We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bus tours only”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
boone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bus tours only”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Noisy could hear every step in room above ours, toilet flushing, shower running, what motel doesn't sound proof floors? Towels still need to be replaced worn and corse. Conteniental breakfast doesn't make up as you have to fight the bus tour crowds. If you insist on staying get a third floor room and bring your own towels. Not worth $150. Room rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    239
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
219
232
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinoi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

On the plus side, this is a busy hotel that is well positioned for vacationers staying around Bar Harbor and fairly close to the main visitor entrance of the Acadia National Park. It is on the free Bar Harbor shuttle route as well. Our family appreciated the breakfast buffet being well stocked throughout the morning being slightly later risers than some!

Some negatives included some wear and tear items that really showed including: stains on hallway carpets, cracked and broken tiles and mildew stains in the bathroom of our room, woodwork in need of repair and painting around the entrances to the hotel. I was a bit put off by the lack of security around the back entrance to the hotel where our room was. Anybody could have easily accessed the hotel hallways without much notice. The pool area was not as clean as I would like to see and needed a little more attention than it got, but was nice to have as an amenity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
First I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Not only is Tripadvisor a great tool for travelers, but we use Tripadvisor to help aid in our upgrades and service to guests.

I am happy to be able to share with you that this winter we have address many of the concerns that you mention in your review. For the 2012 season all 95 bathrooms at the Acadia Inn have undergone a huge renovation! Our new bathrooms are looking absolutely gorgeous. We have also installed a completely new pool fence around our pool area for the upcoming season.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I hope that with our recent attention to upgrading the hotel that you might give us a try on your next trip to Bar Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Rooms were clean and quiet
Staff was friendly
Breakfast was good
Laundry room was easy to get to
Would difinately stay at again
My only complaint: I couldn't get wifi in my room. I guess because we were at the end of a hall. But everything else being perfect made up for it. Thanks Acadia Inn for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazypinklizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed on the 3rd floor for 2 nites, originally planned 3. The staff could not have been nicer and it is a good location--quick ride to the village and the the national park. The hotel needed some replacement carpet, it was worn, particularly in spots. Room was clean --we chose non-smoking as I am very sensitive to any smoke residue and the halls wreaked of cigarette smoke. They were very gracious and offered to move us to another floor, but imho, they should consider redoing and making it a non-smoking property. The odor of smoke lingers in carpets and curtains and you never get rid of the smell. We took the package which included dinner in the Reading Room at the Bar Harbor Hotel and the cruise on the Margaret Todd. Dinner was wonderful and we were so glad we had selected the option. Cruise was fun--bring your own beverage if u would like one, they offer nothing but the cruise. It was a beautiful night and we enjoyed it--very pleasant and not too long. Hotel breakfast was fine for continental--nothing special but I just wanted a bowl of shredded wheat and fruit--they had a selection of other items you could heat. Very nice people, but we suggest improvements noted above.

Room Tip: We did not have an issue with road noise on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The room smelled. The bathroom was dirty. Broken tiles in bath. Location on busy street. Woke up to sound of trucks on road. View again the road and parking lot. Way overpriced. Not worth the price we paid. I agree with previous post about towels they were bad. Overall I can not find much good to say. Staff was fine no complaints there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiesm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed days before Hurricane Irene. The Acadia Inn is a good value, kid friendly, quiet, and clean hotel. They offer an average continental breakfast in the lobby and you get coffee, tea, or water all day long. It is right on the main drag heading into Bar Harbor and very close to Acadia National Park entrances. The staff was very friendly and prompt. We did the Acadia Escape package which included 2 nights stay, and dinner for two at the Bar Harbor Inn, as well as tickets for 2 on the Margaret Todd schooner in the harbor. It was great. The Acadia Inn is somewhat outdated--furnishings, wallpaper, and bathrooms. Everything is VERY clean. My only suggestion to the hotel is that the rooms could do with a "fresh look"--new carpet, furnishings in the rooms, and updated bathrooms, but overall a great stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochestersara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Pros: great location, decent value, pool for kids, friendly staff, good size rooms.
Cons: room was musty smelling, towels were horrible- need to be replaced.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing