We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break Get Away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spring Break Get Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just got back from a lovely little family get away in the Bar Harbor area and had a chance to stay at the Acadia Inn. I initially chose the Inn because of its trip advisor comments and the fact that it has an access path to Acadia National Park where we had planned to go hiking daily. Upon entering the Inn the staff was very pleasant and welcomed us. The first impression was that the Inn was well cared for. It may seem a bit old fashioned to some but to us it felt homey and I felt it was decorated nicely. Our room was very comfortable and you could tell it had been freshly painted. It was very lovely and the queen beds were very comfortable. There were cable tv with HBO which worked great, a fridge, safe, nice bathroom with toiletries, etc. Everything sparkled. Each morning they had what I would call an expanded continental breakfast. They served various muffins and bagels, apples, bananas, mixed fruit, flavored oatmeals, 2 flavors of yogurt with granola to put on top, hard boiled eggs, french toast, waffles, cereals, coffee, herbal and regular tea, 3 different juices, water, etc. Along with this there were various spreads for your bagels and muffins. In the evening they had soup (I did not try this however), cheese and crackers, and cookies for their guests. I had a problem with my safe and they very quickly and happily fixed that right away. It just needed new batteries after overwintering. They gave us wonderful recommendations for local restaurants and good directions to where we needed to go. One morning I woke up extra early and saw 8 deer come out of the woods to feed on their lawn which our room faced. They have an outdoor pool which is still closed for the season and a swing set for the youngsters which I saw being used. They also had a list of family games you could ask for if the kids get bored. All in all we had a great time and I totally recommend this Inn to stay at. If your looking for glamour and a spa go elsewhere. But if your looking for a friendly staff and a homey feeling this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bkonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Acadia Inn! Your review paints the picture perfectly of what we teach our staff about our property. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    236
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
213
228
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had not been to Bar Harbor with my partner since 1987, what a great find! The front desk staff was ready for our arrival, the desk clerk was so lovely and gracious. The location is was easy to find.This location is perfectly located, impeccable, and very friendly!
Fantastic, planning another trip in four months!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank breno15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your comments are what myself and my staff strive for everyday! I can assure you that I have shared your review with all my staff as a learning tool to keep up the excellent work! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed there for just 3 nights, but even that was too much!
The rooms are big, but did not feel clean. Breakfast was a disappointment. We ended up at a café for a better start to each day. They have a swimming pool – but we did not go- we did not feel like hanging around much…The hotel is situated in a good location, on the road leading to Bar Harbor.
Looks good on paper, but very disappointing in reality- Next time we visit Acadia we will definitely look for other accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. We use comments on TripAdvisor to help us increase and maintain guest expectations. I am sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience in your room accommodations. We frequently hear how clean and comfortable our rooms are. I wish you had not waited to express your concerns, so that we could have taken corrective actions during your stay. During the past two years we have upgraded all our bedding and renovated our bathrooms entirely. Our breakfast is typically a continental without any hot items and we do advertise it as just that, unfortunately due to our location and town ordinances we are not permitted to have a full restaurant and kitchen, I am glad that you were able to find a local cafe that could meet your breakfast needs. I can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to all management levels of the hotel and only wish that you had spoken with the Front Desk and/or management upon departure about your concerns, so that we could evaluate them to better serve future travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The inn is in a great location right between the Park and downtown. It was nice and warm inside and the staff was very accommodating. They serve coffee and tea all day and keep apples in the lobby. They even have a mini gift shop. The rooms were compfy and had everything one could need. Can't say I had anything to complain about at all!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank taace1i1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Acadia Inn is a very easy drive to the downtown/harbor area of Bar Harbor. It was very clean and had some extras such as cookies and cider available in the lobby. The desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Easy drive to harbor area and to Acadia National Park. Good continental breakfast. Pretty reasonabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank van3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although it is not, it feels like a national chain in its decor. I was there on the last day of operation for the season. They had free hot soup, crackers, cookies, fruit available in the evening. coffee & tea available all the of the time. The breakfast was standard fair, with ample chooses. The location is very near the park entrance, and the off season rate was a deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliff28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our children gave us a trip of our choice for our 50th Anniversary. We chose Acadia Inn in Bar Harbor, We had a great time and enjoyed staying at the Acadia Inn. We would definitely recommend it. The staff was very gracious and helpful. We had a 3 night package and would do it again. Dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn was part of our package and I must say the food and atmosphere was wonderful. The Inn was nice, the room clean and the staff so nice. If given the chance we will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing