We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've probably been going there for 10 years so you know we love it! The entire staff is friendly and courteous. It's connected to the fabulous restaurant, the Reading Room under Chef Lou. They had a culinary demo conducted by Chef Lou himself which was informative, fun and delicious! The lobby has a fire in the fireplace, newspapers and afternoon homemade cookies with tea. How thoughtful! Lastly, it's located in a beautiful spot on the harbor in front of the shore path beside all the stores and restaurants. We love it!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building by the ocean. We're up and out first thing so we stay in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Bar Harbor Inn on TripAdvisor. I would like to thank you for all of your years of loyalty to our Inn. I will pass on your very kind comments regarding our friendly and courteous staff, and our Reading Room Restaurant to our staff.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed Chef Lou’s Culinary Demo. I will pass this on to Chef Lou. His Culinary Demo takes place every week.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on the water and has a beautiful view. It's also close to the stores and restaurants of bar harbor. We enjoyed are stay and would stay here again. There is a walking path that is pretty and breakfast is included in the stay. It is about a 5 min drive to Acadia national park.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyperhippiechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Bar Harbor Inn located in Bar Harbor Maine sits on the edge of a beautiful and picturesque harbor. The Inn is well situated in that it is slightly off the main street so as to keep some sort of privacy but it is also very close to where all the gift shops and restaurants are (just a short driveway away).

The Inn itself has a very cool historical background with the Reading Room, which used to be a place for a men's only club, but now it is a wonderful 4-5 star restaurant. You can have breakfast or dinner here. They have an absolutely amazing array of food, their breakfast brunch is a must and their dinners offer a 4-5 course delicious (but pricey) menu. Usually there is a pianist playing during your meal which adds to the overall charm. The view from the restaurant overlooks the beautiful harbor.

There are several types of rooms in the Inn that you can choose from. The Newport Building offers the least expensive rooms, with no views of the harbor, just garden views. There is also the Oceanfront building that is all harbor views and is located in the same building where they have the free breakfast each morning, which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagels, toast, cereal, oatmeal, tea, coffee, juices, milk and more. You can enjoy your breakfast each morning while relaxing to the sounds and sights of the harbor. The Main building, which is the original building, has a gorgeous reception room where you can sit by the grand fireplace, have complimentary tea and cookies and just enjoy the ambience of this historic building. We have been going to the Bar Harbor Inn and have stayed in every type room they have to offer. Just recently we stayed in the main building in a 2 bedroom suite (room 216) that offered a gas fireplaced living room with an open up sofa and a bathroom on the first floor, and on the 2nd floor of this suite there were 2 bedrooms and a bathroom along with 2 large balconies. The view of the harbor was gracious and magnificent.

There is also a full spa on the property along with a pool and a hot tub. This is indeed a welcoming and charming hotel to visit, one where you will not only enjoy the hotel and all it has to offer, but nearby Acadia national Park will top off your Maine experience. I can't say enough about the Bar Harbor Inn and Bar Harbor, Maine.

Room Tip: Depending on your price range, I would say stay in the Oceanfront Lodge or the Main building and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2012CAB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing to be our guest at the Bar Harbor Inn. I appreciate your review and all your kind comments regarding the Reading Room Restaurant, Spa and our different rooms and buildings on the property. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn in the near future.

Sincerely,

Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently visited the New England area on vacation and Bar Harbor, ME was on our itinerary. We arrived and made reservations at the Reading Room in the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa for a celebration of my mom's
83rd birthday. Upon arrival Ethan gave us a brief history of the Inn (we were a bit early) and then lead us
to our beautiful table overlooking the harbor. The ambiane is truly old world charm - cloth tablecloths, fresh flowers and candles with an unbelieveable view. Tom was our wait person (over 20 years w/the Inn) and he
truly made the ocassion most wonderful. Impecabble service but not too hovering. He is most personable and truely an asset to the Inn's staff. Ms. Cathy Walton, Food Serv Mgr, was most gracious welcoming us
to the Inn and advising us on things to do in the area. She is most professional and has a long career with
the BHI also. Everthing about this dining experience was 5 Star - ambiance, service, food presentation,
taste and pricing. It is truly a jewel in the Bar Harbor area - thanks to each of you, Ethan, Tom and Cathy
for making my mom's birthday even more special at your Inn. Darlene - Texas traveller

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebonnet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge on the middle top floor. Did we get a good view of the bay in our room? Yes, indeed! As we entered into our room behind the bellhop, he opened the French door to the covered porch and spread out below us was a view that would captivate us for the next three days! We could have easily stayed three weeks just looking over the harbor from our porch. We cannot say enough about the friendly, helpful staff.

This place could be so contagious that we make Bar Harbor a permanent annual trek.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room in the middle portion of the Oceanfront Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gajayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Bar Harbor Inn. I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I am delighted to read that you may make Bar Harbor an annual trek. We appreciate that you mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. The Bar Harbor Inn is very fortunate to have most or our staff back year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back again as our guest.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Inn is on the ocean and right across the way to the center of town. Right on the bay, beautiful views, lovely walk way along the water and complimentary breakfast is unbelievable. Worth every penny. No need for a room with a ocean view, the ocean is right there. Trips to Acadia park are made morning and afternoon by trolly or bus. Restaurants are plentiful. We will go again and stay right there. Beautiful vacation. This Inn is definitely the best!

Room Tip: A/C and fan were noisy but in June it did not really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty-Ann9992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. I would also like to thank you for your very kind review. I have passed your review on to our staff and we truly appreciate your feedback. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn as our returning guest.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about the Bar Harbor Inn. Our room in The Main Inn was just lovely and the staff could not have been more helpful. We purchased the package which included breakfast both days and dinner one night. This was our first experience with Eggs Benedict with Lobster, Wow, that was the best. We also did the Maine Lobster Bake, which was great, followed by an amazing Blueberry Pie with Ice Cream.

Unfortunately, on Saturday morning the weather outside was very stormy. On the plus side, we were fortunate to be guests at the Inn, in that we sat in front of the fireplace in the Main Inn reading our books while wonderful gentleman checked on us every 15 minutes being sure to add logs to the fireplace.

Originally we had planned on staying at another highly rated Inn, further out of town, and our Sons suggested the Bar Harbor Inn, saying due to the location and all of the amenities, it was a better choice. They were right!!

Room Tip: We stayed at The Main Inn, first floor, overlooking the garden. Since my spouse has back problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest at the Bar Harbor Inn. I am very pleased to hear that you had so many positive things to say about the Inn. You made a great choice on choosing one of our meal packages for your stay. It is very satisfying for our staff to hear how much you enjoyed your meals and your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $123 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing