We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bar Harbor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$205
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Manor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$209
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
$269
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,790)
Filter reviews
1,790 results
Traveler rating
1,183
429
112
53
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
429
112
53
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoceanfront lodgereading roomnewport buildingocean frontcontinental breakfastterrace grilllobster bakein townmain buildingmargaret toddoff seasonacadia national parkwalking pathfrenchman's baylobster boatsblueberry piecruise ship
Filter
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,790 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Since this was our first trip to Bar Harbor, we wanted a room with a great view of the ocean and a balcony. The Bar Harbor Inn was the perfect choice! We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge on the second floor and had an outstanding view all throughout the day--from the beautiful sunrises to relaxing with some beverages at the end of an active day in Acadia. The hotel and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and so convenient to restaurants and the downtown area. Service was great--we did have a small problem with the heating system on our first night which they handled to our satisfaction. Our room was a nice size and extremely clean and well maintained. Very comfortable bed. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Many years ago, my parents took the long car trip to Bar Harbor, Maine from Brooklyn, NY.
I must have been so impressed with what they told me that I never forgot about it. I did this same wonderful trip from Long Island, NY with a friend not too long ago. We stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn which is in a beautiful location overlooking Frenchman's Bay. One early morning just about sunrise, I opened the doors leading out to a small balcony and saw one of the most enchanting scenes that I have ever been priviledged to see. The sun just coming up shone on the big grey boulders sitting in the beautiful calm blue waters. The silence and majesty of the moment seemed otherworldly. The hotel itself is charming and has grandeur. The inside dining room is elegant but the lobster dinners we had on the outside dining patio cannot be compared to dining anywhere else. We did the usual tourist sightseeing, the trip to Acadia National Park, and the two hour boating adventure. You don't have to go to foreign lands to see beauty, it's right here in Maine, USA.

Room Tip: Make sure you book rooms with a view of Frenchman's Bay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musiclover869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place closes for the season Sunday 11/10/2013! FYI

Having said this, the AAA price they gave over the phone, $98, was $12 cheaper than Hotels.com...included free WiFi, free parking, and free Continental Breakfast. It was facing ocean and we had phenomenal sunrise views. You also have a terrace with table and chairs. Rooms 301/302/303 all face the back wall of seems to be a swimming pool when you go in/out of the room which was not so nice. The room was small (which the gal told me on the phone) with one large king bed.

Regular coffeemaker and fridge. The restaurant and bar were another story. The restaurant furniture is in dire need of updating. Felt like a scene out of the Overlook Hotel in the Shining. Prices off the hook. We meandered through a ghostly town. Almost everything was locked up for the season We ate dinner at Geddy's across the street from the hotel - AVOID AT ALL COSTS - but that's a different review!!

Oh and their WiFi was not fast which was more annoying because I told the gal on the phone that that was most important to us. Took a long time for pages to load.

It was a nice enough place to stay off season though. To be honest, I can't say I would want to stay here in their busy season.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank annarchy_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We dropped in after deciding at the last minute to spend the night in Bar Harbor. The gentleman at the front desk was great and set us up in a waterfront room with the most gorgeous view. It is an older building but has been well maintained. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. It had a large sliding door which opened out onto a private deck over looking the bay. It was a short walk to the pier and restaurants. We actually decided to stay at the hotel for most of the day and just enjoy the view. The continental breakfast was amazing. A bountiful assortment of breakfast breads and muffins and tons of fresh fruits all presented in elegance. The off season rate was very reasonable. We just loved this place and hated to leave. Oh, and the sunrise from our room was well worth getting up at 5 for.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Bar Harbor Inn hits the trifecta: super accommodations, excellent staff and good prices. The rooms, food and facilities are top notch. It is a traditional New England Inn; we stay at it often and are always delighted with our visit. The package deals are a super value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Main Inn
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews