We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“An Easy Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An Easy Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent 5 nights here, yes the hotel is a 'motel' but the rooms despite being a bit 'dark' serve as a decent base from which to explore the area, the staff are pretty friendly and there are enough services at the Best Western to get you on the road. We used the free bus shuttle that passes the front door to get down town which was good, but full of a few local 'Yobbo's' after 9pm when you get the return bus so watch out for that. We hugely enjoyed the town and Acadia National Park even in mixed weather, Cadillac Mountain is spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowneyBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you very much for spending five nights with us! Our property is indeed all on one level and you enter from the parking lot. (No hauling luggage down hallways and up elevators here.) We have five separate guest buildings and the new continental breakfast house which is centrally located and seats 71 people! I am pleased that even though the weather was not great every day that you found Acadia National Park interesting , beautiful and experienced the Maine coast in all of her glory! The free shuttle (The Island Explorer) is a most convenient way to get around without looking for parking spaces. I guess it must be a great way for visitors and locals to indulge in their favorite watering holes as well and not worry about driving back to their hotel! Again, I thank you for this review and staying with us while in Bar Harbor! Best wishes, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    332
    76
    15
    10
See reviews for
419
508
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff at this Best Western were extremely courteous and helpful in our travels. Our rooms were very clean and well kept. There was very little to no noise or traffic. The location is close enough to activities in the area, but far away enough to be quiet and relaxing. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 81donnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear 82donnaj
I am so happy that you enjoyed so stay with us so much. It makes it all worthwhile! I think you have said it all in just a couple of sentences and I can’t thank you enough! Please do come again! Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned to this Best Western a little under a year after my first visit and I have to say that the experience lived up to and even exceeded the first time. The room was modern, exceptionally clean and comfortable (even with a 3rd person this time). The addition of the new breakfast area in a much larger space was a pleasant and welcome surprise and as noted by other reviewers has a large and varied selection of items to please just about anyone. I really like the location as it's not right in the midst of the busy downtown area but not so far away as to make a trip in for shopping or dining or sightseeing too long or difficult. The entrance to Acadia is just down the road which makes it convenient for trips there as well. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful and really make the whole experience from check in to check out and every interaction in between extraordinarily positive. If you are headed to Bar Harbor this is the place to be! You can't beat it for value, convenience and service. I have and will continue to recommend this to anyone who is looking to visit this area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Maura G
To have exceeded your expectations the second time around is awesome! The new breakfast house is such a surprise and delight to repeat guests such as you, that we always enjoy seeing the look on their faces as they enter and of course, hearing and reading their reviews! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoy our location and appreciate the serenity it offers. Thank you very much for your review and awesome recommendation to other potential guests. Please stay with us again and make it a tradition!! Best wishes, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised of the comfort, friendly staff and perfect location of this Best Western. We also checked trip advisor and found this special place. The room was larger than average, plenty of space and private space as needed. Excellent choice. The breakfast was the best ever we experienced at a hotel which offers breakfast included. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Karen K
I am always delighted to hear a guest remark that they were “pleasantly surprised” with the comfort and location of the BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn. I am so happy that you enjoyed the breakfast that is included with the price of your room. Thank you so much for this great review! Please stay with us again when in the Bar Harbor area. My best, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA-USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Where do I start? Pleasant, helpful staff at the front desk and beyond. Close proximity to both Acadia National Park(8 mins) and Bar Harbor(15 mins). Nice, clean rooms where everything works just fine. Heated swimming pool for that afternoon break. And lets not forget the hot and cold breakfast buffet(included). Close proximity to several decent restaurants and attractions outside Bar Harbor.
Unless you are looking for The Plaza, or some other luxury hotel, I would suggest you stay here with your family and enjoy the comforts and reasonable price of this BEST WESTERN!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martingiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Martingiles
Thank you very much for this awesome review! I like the play on words with the "BEST Western". Thanks!! I am so happy that you found the staff helpful and friendly, enjoyed the breakfast and had a chance to take a dip in our pristine heated pool. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Bar Harbor, Maine! My best to you, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel was conveniently located to Acadia National Park. The staff was courteous and helpful. The complimentary breakfast included a plethora of choices both hot & cold and homemade. The room was clean including a sanitized TV remote control! Bed pillows were plentiful. Water pressure in the shower was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you Beverly B for such a nice review. We do appreciate the time taken to leave one. It is music to our ears to hear such nice compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This quiet Best Western looks like a 50s motor court when you drive up, but appearances are deceiving. The rooms and bathrooms are completely remodeled to high standards. Our room included a fridge, a microwave, and a safe. The bed was very comfortable, the shower had great pressure, and the facility, maybe five miles outside of Bar Harbor, was quiet. We were about two miles from the entrance to Acadia National Park which was convenient for the purpose of our trip, yet we also found it an easy distance to the excellent restaurants in Bar Harbor. A full breakfast in a well maintained dining room is included with the cost of the room, which is quite reasonable for Bar Harbor. All in all, a perfect place to stay while exploring this wonderful national park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Joanne M
How nice of you to say that we are in a great location ,"Just far enough away but close enough to" is how we also feel about our serene setting here nestled among the floral and fauna and the Maine woods. We have remodeled all of our rooms to a great extent with more in the plans for this winters renovations . Thank you for such nice compliments. I do hope you are able to return next season again and spend some time with us. Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Address: 452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Acadia Park Hotel Bar Harbor
Best Western Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Best Western
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing