daniel Hope & Family

Room Tip: The Bar Harbor Inn's Victorian suites & rooms are in the main Inn; other more private room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning as our guest and we really appreciate that you took the time to give the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for all your kind words and fantastic compliments regarding our staff. Our team has passion and pride in providing memorable guest service and exceeding our guest expectations. It is always satisfying to get positive feedback from our guests. I will pass on your fantastic review to our team.

It is great to read that you had excellent experiences on the island and at Acadia National Park. We are so fortunate to have Acadia National Park as our neighbor. There is so much to do inside the park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Old fashioned, no non-sense hotel. Cannot beat the location on the ocean and next to town. We have stayed seven times and miss it every time we leave. Very attentive staff, great outdoor pool. We love it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was great having you back as our guest for the seventh time. We appreciate your loyalty to the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. It is always our pleasure welcoming you back each year. Thank you for mentioning our attentive staff, location and great outdoor pool. We can’t wait to welcome you back next year.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $124 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing