We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place but Horrendous Parking problem”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place but Horrendous Parking problem”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We always enjoy the Inn, great people and service. Last visit however was marred by the fact that there was no parking close to our room. My wife has a bad leg and walks with a cane and we had to park up on a hill and walk to and from our car. I know that all of the cars could not be guests since there were more cars than rooms. The Inn needs to regulate parking so this doesn't happen to more guests. Otherwise the place is great.

Room Tip: book early and get one of their specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    391
    94
    48
    13
See reviews for
385
869
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

In Bar Harbor for a feww days in October. Nice city. Go to Acadia park, interesting hicking trails.
Stayed at Bar Harbor Inn, second floor unit, nice, clean. Excellent continental breakfast. Near port, walking distance to village and on the ocean. Great place

Tres belle place pour une escapade de qques jours

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

we were greeted in the lobby at check in with cookies and warm apple cider yum. the hotel room was beautiful with a great view. the walk to shops and restaurants/bars was easy just across the parking lot. great hotel, great location

Room Tip: ask for a ocean view second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghrdhdirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed 2 nights at this inn and I would go back again. My room does not face the ocean. It faces the front entrance area. It was quiet and I slept well, which was very important to me. I loved the convenient location in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We first visited the Bar Harbor Inn in 1984 and have returned at least 15 times, staying mostly in the oceanfront lodge since it was built. We have travelled a good bit, and this continues to be our favorite spot in the world. The property is ideally located on the harbor, with wonderful views, but at the same time it is within easy walking distance to restaurants and stores in town, and a short drive to the national park.

We love sitting on our balcony in the afternoon (after a hike in the morning), eating lunch, reading, listening to the waves and the sounds of harbor activities. We love the cookies in the afternoon and the coffee and tea all day long. We love going out the door and being on the shore path. We love having all sorts of breakfast offerings, with plenty of fresh fruit right downstairs. We love the comfortable beds, the ceiling fans, and going to sleep to the sounds of waves at night. This year was a special treat because a hurricane that was going by out to sea generated huge waves that crashed against the seawall (and actually made the sound of thunder at thunder hole along Ocean Drive).

We love the Bar Harbor Inn and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We always stay on the second floor of the lodge, in a room with a king bed and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teampamandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed in the oceanfront lodge in a corner room closest to the ocean on the first floor. The first floor is near a shore path, so you will hear people walking by at all hours. We like to keep our windows open at night to listen to the ocean but could not do this on the first floor and felt we had to keep our curtains drawn for privacy. Definitely book a second or third floor room for more privacy. The staff is friendly, tea time with fresh baked cookies are a great touch, rooms were clean. Great location in Bar Harbor, walk to everything. Cruise ships do come in at this port every day but we did not find this to be a problem. A bit pricey, but the oceanfront lodge has a great view.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura021287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We recently vacationed in Bar Harbor, ME and stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn. This was our third trip to Bar Harbor but our first staying at the Bar Harbor Inn. We wanted to take a moment to recognize and thank the Bar Harbor Inn and their staff for helping to make our vacation a most memorable one.
From the moment of our arrival, we were greeted and treated with a rare blend of courtesy, professionalism and warm friendliness that we have come to know and love about Bar Harbor. In our opinion, the Bar Harbor Inn is beautifully maintained; offers breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay and is conveniently located to downtown Bar Harbor. The grounds at the Inn were immaculately kept; our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable; and everyone we dealt with at the Inn could not have been more hospitable. We would highly recommend the Bar Harbor Inn to anyone considering a stay in Bar Harbor. Again, our personal thanks and compliments to everyone at the Bar Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing