We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harbor House Hosts”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Thomaston, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harbor House Hosts”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for an early March high school basketball tournament, not exactly the best time of year to visit Maine. Despite this being a weekend for local families attending a sports event, the staff at the Bar Harbor Inn treated us like royalty. They were friendly, attentive and helpful in every way. The rooms were stocked with welcome snacks and they had guest appropriate buffets and entertainment each night. The rooms were recently renovated and are very nice.

Room Tip: The bayview or oceanview rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We had an outstanding weekend for the Great Harbor Shootout Tournament. The Harbor House Community Service Center in Southwest Harbor did an outstanding job putting the tournament together for all of the basketball teams to enjoy. It was a great opportunity for us to welcome many of the families attending the tournament from throughout the state of Maine.

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor and I will pass it on to our staff. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    391
    94
    48
    13
See reviews for
385
869
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,954 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I spent couple of days here in this charming place. The fireplace in the lobby and the comfortable sofas and chairs around it make it appear as a large cozy living room. Our room had a balcony and access to the outside onto the lawn. The view was beautiful. One evening we had a nice dinner in the restaurant in the hotel.There are quite a few places to eat in this little town. We enjoyed browsing thru the art galleries, some were getting ready to close for the winter, so I was able to purchase an oil painting of the harbor at a very reasonable price. We took a ride to the Acadia National park and enjoyed the views and scenery there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our lobby area with our wood burning fireplace and your dinner at our Reading Room Restaurant. It is great to hear that you enjoyed Acadia National Park and some of the fantastic art galleries in town. We hope to see you soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband, who is a full time wheelchair user as the result of a combat injury during the Viet Nam war, and I spend a few days every summer at the lovely Bar Harbor Inn. Our wheelchair accessible room in the Maine Building has a lovely water view and is beautifully appointed, We enjoy several of our meals at their patio restaurant and are always made welcome by their gracious staff. We are looking forward to our July 2014 visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning as our guest to the Bar Harbor Inn. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back each year. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. Thank you to your husband for his service to our country. I will pass along your Tripadvisor review to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back during your July 2014 visit.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful location, in town but also private, with close connections to Acadia Nat'l Park. I originally chose this from the web but after having gone to Bar Harbor and seen the selection, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: some rooms look out on the ocean, and for us this is decisive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor regarding the Bar Harbor Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have been visiting the coast of Maine for the past 15 years and the Bar Harbor Inn is one of our favorite destinations. The views of Frenchman Bay, the exceptional staff, great restaurants and lovely rooms make this a wonderful inn. The inn is within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and excursions. The Shore Path along the ocean begins at the inn and is the perfect way to start or end your day. The welcoming fireplace in October combined with hot tea, coffee cider and cookies in the afternoon is the perfect complement to a brisk walk. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Our first choice is an ocean view room in the Main Inn, but have enjoyed rooms in the Oceanfront Lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure to welcome you back to the inn each year and we thank you for choosing to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn each time you visit Bar Harbor. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a memorable experience during their stay with us.

I am very happy to hear that we are one of your favorite destinations. Thank you for mentioning our exceptional staff, I will be sure to pass on your review to each of our departments. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been coming to the Bar Harbor Inn for ten years. It is the reason that I keep coming back to beautiful Maine. The staff is exceptional. They make you feel like you are one of their family. I cannot emphasize enough how efficient and cordial everyone is. The front desk employees, the bellmen and the outstanding housekeeping staff are a big part of why I choose to stay at the Inn. The Reading Room Restaurant is a dining delight. The Bar Harbor Inn sits on one of the most beautiful spots on earth. Here, God's designed a feast for the senses. The combination of the rocky shore, beautiful Porcupine Islands and sea-air are soothing to the soul.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate that you decide to stay with us each year. This really makes us feel special. I am very happy to hear that you think our staff is exceptional. I agree with you and I am very blessed to work with such a friendly and professional staff. We look forward to your next visit to the Bar Harbor Inn.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Moore's ,
We have been coming to the Bar Harbor Inn for over 10 years & plan to return this Sept. The rooms are lovely , the service excellent and the food wonderful ! We enjoy the waterfront view from the porch & a hot cup of coffee in front of the fireplace in the lobby after a cool evening in town . The location is ideal for visiting Acadia Natl. Park to enjoy all the activities for nature lovers and for shopping trips into town. We spend our wedding anniversary at the Inn every year !

Room Tip: Our favorite is the waterfront from the second floor of either the Main Inn . Quieter with great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor regarding the Bar Harbor Inn. It is our pleasure welcoming you back as our guest each year. We always look forward to your return and we appreciate that you choose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us each year.

We have some exciting news regarding the Main Inn second floor. We have renovated all 30 of the second floor rooms in the Main Inn. Our Maintenance Crew is just finishing up this huge project and they have done a fantastic job. The renovation has a brand new color scheme for each room, new furniture and fixtures and new decks. I can’t wait for you to see your room when you visit in September.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing