We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable but dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found the room to be clean, comfortable and well-equipped. It's a shame that the style of our room felt a bit tired - striped wallpaper which didn't co-ordinate with the curtains or the duvet cover, and that the towels were a little thin, as the welcome was warm and the location quiet and picturesque.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5stargirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy that you got to enjoy Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor for four days. We are grateful you chose to stay with us when you had many motels to choose from. I am sorry that you found the furnishings in your particular room to be outdated. It is my great pleasure to say we are constantly in a renovating process and this winter is no exception. Many rooms will get a new look and new amenities will be put in place. I sure hope you will return and give us another chance to give you exceptional customer service and an awesome vacation experience. Thank you. Jane Koehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    302
    71
    15
    7
See reviews for
377
472
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenelg, Maryland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel - since our first visit in 2007 the hotel is under new management and they've remodeled all the rooms and the lobby and we were pleased to see the improvements. The price went up quite a bit from our last stay and they no longer allow pets. Our room was spacious and included a flat screen TV with HBO, good wi-fi, duvet covers, coffeemaker, MW, fridge, and a safe. There's a hairdryer and iron and ironing board next to the sink. The sink area was outside the tub/toilet area, but a bit small - more countertop space would be appreciated. Nice selection of toiletries - shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bath gel, oatmeal soap. Parking was right outside your door and there were plenty of spaces. Front desk staff were helpful and efficient. Coffee is always available in the lobby - regular, decaf, hazelnut, pumpkin spice, and blueberry cobbler (obviously seasonal flavors). Freshly baked cookies are available in the evening. USA Today copies available in the lobby. Breakfast is included, served in a separate building from 6:30 - 10:00 am. There are lots of tables there but it fills up fast so it's best to arrive early. Plenty to choose from here - three types of omelettes, sausages, pastries, cereals, breads, yogurt, fruits, juices. The friendly lady who runs the breakfast room does a really nice job keeping up with the crowd. Keep in mind that it is located outside of Bar Harbor, which I find to be a good thing as Bar Harbor is quite congested. It's a 4 or 5 mile drive to Acadia National Park. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but it seemed overpriced for a standard motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice clean hotel. Good breakfast, but if you see a coach tour, make sure you go for breakfast after or before the travelers, as the room can't really accommodate that many people. Pool nice and warm. We were told that there was 3 restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. We tried to walk but came back for the car. The distance is quite walkable, however, not sure how safe it is to walk on the side of a main highway, with no pavements and on the way back, in complete darkness. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szwalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late and got a real nice welcome, appreciated that at the end of the day. Breakfast is ok, cereals, muffins, eggs, etc. was nice that they were making fresh blueberry pancakes even if they are a little small. This place was about 10 minutes from town by car so if you are looking to walk from your hotel, find some place closer. It was convenient to get to Acadia National Park as the main entrance is only about 5 minutes away by car. The pool was still open and they said it was 85 but it was to cold to find out.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights on Columbus Day holiday weekend with my husband. First the things I didn't like! This is really a motel, something I hadn't necessarily realized when I was making the booking. That is, you drive right up to your room and park outside your room door. Now this is not a problem as such but it can make your stay a little noisier than might otherwise be the case. You have other guests coming and going right outside your door, car doors slamming etc etc Not the end of the world but a little annoying. Also, there's no restaurant in the hotel, only a breakfast room where the complimentary continental breakfast is served. This was a little inconvenient for the one night during our stay where we wanted to just eat in and relax. Again though, if I'd checked the hotel website more closely when I was making the reservation, I would have realized this was the case. The location is also not wonderful. The hotel is on Route 3 about a 10 minute drive from Bar Harbor. So, this is not a place you can stroll around the village from. You'll need your car if you're staying here to do anything.
The pros: spacious, clean room with a very comfy bed. Friendly and very helpful staff. A nice breakfast with lots to choose from every morning from juices, coffee, breads, muffins, bagels, cereals and fruit to yoghurt, sausages and eggs. Also free cookies at reception are a nice little touch. All in all, this place is perfectly comfortable, pleasant and reasonably priced but lacks the charm and luxury you might get if you stayed in one of the lovely old inns in the village.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here Columbus Day weekend and had a blast. I went on a nice 3.1 mile run down shore path for am exercise, the kids went in the heated to 85 degrees pool, even when it was only 65 degrees outside. The huge full free breakfast was a great way to start each day (eggs, sausage, french toast, bagels, cereal, bananas, apples, etc). The free cookies and hot coco and coffee were a great way to end each day. The location was close for driving to Acadia (1 mile?) or Bar Harbor (5 miles?). There is a cute mini golf land (Pirates?) within walking distance of hotel for pm activity. There are a few resturants with in walking distance for dinner too. The rooms have been remodled and look new. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and new too. I would definately stay here again for all the freebies and location!! Great deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmomkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. About 8 min drive into town. Breakfast was included and was just ok. Close to Acadia national Park. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoPackers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are very happy that you found our rooms clean and quiet and our staff friendly! It is just a short jaunt to Bar Harbor proper and the ride is certainly lovely. Our free deluxe continental breakfast features a hot meat (either sausage or bacon) and two hot egg items as well as hard boiled eggs, yogurt,muffins,Danish,cereals,juices,fruits (both fresh and mixed tropical)a variety of toasts, Engliush muffins, waffles, french toast, and bagels. If you are looking for more variety we can recommend several nice local restaurants for a made to order breakfast.We hope you will come see us again.Thank you. Jane Koehling, Property Managert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
3.5 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Address: 452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Acadia Park Hotel Bar Harbor
Best Western Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Best Western
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing