We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seacoast NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Families!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with our kids. This is a convenient, affordable and very nicely appointed hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, service was personalized. Pool was small, but still an amenity. Free breakfast was much better than continental~lots of choices, always well stocked, and you will not go away hungry. Definitely a cost and convenience factor for a family of five!

Rooms were very clean, and had newer amenities. With the AC running it was blissfully quiet at night. Kids loved the free cookies (and we loved the coffee) in the lobby. We felt welcome, and it seems like the management is very motivated to keep things running well.

I highly recommend for families, or others on a budget. Although it's close to the turn off for Acadia, it is a bit of a drive to downtown. We liked that, but others might not. There is minigolf, ice cream, and several restaurants close by, but otherwise it's a bit on the outskirts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEGNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneK473, Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your great reviews of our property. We do strive to make this a great vacation spot for our guests. Our deluxe continental breakfast is a way to start the day while the afternoon tea/ coffee and cookies seem to help end it on a soothing restful note. We sincerely hope to see you again next summer. Jane Koehling, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    362
    85
    16
    10
See reviews for
462
548
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new brunswick
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were holidaying in the Bar Harbor area for the long weekend and spent 1 night at this motel (we would have stayed another but they were full). We loved our room, it was very spacious and clean. The grounds were nice. The staff very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was good and plentiful with several choices - was very pleased that it included fruit salad - it was delicious. The location was just a short driving distance from downtown and there is a very nice restaurant "the Log Cabin" nearby - we ate dinner there one evening and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_sunshine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose this hotel in consideration of its rating on trip advisor and the cost. We checked in on Friday, August 31st and checked out on Monday Sept 3rd. Overall the room was acceptable and what we were expecting. Friday and Saturday nights noticed ants by the sink and on the floor which we figured was part of the "Maine" experience. Sunday night fell asleep watching TV and awoke to a daddy long leg spider crawling down the front of me. When I knelt down to pick it up off the floor there was a large number of ants maybe 40-50 on the rug. Needless to say it was not what we were expecting given the cost that we were paying for the room. Upon checking out early Monday morning we reported the insect problem to the front desk and they directed us to Jane Koehling the Property Manager. I explained the insect problem to Jane and requested one day credit toward our bill. She said that she would have maintenance take care of it right away and that we should have told her right away as she would have given us a new room. I explained that moving all of our things at 11pm before checking out early the next morning was not an acceptalbe solution. She said she would give no more than a $50 credit. As a result we paid approximately $160 per night for a room that had an insect problem. Now thinking about it I noticed that they lay thier bed linens (hopefully the dirty ones) on the ground outside each room as part of the daily cleaning process. In any event, we will not stay here again especially given the many, many cost effective options in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneK473, Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. Our sincere desire is for all of our guests to have an outstanding stay at our property.
It is unfortunate that we were not notified of your concern about ants immediately. We have an outstanding pest control team as we are indeed in a wooded area. We would have quickly addressed any concerns you had so you would have been able to enjoy the rest of your stay.
When you spoke to me in our lobby you said you wanted “two nights free.” Since we were not even given the opportunity to address the issue I did not feel this was reasonable.
I was happy to extend to you an additional 10% discount along with your AAA 10% discount for all three nights for your inconvenience. When I offered this you said “I hope you know I will report this to Trip Advisor if you don’t give me the two nights for free.” I believe that Trip Advisor is a great tool for travelers but not to be used as a threat to receive free services.
Upon immediate inspection of your vacated room, we found no sign of ants. We did find the Harvestman insect (Daddy Long Legs) in a tissue as you mentioned. We take any complaint seriously and we are diligent in looking for any signs of insects and treat as needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were traveling with our daughter's family, which included a nine month old baby, to Acadia National Park. The Best Western is an older hotel with parking right outside your room. The rooms were very large because it was an older hotel, and they seemed to be newly remodeled. The carpeting, bedding, bath fixtures all appeared to be new. The rooms had the microfridge which is important for families traveling with children.
The breakfast area was unique because it was a separate building and had alot of seating, plus there was outside seating around the pool. The breakfast choices were good, cereal, very fresh muffins, bread, bagels,
fruit and a hot item. Carole does a great job as a hostess. She is so knowledgeable about the area and gave us good advice about the park. The grounds are spacious and allow room for young children to have some space to play. The park is only two miles away and you don't have to deal with the traffic in Bar Harbor. This hotel is a good choice for families with young children.

Room Tip: All rooms face the parking lot and seem to offer the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank can1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Great location, 5 minutes into Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Staff was friendly, rooms clean. The pool was very refreshing. Breakfast included was very good and the lady attending to everything was very capable. I found it pretty much what others said on reviewing this on trip advisor. Bar Harbor was a stop for us on our way to Halifax, N.S. and would recommend to others. Pay attention to address since there are 2 Best Westerns in area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had two rooms, side by side for our large family. Rooms were nice, and very clean. The beds were great, we all slept well and even the kids spoke of the pillows! Location was great, just outside the park, which was handy as we spent two days in the park, hiking. Cookies in the lobby were a nice touch and kept the kids quiet while we checked in. Breakfast was very good, although the breakfast room fills up early, by seven am! The pool was large and a bit cloudy, looked in need of some care but the kids swam anyway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveallmineblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This facility is located close to the Acadia NP Visitor’s Center and a fairly easy drive to Bar Harbor. It was perfect for us as our trip revolved around the Park. We did not have to fight any traffic getting to the Park and it was very expedient when we were heading out on our last morning. The staff was friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable, providing maps and answering our questions. Our room was one of the closest to the road (in the building that housed the breakfast area) but we were not bothered by any traffic sounds. The air conditioning unit that ran continuously (the weather was warm and humid) was quiet and efficient. I am a light sleeper and it did not wake me up. The sink and dressing area outside the bathroom made it very convenient for three women to get ready each morning. The toiletries were very nice. This may seem minor to some but we found it helpful: the dark blue nightlight in the sink/dressing area made it easy to find your way to the bathroom at night but was not so bright or glaring as to keep you awake. The breakfast choices were more than ample, especially for families. We would always take a piece of fruit to have on our walks. The pool was very nice. We were not able to take advantage of the Shuttle but it would stop right in front and there was a bench to sit on while waiting. We did not use the laundry facility but it was nice to know there was one available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4PeaceLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
3.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
3.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Acadia Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Acadia Park Inn

Property: Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Address: 452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Acadia Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is located back enough from Rt#3 to avoid traffic noise. We have a playground for small children, Bocce for all ages, a S'Mores fire pit with attendant on site evenings. We have park style Bar-B Que s and picnic tables. Lots of green areas for relaxing. We have a badminton area and lawn toys. We offer inside movies on rainy days or nights for the kids with some classics for the older folks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Acadia Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Acadia Park Hotel Bar Harbor
Best Western Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Best Western
Best Western Acadia Park Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing