We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bar Harbor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balance Rock Inn(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Central House(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Hotel(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morgan House Inn(Bar Harbor)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveler rating
1,173
429
111
53
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,173
429
111
53
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoceanfront lodgereading roomnewport buildingocean frontcontinental breakfastterrace grilllobster bakein townmain buildingmargaret toddoff seasonacadia national parkwalking pathfrenchman's baylobster boatsblueberry piecruise ship
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visited Bar Harbor Inn & Spa for our 30th wedding anniversary. We booked the Autumn Gold Package and we were VERY pleased. Stayed 2nd floor oceanfront lodge- amazing view. Our included meals in the Reading Room were top notch. Loved the "lobster eggs Benedict" & the wait staff very efficient. Highly recommend the Lobster Bake. We also received nice spa services with a couples massage & soak on a rainy Sunday morning. We are definitely coming back to this gem of Bar Harbor :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riceit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed one night during our visit to Acadia National Park. You cannot beat the location of this hotel but the rooms (at least in the Newport building) where we stayed the night are in serious need of updating. Their decor remains stuck in the 1970's or 1980's. For the price, I expect more. However, breakfast was nice and the ability to sit and look out at the water during breakfast was enjoyable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank BoydChicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband I stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for three nights and was not happy with our accommodations. The service and the restaurant was great. Our room was in the main part of the Inn. The baseboards were very dirty,not enough hot water to take showers,towels were very rough. We will never stay there again. It is way over priced for what you get. One other thing that was great was a view of the harbor.

Room Tip: Look before booking!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed three nights in the Newport Bldg. at this hotel. You simply cannot beat the location. The registration and check-out process went very smoothly. We had a wonderful dinner one evening in the hotel's Reading Room restaurant (see my separate review). Our room was a little disappointing, considering the price we paid. True, we had everything we needed, but the bedspreads were a little shabby looking, and the place could definitely use some updating. All of the personnel we encountered (front desk, Reading Room restaurant, Oceanfront Lodge for breakfast in the AM, or just passing on the grounds) were great - efficient and friendly service. The complimentary Wi-Fi access was very slow. You have to pay extra for high speed Wi-Fi. The complimentary continental breakfast was adequate. There are no hot items, but they did offer a variety of fruit, cereals, yogurt, breads, muffins, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice hotel in that it is a quick walk to town and the dining areas and breakfast room overlooks the water and is quite beautiful. The food is good and grounds are nice. The hot tub was not clean on our visit. The rooms are very disappointing. You think you are going to get this nice beautiful room based on the grounds and the hotel lobby etc and then you walk into your room and think you are at The Holiday Inn. No offense to the Holiday Inn but it was not what I expected and was very disappointed especially by the bathroom. It was so plain and just basic! The beds were also uncomfortable. The breakfast that is included would have been better with some hot food and one day they ran out of plates and bowls and we had to wait while they were cleaned.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have different levels but the standard room is very basic
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews