We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Fayette, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had our wedding at the Bar harbor Inn & Spa...it was absolutely amazing. The food, the view, the staff...need I say more? Family and friends traveled nearly 5 hours to Bar Harbor and everyone said it was worth the trip. Rooms were a bit pricey, but the location is very beautiful and in the center of town. It really is a wonderful place you need to see it to truly appreciate the views.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Main inn--my teen loved the fact that you could walk right out the back door and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCappy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Congratulations.” Thank you for choosing the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa to celebrate your Wedding Day. It was our pleasure being part of your beautiful wedding. I appreciate your compliments on the food, our staff and the view. I will pass your review on to our staff.

I hope that you will celebrate your anniversaries with us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    398
    96
    49
    13
See reviews for
398
892
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had dinner in the dining room and went without a reservation. We had cocktails on the outdoor porch/bar area while we waited. Dinner was delicious and service was good. It was a busy night and the wait staff was overworked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieDR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that your dinner with us was delicious and the service was good. I will pass on your comment regarding the wait staff to our Dining Room Manager. Thank you for choosing to dine with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good place all around. The service is prompt and efficient. The rooms are beautiful so is the ground. You will just be content in staying in the hotel are especially the restaurants. The front office clerk during the early AM shift needs to smile more and pretend to be Ok answering questions. Other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilgbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you mentioned the service was prompt and efficient, beautiful rooms and grounds, and our restaurants. I will check in with our AM shift and get our team energized. Thank you for pointing this out. Our goal is providing Memorable Guest Service to all of our guests and your input helps us accomplish our goal.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here a number of times years ago, and the location is still amazing and the views are beautiful. It's got the best location in Bar Harbor right on the water in the center of town. The room (in the Newport building) was comfortable and very clean, the pool was great, and the free breakfast and the terrace restaurant were very good. The free wifi, however, was terrible (regularly took 10-15 minutes of constant trying to get a connection, which would then drop at some point). The front desk service was polite but remarkably unhelpful when we arrived early - no, our room wasn't ready; no, they couldn't tell us when it would be ready... minor but annoying.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room with an ocean view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our inn. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our location, views, room, pool area, complimentary breakfast and our restaurant.

I apologize that you had connection issues with our free wifi service. I am continuing to make sure we have the best wifi service available for our guests.

Thank you for mentioning that our front desk service was polite. We always do our best to manage our guest request to check into their room early. Unfortunately sometimes we are not able to get the room ready as early as requested. We guarantee our rooms are ready by 2:30 pm. I apologize for the inconvenience. The goal of our team is to provide Memorable Guest Service to all of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

While staying at the Bar Harbor Motel, we opted to purchase a package deal which included a meal at the Bar Harbor Inn. The atmosphere, view of the harbor, and food were outstanding. I had beef and my wife had fish. Both meals were prepared and presented with great care, and were delicious. The dessert was also pleasing to the eye and scrumptious. The live piano music just added to a very pleasant dining experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us during your recent stay in Bar Harbor. I have shared your wonderful comments with our team at the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals, the atmosphere, our view of the harbor and our live piano music that is played nightly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Detoured to visit this town and it was certainly worth it.
Hotel was in just a wonderful location, steps away from the harbor and town.
One of the best breakfasts we`ve ever had and the view from the dining room was fantastic.
Great lobby with helpful staff and the free cookies were also good.
Room was good without being wonderful and parking outside the door was handy. Lucky we were out of season or the rates would have been outside our budget for a 10 week road trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa for your stay in Bar Harbor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, your breakfast, the lobby and our staff was helpful. We really appreciate your very kind comments regarding our inn. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past 15 years. It is a very nice hotel in probably the best location in Bar Harbor. Located in a quiet park-like area just behind the bustling town, it is right at the doorstep of the shops, restaurants and nightlife, but at the same time -a world away in a quiet peaceful setting with beautiful ocean and harbor views. Not overly luxurious, but very clean, friendly, and generally upscale, without any hint of stuffiness. The perfect place to stay on MDI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate that you took the time to post a review of the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. Thank you for being such a loyal guest of ours by staying with us for so many years. We are very happy to hear your comments regarding our location, being very clean, friendly and upscale. Our team does a fantastic job of providing Memorable Guest Service. This is our goal and what we strive for.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa soon.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing