We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First trip to Bar Harbor. It was beautiful, hotel was disappointing . Not many pros , but here they are: good location , decent continental breakfast.. Cons: rooms need a lot of updating, very thin sheets, and frayed towels, holes in room ceiling and wall, rude housekeeper, very thin walls, cleanliness not great but okay enough to stay,"snowy" television. Will go back to Bar Harbor, but will not stay here or recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. We use comments on TripAdvisor to help us increase and maintain guest expectations. I am happy that you found our location and continental breakfast to meet your needs while staying with us. I am sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience in your room. During the past two years we have upgraded all our bedding and renovated our bathrooms entirely. I am unaware of any room in the hotel with holes in the wall and ceiling and invite you to contact me personally so we may determine the room and the exact issue that you are mentioning. I can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to all management levels of the hotel and only wish that you had spoken with the Front Desk and/or management upon departure about your concerns, so that we could evaluate them to better serve future travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 660 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October. Room was very nice... clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom. Staff was friendly. The hotel was nicely appointed, and had complimentary cheese, crackers, cookies, and hot apple cider in the lobby/breakfast area during the day. Breakfast was decent, with french toast, waffles, cereal, instant oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, fruit salad, bananas, bagels, yogurt, english muffins and regular muffins every day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

it was sort of a little better than a shot in the dark.
We (20 Harley riders), arrived in the early evening hours. The front desk people were nice, and dispatched us with out any problems, There was only a coffee set up at that hour, but they were helpful in giving us directions to many of the local eateries.
Several of our party took advantage of the pool,, (they reported it was a "little cool" (not certain if it was supposed to be heated).

i didn't feel unwelcome (you know how some see bikers), my only real concern before hand was having to pay full when i made the reservations (in April/May), which didn't include taxes, (so i guess it really wasn't "in full").

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for our 25th anniversary. It is a very nice hotel; clean, modern, and the beds are very comfortable. We chose a package; dinner and a schooner trip. It turned out to be a very good value. The dinner alone (which was included) was over $110.00 for the two of us.
The hotel is located about 1 mile from town and just a few minutes from Acadia National Park. There is a shuttle that runs all day if you don't want to drive.
Hotel staff is very helpful, they had several suggestions for things to do on a rainy day, as well as great restaurant suggestions (Galyns Restaurant-great setting, friendly staff, and food was wonderful).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OccasionalTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Location of the Inn was convenient. Rooms were clean and staff very friendly. Jack Russels restaurant right next door was very good. Would definitely stay here again. Pool was clean but not very warm. Don't know if it was advertised as heated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCofresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Our room was at the back of the building, with it being too cool for the pool we found it to be like a slice of Heavan...super quiet. We slept with the windows open and had zero noise issues. Friendly helpful staff. The shuttle is amazing. It was a nice break to be less than ten minutes away from downtown yet still away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisandClark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The price I paid was $180/ night for a King bed. Decent location, room we got was a bit small, the TV had snow but I did not care. I don't like sounds when I sleep so the sound of the window AC did not help. Complementary Breakfast was gpod enough. The hotel is a couple of miles from downtown which is nice, but not much of a fancy place..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vgopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $261 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing