We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent three wonderful nights recently at the BHI....and loved it! The room rate is pricey, but it's worth all you get: incredbile location (walking distance to most restaurants/shops in BH), beautiful resort, super amenities, fantastic views, AND a free kids' cooking lesson on Tuesdays! The highlight of our trip was the 45 minute class our kids attended with Chef Lou and his assistants. They made us feel welcome and like special guests as we dined on plates of freshly baked and decorated cookies and milk in the hotel lobby. We ate in the lounge one evening and had fantastic lobster bisque served in a bread bowl...perfect after a cool day on the beach. The BHI is a destination resort that is worth the price if you want a relaxing, kid-friendly, clean, elegant stay in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a room in the Ocean Front Lodge which has rooms with beautiful decks that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, super amenities, fantastic views and the kid’s cooking lesson that takes place every Tuesday with Chef Lou and his assistants. Chef Lou also does a complimentary culinary demonstration for adults every Wednesday during the summer season. Have a great summer and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Bar Harbor Inn.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    409
    99
    49
    13
See reviews for
409
911
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked an ocean view room in the front building and I have to say the best thing about our room was the view from the balcony. It was absolutely incredible and I wouldn’t trade that experience for the world. That being said the room its self was lacking in many ways. The room was very tiny, but the bed was fairly comfortable and it was fine for our one night stay. Our fireplace worked, but the flame was barely there so we weren’t really able to enjoy it. We ended up booking a room with a Jacuzzi tub, but it is only a one person (it is disappointing they do not specify that on the website) and can only be used during certain hours. It’s understandable, but sort of a letdown if you want to soak after a late night of adventuring. The balcony and the chairs are extremely weathered. Again I can understand this, being next to the ocean, but I’m surprised they are not kept up a little better especially considering the price of their rooms. Things were clean, but the whole place just felt really outdated and old. To me it was not in a charming, old style way, just in a grungy, “we don’t want to spend the money to update” way. The staff we encountered were lovely to deal with and the pool was nice for a dip (even though it was pretty dirty, but we went late in the day). They had drinks and towels out next to the pool which was a nice touch. Breakfast the following day was very good. The location of the hotel to town is excellent provided you can walk up and down the hill. All and all we had a decent stay, but when we come back to Bar Harbor we’ll probably try some place else.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay at this hotel unless I had an ocean view personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inferno2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your stay last September. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your view from your balcony. I appreciate that you mentioned our staff is lovely to deal with. Our staff is dedicated to providing all of our guests with a memorable guest experience. Providing a memorable guest experience is our goal and our mission.

I apologize that you weren’t happy with some of the items in your room. I wish we would have had the opportunity to find you a different room type during your stay.

We have completed many renovations since you last stayed with us. This includes 19 rooms in our Newport Building, 10 rooms in the Main Inn Building, 49 bathrooms in the Oceanfront Lodge Building, a new exterior for the Main Inn and our pool received a gorgeous facelift.

I hope that you will stay with us in the future so we can welcome you back.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This Inn makes you want to extend your visit The rooms have glorious view over Harbour The staff pleasant and helpful. Like stepping into a carefree environment It is an easy walk into the town . The restaurant looks out over the Harbour for romantic meals

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank claude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a nice review. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. I appreciate that you mentioned that our staff was pleasant and helpful. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This property is a wonderful New England inn situated on the best location in Bar Harbor. The main inn has great views of the busy harbor and the islands beyond. The entire staff makes you feel very welcome with their friendly attitude and excellent service. The service was always very prompt and met our every need.

The Reading Room Restaurant, which is a part of the inn, is an excellent spot for a great dinner with panoramic ocean views. The food was extremely good and the service outstanding.

A "Culinary Tour" is offered weekly with head chef Louis Kiefer. It is a very interesting and enjoyable hour meeting some of the staff, touring the kitchen (spotless), and sampling some delectable creations. Chef Keifer even shared a few recipes for salmon and halibut which I am anxious to try. Fun and informative, it makes one wish to eat every meal there. It was a unique opportunity, not to be missed.

Room Tip: Bayside rooms have a balcony and great views. Oceanfront Lodge rooms are larger and more modern wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn during your recent stay in Bar Harbor. I am delighted to read that you think our property is a wonderful inn situated on the best location in Bar Harbor. I will also pass along your comments that our staff makes you feel very welcome with their friendly attitude and excellent service. Our goal is to provide the best memorable guest service and experience in the area.

Thank you for mentioning the Reading Room Restaurant which is our fine dining restaurant with a gorgeous panoramic view overlooking Frenchman’s Bay and the harbor. I agree that Chef Louis does a fantastic job providing his “Culinary Tour” for our guests every Wednesday during the summer season. I am very happy you enjoyed the tour.

I appreciate your wonderful Tripadvisor review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia and I think we made an excellent choice staying at the Bar Harbor Inn. After reading many reviews we decided to go for an ocean facing room in the main building. At $300.00 a night, we think it was worth the expense. Location, location, location. Our king room had a canopy bed, was nicely appointed with a balcony facing the ocean. Perfect for all our Happy Hours. We could easily walk to anywhere in town and out to the island at low tide which is a must see. It is an old historical building (think long hallways like "The Shining" but way nicer) and that added to the charm rather than dating the place.

The staff offered excellent service and even threw in free breakfast in the Inn's restaurant which was exceptional. Try the crab eggs Benedict. The view from the dining room is awesome. The free breakfast in the breakfast room was also very good and would have been fine for our needs if we had skipped the dining room experience. The wait staff was great. We did find the dining room hostess was pretty much a zombie when she seated us on two occasions. But given our affection for "The Walking Dead" and zombies in general, she was more of an amusement than anything else. We went in the heated pool and hot tub every night after hiking in Acadia. We loved the stay so much we are planning a return trip in October.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been vacationing in Bar Harbor for nearly 20 years and it still remains one of our fvorite destinations. We discovered the Bar Harbor Inn about 5 years ago and decided to try staying there. Well, we had such an awesome time and this place is simply amazing, that it is the only place we stay now when we come to Bar Harbor, which is usually at least once a year. We stay in the lodge building, which are all ocean front, with huge private balconies. The rooms are very well appointed and very well maintained. You feel as if you are all alone, with it's park-like setting, yet downtown Bar Harbor is a very short walk(less than 5 minutes) away. The staff is always extremely friendly, and very accomodating. Yes, it may be a bit expensive, but it is worth every penny. We will not stay anywhere else. Fireworks display is right over the lawn of the Inn, and this year it was awesome. Food is very good. Lobsters are as fresh as they get. Our bartender this year, Tonya, went over and above to make sure we had everything we needed and she was so much fun. Thank you Tonya. And the couples massage at their spa was so relaxing. We always have a great time in Bar Harbor and the Bar Harbor Inn is a big part of that. Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the lodge building. It is a lot quieter, large private balconies that are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scully1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

You CANNOT beat the setting....As far as maine coast goes, this place hits the spot. We were right in the heart of bar harbor, walking distances to all shops and bars, which was great...no cabs needed. The rooms were clean, modern and spacious enough, and i gotta say the reading room (bar/restaurant) was nice as it wasn't right on the main drag for tourist groups and such....i would love to just spend the summer here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing