We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a few minor "dislikes"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a few minor "dislikes"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights on Columbus Day holiday weekend with my husband. First the things I didn't like! This is really a motel, something I hadn't necessarily realized when I was making the booking. That is, you drive right up to your room and park outside your room door. Now this is not a problem as such but it can make your stay a little noisier than might otherwise be the case. You have other guests coming and going right outside your door, car doors slamming etc etc Not the end of the world but a little annoying. Also, there's no restaurant in the hotel, only a breakfast room where the complimentary continental breakfast is served. This was a little inconvenient for the one night during our stay where we wanted to just eat in and relax. Again though, if I'd checked the hotel website more closely when I was making the reservation, I would have realized this was the case. The location is also not wonderful. The hotel is on Route 3 about a 10 minute drive from Bar Harbor. So, this is not a place you can stroll around the village from. You'll need your car if you're staying here to do anything.
The pros: spacious, clean room with a very comfy bed. Friendly and very helpful staff. A nice breakfast with lots to choose from every morning from juices, coffee, breads, muffins, bagels, cereals and fruit to yoghurt, sausages and eggs. Also free cookies at reception are a nice little touch. All in all, this place is perfectly comfortable, pleasant and reasonably priced but lacks the charm and luxury you might get if you stayed in one of the lovely old inns in the village.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    299
    71
    15
    7
See reviews for
373
469
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here Columbus Day weekend and had a blast. I went on a nice 3.1 mile run down shore path for am exercise, the kids went in the heated to 85 degrees pool, even when it was only 65 degrees outside. The huge full free breakfast was a great way to start each day (eggs, sausage, french toast, bagels, cereal, bananas, apples, etc). The free cookies and hot coco and coffee were a great way to end each day. The location was close for driving to Acadia (1 mile?) or Bar Harbor (5 miles?). There is a cute mini golf land (Pirates?) within walking distance of hotel for pm activity. There are a few resturants with in walking distance for dinner too. The rooms have been remodled and look new. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and new too. I would definately stay here again for all the freebies and location!! Great deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmomkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. About 8 min drive into town. Breakfast was included and was just ok. Close to Acadia national Park. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoPackers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are very happy that you found our rooms clean and quiet and our staff friendly! It is just a short jaunt to Bar Harbor proper and the ride is certainly lovely. Our free deluxe continental breakfast features a hot meat (either sausage or bacon) and two hot egg items as well as hard boiled eggs, yogurt,muffins,Danish,cereals,juices,fruits (both fresh and mixed tropical)a variety of toasts, Engliush muffins, waffles, french toast, and bagels. If you are looking for more variety we can recommend several nice local restaurants for a made to order breakfast.We hope you will come see us again.Thank you. Jane Koehling, Property Managert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The Best Western Acadia is a very nice motel.

The check in process was very good. The front desk were very polite and provided plenty of information about the property and local area.

The room was large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great, it included a hot selection too.

The location is ok, about 4 miles out of Bar Harbor. You will have to drive to get food in the evening though.

A recommended hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FLYTHEW0RLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

had been to acadia a long time ago- did not see anything [foggy] so we gave it another shot.
so happy we did --it was great !! the park is breathtaking, the hotel was very nice & we added
a third night. hd enough lobster to last a lifetime. a great vacation...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meemee628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit here in Bar Harbor.We look forward to having you as our guests again.Thank you . Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Redone 60's/70's style one-story motel north of Bar Harbor proper. Room was quite clean. Room was not worn at all. The car is right outside your door. Staff was friendly and helpful to guests (to a fault if you are in the back of the line). Beds were sleepable if not super plush. Breakfast was advertised as Continental, but quite varied and included hot items. (Pre-cooked mass-feeding hot items, but warm, kept fresh, and kept stocked. Within the meaning of a free motel breakfast rather good). This location is close to very good dining, and staff recommendations were accurate. Wireless worked well and the house computer fair.

Bar Harbor is sort of an odd place to book yourself into. Not much very new at all. Lots of B&B's if you like that, but how do you pick a good one? Lots of 40's and 50's motels and cabins like you seldom see still operating farther west. (I could not decide if they looked quaint and appealing or just old and scary). This is one of the very few chain franchises.

I have some difficulty placing this one in context. Its not in Bar Harbor let alone close to the downtown attractions, and not out in one of the waterfront villages in the west part of the park either. Its a good bet to the hit middle and be comfortable, but it seemed a bit high for what it is. But maybe that is what Bar Harbor goes for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our room had recently been rennovated. It was spacious, cleanly decorated and very comfortable. A nice surprise for a chain. Convenient location and pleasant service .We liked that they had a computer/printer available for guest use in the lobby, as we were able to book our boarding passes the day before.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMandKenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
3.5 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Address: 452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Acadia Park Hotel Bar Harbor
Best Western Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Best Western
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing