We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
haddon twp
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family and I were recently in Bar Harbor for just 1 night. We stopped at several hotels which I will comment on as well as they were pretty bad. My advice is to always check the room before actually checking in. This was probably the 4th or 5th hotel we stopped at. The 2 young ladies at the desk greeted us with smiles and were very friendly, helpful and informative. The rate was almost $200 but that was pretty much the same for all the places we stopped at. The room was very clean and comfortable. Had a nice flat screen tv, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was good. The pool and hot tub looked nice but as I said we were only there for 1 night so we were not able to use it, but definitely would have if we stayed longer. There is a complimentary bus that the front desk agents told us about. You could go to either Acadia National Park or to downtown Bar Harbor. We chose the Bar Harbor area as it was a beautiful morning for a walk around town. The only downfall would be the complimentary breakfast. Selections not so great, seating capacity poor considering size of hotel. But the main thing would be that most items that are put out need to be toasted i.e. french toast, bagels, bread, english muffins, waffles and they only had 1 toaster out. But overall would definitely recommend and would stay again if we were up that way.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5travelingfoolsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    221
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
210
213
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The staff at the Acadia Inn were wonderful! They were very accommodating and extremely pleasant. The beds on the other hand were very hard and uncomfortable. My boyfriend tossed and turned all night trying to find a "comfortable" spot so he could relax and I woke up each morning with a backache. I figured I could just push through the day with the pain and try to have a fresh start. However, that could not be the case. Not only because of the beds but also because our room was located next to the back entrance/exit to the pool area. The door was slamming shut throughout the night and kept making me jump out of my sleep. The insulation in the rooms were terrible and I could not get past the terrifying slamming of the door. While I was up getting dressed, other people were entering and exiting out of their rooms but the sound seemed as though they were trying to get into our room. A relaxing vacation was interrupted throughout the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was about the fifth time that we've stayed at the Acadia Inn and we've never been disappointed. The rooms are spacious and clean,a decent continental breakfast is included, and the staff is helpful and friendly. There is also ample parking on the premises. The location is ideal - close to both an entrance to Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Comfortable room, reasonably priced, just outside downtown Bar Harbor. There is a shuttle to the town Center. Continental breakfast was the a perfect to start the day prior to hiking Acadia national Park which was just a few minutes away from the hotel.
The heated pool and Jacuzzi were perfect after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationproNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is our second stay at Acadia Inn and we were not disappointed. Rooms and beds are a good size and are clean. Package deals are excellent. Staff was friendly. Location was perfect for us. Shuttle service was convenient. Internet was reliable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor. Glad we booked at the Acadia Inn. This was a family trip and the Inn is perfect for a family stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff--every one of them--was so friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast can get a little jammed up if everyone arrives at once (the seating area is small) but its OK. Convenient free buses take you anywhere you would want to go locally. The Monday and Wednesday night "s'mores by the fire pit" was a ice touch, too. Would definitely stay there again. Good pricing, too.

Room Tip: Booked thru hotels.com which seemed to have the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nice hotel, good location, very friendly stuff and reasonably priced. I came with my husband and 3 year old son and without a car. The shuttle service to Bar Harbor picks in front of the hotel so the commute was easy. Nice pool and small play area for kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkl1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing