We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
north andover
Level Contributor
79 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable with cable tv, frig.,and safe. I enjoyed the comp. coffee that is available all day in the lobby and cookies at 3:00PM. Internet is also there for your use. The breakfast buffet is great and well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a lovely review for us here at the BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you are able to stay with us again. Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    351
    81
    16
    10
See reviews for
435
531
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Acadia Park was on my 85 year-old Mom's bucket list. Reservations were made and the government shut-down subsequently closed the park before our arrival. Long story short - we went anyway - not expecting much. This very reasonably priced hotel was unequivocally the best I have ever experienced. Every staff member we encountered bent over backwards to insure we knew how to see the park from afar since my Mom could not walk in. The front desk staff, an amazing breakfast lady, and a super sweet cleaning person made this visit the best! Their recommendations for dining and other activities in the area saved the day. The room was immaculate and the cleaning person checked in with us several times to make sure we had everything we needed. Everyone was just so darn nice, it could not have been better! The front desk staff made arrangements for us to stay close to the airport in Boston on the first floor because of my Mom's mobility issues. This was a really professional team. They stepped up to the challenge of disappointed guests and turned it around. Can we get them to run for congress?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It was certainly a pleasure to assist you and your mother with your sightseeing plans and all aspects of your stay (and even your next stay in Boston!). I believe visiting Acadia National Park is a great item to have on one’s bucket list. I am very happy that your Mom can scratch that one off and enjoyed it even though it was during the government shutdown. I do not believe that anyone here will be running for Congress, although it might not hurt! (Smile). We so appreciate your wonderful review and compliments! Please stay with us again. Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 5 nights during the Government shut down! Almost cancelled because our primary reason to visit the area was to hike in Acadia National Park. We read online that there was plenty of things to do in the area despite the shut down so we decided to go anyway. The first morning we were there we found out (in the breakfast room) that we could hike or ride bikes in the park but just could not drive in so we were very excited about that news. We had to park along the roads and walk in.

The hotel is located about 1 mile from the Hull Cove park entrance so very convenient. However, it is about 4-5 miles from the town of Bar Harbor. Not really a problem though because parking in town was not a problem and if you visit before Columbus Day weekend there is a shuttle you can take from the hotel into town (the shuttle stops after that).

Carol in the breakfast room is amazing. She will get you started with ideas for your day. There is a very nice grocery store in town on Cottage Street so we stocked up on water and some sandwich supplies for our hikes along with a good map of the Mount Desert Island & Acadia National Park hiking trails & carriage roads by Map Parkman(well worth the $6).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMiami_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so happy that you decided to come to Bar Harbor in spite of the government shutdown. Five nights with us is awesome. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn as your lodging choice. Carole in breakfast and the front desk staff were able to help most guests access the park for biking and hiking. They all have terrific knowledge of the area and they are always happy to pass it along to our guests. Thank you and please come back and see us again. Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel staff and environment overall were outstanding. The front desk staff were extremely patient, friendly and very informative about the area from restaurants the locals love to the best routes for getting around and places to avoid. We could not have been luckier to have them!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank cml347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and the play on words! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and we do hope you will return again next year. I am very happy that you enjoyed yourselves! Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We came during the government shut down! The front desk and breakfast room staff were so helpful with directions on how to get to hiking trails in Acadia National Park during this time! The rooms were clean! The hotel was well situated. We liked being outside of the busy part of Bar Harbor!!!! It was quiet and relaxing at the end of the day! Especially with the fresh coffee and cookies in the lobby each afternoon! The cookies were the best ever!!! I wish they could send me a dozen of the chocolate chip each month!!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneK473, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
I sure wish there was a way to ship some cookies to you and still have them fresh baked! Thank you for the wonderful compliments concerning your stay. It is just awesome to hear such a great review. Our fresh baked cookies along with our serene setting makes for a lovely relaxing afternoon! We hope to see you again in 2014. Warm regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decize, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent location for touring the park, and Bar Harbor. We spent four days and although the interior of the park was closed because of the govt. shutdown, there was plenty to see and do, in and around. A friendly staff was very helpful with good instructions on what to see and how to get there. And where to eat. This is lobster territory and there was an abundance of choice. Bar Harbor is a jewel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnB1579898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneK473, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
I certainly want to thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn as your choice for lodging while in Bar Harbor. I am pleased that the front desk staff was able to assist you in ways to still enjoy the park regardless of the government shutdown. Those that chose to keep their reservations valid and brave the trip did not seem to be unhappy with that choice. Bar Harbor, as a whole ,chose not to let her visitors go without great directions and many choices. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again. Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this Best Western in Bar Harbor in August 2013. It was a great value. The room was clean and comfortable size and the staff were very nice. I was traveling with my husband and 2 year old son. The beds were very comfortable. Its a little drive down to town or to the park but worth the money you save, although it is difficult to find parking in town. The rooms are set up to all open to the outside, where your car is parked right outside your room. The breakfast was very good and had alot of options, eggs, waffles, cereals. They did have a high chair avaliable most of the time. the pool was clean and heated the air temp was quite cold for August but it is Maine. If you are looking for a clean comfortable place to stay at a good price this is the place. If you are looking for more luxurious accomodations this may not work for you.

The only negative experiance we had with our stay was the first night a scam artist called the room at 1AM saying they were the front desk and needed to verify our credit card information. We notified the front desk the next morning and they said it should not have gone through to the room if the scam artist talked to the operator, but probably they dialed any extension to try to get someone. That was a hiccup and didnt happen again while we were there thank goodness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewleyWed61210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneK473, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I would like to apologize for the phone call issue. We have since, changed our protocol in dealing with outside calls. Happily, we have had no more issues, either. We look forward to having you and your family return for another visit and we will be sure to have a high chair available for you all of the time. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Warm wishes, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Address: 452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is located back enough from Rt#3 to avoid traffic noise. We have a playground for small children, Bocce for all ages, a S'Mores fire pit with attendant on site evenings. We have park style Bar-B Que s and picnic tables. Lots of green areas for relaxing. We have a badminton area and lawn toys. We offer inside movies on rainy days or nights for the kids with some classics for the older folks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Acadia Park Hotel Bar Harbor
Best Western Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Best Western
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing