We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Bar Harbor Inn, ME”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
“Love Bar Harbor Inn, ME”
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Bar Harbor Inn is like no other hotel. The staff is probably the best staff we have ever had the pleasure to meet. And, believe me, you meet them. They greet you and smile at you everywhere you go in the hotel. We haven't met a single cranky or unpleasant staff member. The hotel itself is beautiful and charming. The food is exquisite. We had the lobster bisque the other night and it was to die for. We could have eaten a bowl of it and had nothing else, but, of course, we had more!! We cut the filet mignon with a regular kitchen knife.
We are invited up every year and it is such a privilege to be there. We are pampered and treated like kings and queens. What a wonderful place!!

  • Liked — the wonderful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mal46lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    398
    96
    49
    13
See reviews for
398
892
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We just returned from our honeymoon at the Bar Harbor Inn in Bar Harbor, Maine and I already want to go back again. It was everything I had hoped it would be and more! We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge building on the second floor maybe 50 feet (or less) from the ocean itself. Our room had a king sized bed and sitting area (both very comfortable) arranged so that when we work up in the morning we were actually looking out the french doors across the water (as long as we left the drapes open which was fine on the second floor!)

Once we were ready to start our day, we made sure to stop in downstairs for their expanded deluxe continental breakfast which really was as good as the name suggests -- bagels, muffins, banana bread, coffee cake, multiple cereals, fresh fruit, fruit salad, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, milk, four different kinds of juice. It was so good that we just ate a large late breakfast and skipped lunch entirely all week!

The location of the inn itself, is part of what made it so great for us. It's literally right in the middle of where you want to be! We were directly across the street for the center of town, within walking distance to everything -- whale watch and sea kayak tour offices, restaurants, shopping, town green, museums, even a couple of great hikes along the oceanfront path or out to bar island across the sand bar (at low tide).

The second thing that sets this place above the rest is their superior service. When I called them to book the room, I mentioned once that it would be our honeymoon, but throughout our entire stay, any of the staff we spoke to congratulated us. Everyone was incredibly friendly, professional and efficient. They even surprised us when room service delivered us a bottle of sparkling cider for our first night there!

Lastly, but certainly not least, I can't say enough about their Reading Room restaurant. We used a local review book to choose different 3-diamond restaurants for dinner every night. All our meals were excellent, but we saved the Reading Room for our last night and it's a good thing we did because no one else could possibly have topped it. We got seated at a window seat overlooking the ocean, the service was again pleasant and perfectly timing, the professional piano player set a romantic sophisticated mood, but there aren't words to describe just how good the food was. Simply put, my husband and I agree, it was easily the best meal we've ever eaten anywhere ever.

We paid $169 a night for our room which seems to be a fair price for the location and quality of both the facilities and service. However, since it was at the end of October and past peak season there were some things that we weren't able to do (sea kayaking, whale watching, etc.), although it was also really nice to avoid the big crowds and hassles that come with them. We'd like to go back again when it's warmer, but I know the prices get much steeped during the busier times of the year. Maybe next time we'll try for early summer, until then we've got lots of great memories from our honeymooner's paradise to keep us warm!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CT_Couple_10-11-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed at a different hotel when we visitied Bar Harbor for vacation last year! When we walked along the shore path we decided that we would have to come back this year and stay at the Bar Harbor Inn because of how close it is to the ocean and the unbelieveable view it has. Well, we decided to get married there as well. We stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn and had an ocean front room with a balcony that you can watch the sun rise and set every day with gorgreous views of the mountains with the ocean! We got married on the property at the white Gazebo which was just beautiful.. The only thing we were disappointed in was the pillows. They seem a little out dated and the mattress on the bed as well. Such a perfect place to stay. The continental breakfast was just awesome! If you leave there hungry, it will be your own fault. The staff was GREAT! The nicest people I ever met! Even sent something to our room as a gift from the hotel for our wedding. They always smiled and remembered us and always asked what we needed. (softer pillows, lol )
We plan on going back and staying at the Bar Harbor Inn every year for our wedding anniversary.. It was such a great way to start our new life together and we will go back and request the same room.. The view is more than well worth it!!!

Mr & Mrs Oliver
Kentucky

  • Liked — THE VIEW!!!!
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver1539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We booked the autumn finale package and enjoyed our stay at BHI. The hotel is in downtown Bar Harbor and right on the water. We had a second-floor ocean view room in the main Inn building. The room was good-sized and decorated in a Victorian style with a four poster king bed and dark wood furniture. Our room had a gas fireplace which ran on a timer. The timer's clicking was a little annoying. Initially when we checked in there was a strange odor that I think was related to the gas but we brought it up with housekeeping and it was addressed quickly. The room had a small balcony that we didn't use too much because it was pretty chilly in the morning and evening when we were actually in the room. There was a large jetted tub, plenty of towels, comfy terry cloth robes, and lots of counter space in the bath. Continental breakfast in the Lodge building was included in our package. This felt a little downscale/cafeteria style to me but was certainly adequate - muffins and breads, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee. One day we treated ourselves to breakfast in the Reading Room. It was excellent and the servings were generous. We also had dinner in the Reading Room one night. Our server, Tom, was outstanding and the lobster pie lived up to its "famous" billing. There is live piano music to accompany the meal. The hotel is very convenient to shopping and restaurants. Be aware that you are staying next to an active harbor where fishing boats head out very early in the morning. I won't complain about that because I certainly enjoyed their hard work every night at dinner! Overall I would describe it as casually upscale if that makes sense.

  • Liked — Location, views, dining in the Reading Room, ambiance
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bostowyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittykat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed in a room on the ocean w/a balcony. Although it was very chilly in the morning and evening, the sunrise and sunset were so overwhelmingly beautiful we stayed out there and watched them. The house keeping was great. The room service was excellent. Bed was so...comfortable along with the entire room. They have flat screen TVs. Main St, which has so many gift shops, restaurants and attractions are all within walking distance. There are so many things to do, or you can just relax and enjoy the sounds of the ocean. The entire town and its residence are pleasant and very accommodating. My husband and I would have stayed for a month is we could have, and intend to return in 2 years for our 25th aniversary and renew our vows there, to us it is the perfect place to display our love infront of family and God.
Thank you for the oppertunity to let everyone know how wonderful the Bar Harbor Inn is as well as the town in general.
Mr. & Mrs. Shehady

  • Liked — Ocean veiw, shopping, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittykat1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, OH
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

As a recent reviewer said, you're paying for the location and the view, both of which are very good. We had a first floor room in the Oceanfront Lodge, and the balcony overlooking the water was nice. We awoke early both mornings to watch and photograph the sunrise. We didn't have trouble with noise from people walking by on the Shore Path, but the second morning we were there, a couple had spread a blanket on the grass in front of our balcony and was having a romantic time enjoying the view for which we paid.

The main building was attractive, and there were lovely flower beds, but our room seemed like a standard motel room. For an upscale hotel and price, I expected a more comfortable bed. I found the mattress to be hard and the sheets a bit rough. Also, I had to use a tissue to remove several dark hairs from the shower that housekeeping missed. We did not use the dining room(s) or the spa.

I would probably give the Bar Harbor Inn a 3.5 for the waterfront view and the location, as it was easy to walk about town and the Shore Path. I just expected a nicer room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room comfort
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank eatshoptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just returned from our stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. While our oceanfront room with balcony was lovely and had a great view of the cruiseships; we were disappointed that they charged $8.95 a day for using the WiFi in your room given the cost of the room a night. I would expect this to be included in a room that costs over $300.00 a night.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cameron1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing