We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old inn in good location but not worth the high price charged”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old inn in good location but not worth the high price charged”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We had guaranteed a 3 night stay at the Inn but decided not to stay once we got there. They were charging $335 for a room that had a bathroom across the hall. It was totally unsatisfactory. Their web description had said detached bathroom but it never entered our minds that this would mean a bathroom across the hall when they were charging such a high price. They kept the $335 deposit we had paid and we left and found a fabulous hotel much nearer Acadia Park with a wonderful, large bath, fireplace, bedroom, sitting room with fireplace and balcony overlooking the harbor with fabulous service and a pianist in the lobby each evening....all for $195 per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkostrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    17
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
237
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We spent two nights at this B&B - wish we could have stayed longer. The artwork is amazing - inside (paintings, sculpture, crafts) and outside (sculptures, fountain) - like living in a gallery (and a good one, at that). The location is outstanding - great view of the water, just steps from the shore path. You're right in the heart of town, but down a quiet side street. There are no televisions in the rooms or common areas, so you really are escaping (but there is wifi plus a computer for common use). Breakfasts were good - local ingredients prepared creatively - and they worked with our special dietary needs. Staff was outstanding - friendly, cheerful, helpful. Just an outstanding B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advok8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I found the Inn by reading reviews on tripadvisor. Ulikana is truly magical. The owners and staff are wonderful. Louie, the dog, was a sweetheart, and all the art and antique pieces scattered throughout the Inn were charming. There are also beautiful sculptures placed in different areas outside. The terrace was great overlooking the harbor every morning and breakfast was amazing! We cannot say enough about this place and hope to go back for our next anniversary.
Bar Harbor is gorgeous..breathtaking views, salty air, quaint shops, awesome hiking ...but Ulikana made the experience even better. Thank you Helene and Roy for sharing your passion for Bar Harbor with us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetohikeRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We had a great time here. The owners make you feel so welcome. We had a huge room with a big bed and claw foot tub in the yellow house. The room was quiet, and the whole house had an open, airy feel and a wonderful porch with rocking chairs. Every morning we went next door to Ullikana to eat breakfast outside overlooking the harbor. Breakfasts were yummy - muffins, fruit, and an interesting egg or crepe dish. We went there to be near Acadia, where we planned to hike. The choice was perfect. Ullikana has a room with a big map of Mt. Desert. Every morning after breakfast, Roy (the owner), met us by the map and helped us plan our day. He seems to know all the trails intimately, and was perfect in finding the trails that matched our abilities and interests that day. So our most difficult choices were: will it be mountain, lake, or rocky coast today? Challenging hike or leisurely carriage road? No problem, Roy helped us fit it all in. Staff were all courteous and helpful, too. Ullikana is an easy walk to restaurants and shops in Bar Harbor, but off the main road so it's quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mena, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Charming setting overlooking the harbor but tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor in July. Breakfast was outstanding. Enjoyed the wine and cheese social hour. Great hosts! Especially loved the warm greeting we received from Syd when we arrived. The house was as lovely as a fairy tale.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasTravelerX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I found the Ullikana from Trip Advisor and I could not have been more satisfied. The posts were dead on and the property exceeded my expectations. This was my first time to Bar Harbor and Roy and Syd made FABULOUS recommendations on everything from hiking trails to restaurants.

If you go you have to rent a bike and ride the carriage roads! The roads provide spectacular vistas and very safe since no cars are permitted on them.

The Great Head trail is a fabulous hike, Ship Harbor is a great nature walk and Thurston's is a true Maine lobster pound and delicious. Don't miss This Way Cafe'-yummy! I would go back in a heart beat...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Great food-Great rooms-Great Innkeepers-Great Location...My wife , 13 year old grandson & I really enjoyed staying at the Ulikana Inn. No surprises! This is a great place to stay. We wish Helene, Roy & Jack the best always.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded area of the village of Bar Harbor, Ullikana Inn keeps a constant eye on comfort. The terrace overlooks the harbor, and the door is but a minute walk to the center of town, with its shops, restaurants and activities. Park at the Inn, and explore the village with ease. Dramatic colors and sophisticated styling contribute to a sense of liveliness and fun. Guests also enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast served on the patio overlooking Frenchman Bay or in the large dining room with views of the terrace fountain. Relax in the afternoon with refreshments as you watch the sailboats and ships come and go in the harbor, or settle into a cozy chair by the fireplace to wind down your day. We are Eddie and Judy Hemmingsen - new owners of Ullikana! Ullikana is undergoing extensive renovations and upgrades for the 2017 season. The decor and colors of many rooms will be all new this season. We aren't new to the innkeeping business. We formerly owned The Bluenose Inn in Bar Harbor and currently own the Belfast Bay Inn in beautiful mid coastal Belfast, Maine. We look forward to meeting you and will do everything that we can to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing