We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

After reading all the trip advisor reviews on the Acadia Inn, given that most were favorable, and the price per room was within our budget, we made our reservations there. Our experience was that the rooms were more than adequate (cleanliness and comfortable) and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. In particular, the hotel manager Betheny Reese was of tremendous aid to us and effectively helped us plan the three short days of our stay. From suggestions on appropriate things to do with young children, as well as for kid friendly restaurants, Bethany went above and beyond to answer our questions and to get answers where necessary. Though the Inn has no concierge service, Bethany played the part and helped us book some local site seeing tours. In sum, she was absolutely wonderful and made the difference between making ours a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    243
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
222
236
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willis, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We just returned from our Maine vacation and the Acadia Inn was a wonderful surprise. The Inn has a very country admosphere, the rooms where large, the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was located near the front entrance and still was very quite. We never heard people coming or going. The continental breakfast was more then expected. The Inn is located on the free shuttle service in Bar Harbor which was very convenient. We used the shuttle several times. This Inn is not a luxery hotel, but if you want a home away from home , this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giddyupgo1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Acadia Inn in Bar Harbor for one week in August 2010 with our two children: a school age child and an infant. We arrived at the hotel late after another booking fell through, not having heard of Acadia Inn before. This turned out to be a wonderful find for us. Not only was the staff immensely helpful, including manager Bethany and her front desk staff to Janet and the rest of the housekeeping staff , but the hotel is clean, ideally situated (we took walks with our baby across the street at College of the Atlantic as well as in Bar Harbor waterfront which is just two minutes away by car), and comes with a heated pool in the back and a playground for those times in between sightseeing trips. It is minutes to a grocery store and pharmacy downtown. . The breakfast at the hotel was great- organic granola, juice, eggs, french toast, a selection of bagels and muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, and fresh fruit (bananas and apples). We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat523059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Acadian Inn is a good, clean, friendly hotel. The rooms are are large and well cared for. We had a flat screen TV in our room as well. The breakfast buffet is the usual cereals, bagels, and fruit. Plenty of choices. I would consider this a classic, non-chain resort hotel. It is not a Courtyard or Hilton Garden, but it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanyonManAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at Acadia Inn for 4 nights on a trip to Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park. Room was clean & service was great. Hotel was completely booked most of the time & everything ran smoothly, we have no complaints at all. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Continental breakfast was good. We asked one evening for a restaurant recommendation and it was a wonderful place. Hotel is located right between Bar Harbor & Acadia National Park, very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snugbun62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

In a market where room prices run high (in my opinon), The Acadia Inn delivered everything we expected. Our comments: A clean large room with comfortable bed; quiet (but could hear people moving about in the room above us); clean large bathroom; refrigerator (but no freezer section); wide screen TV (but not HD); good air conditioning unit, plenty of parking, decent outdoor pool and spa (spa out of order during our visit), close to National Park entrance, free shuttle bus to town, fine (free) continental breakfast. Not a destination resort, but a reliable, clean hotel that we could recommend to family and freinds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun_ski_fanBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We were please with ou stay at the Acadia Inn. The rooms were clean and spacious, staff very very helpful. This hotel offered a comfortable stay without any frills, but yet you aren't paying for those frills either. Location is a little pursue of downtown but we never encountered a parking problem. Would stay here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovlifetrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing