We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are still reminiscing about Ulllikana. We loved the friendliness of Roy, Helene, and Cyd - their abilities and enthusiasm to create such a welcoming atmosphere, complete with wonderful food and art, and a black labrador named Louis. Ullikana tops our list and we hope our photos will suffice to get us through until our next visit.

Room Tip: We probably had the smallest room, which was named Henry's Room. It was on the 3rd floor under t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneMargaret74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    16
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
230
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plainview
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay. We were in Room 5 for one night and Room 6 for two. Both rooms are great and have a wonderful view of the water with your own private porch. Roy and Helene were amazing hosts, as was Cyd. Helene turns out amazing breakfasts from Maple Muffins to peaches with a honey lemon sauce to an omelet, everything was great. We had the pleasure of being served by Jack, Roy and Helene's grandson who is truly a special young man. If you want to hike in Acadia, be sure to talk to Roy who will give you advice about the trails based on what you want to do. He sent us to the Jordan Cliff trail which was perfect for us. He has a wealth of knowledge and is so willing to share. Wish the inn was not 8 hours away or we would return right away. We will have to wait until next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpteach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Ullikana and again we left feeling pampered and spoiled. The location of this b&b is right on the harbor, so breakfast on the terrace is served with a view. Location to the park for all your activity is about 5 miles away. Then you are always welcomed back with a wine reception at 5:30pm,again with a beautiful view. So many great restaurants right in walking distance. Top that off with a stroll on the shore path, all so easy and available. The Inn is beautifully appointed and exceptionally clean. Breakfast is a treat, we had plum soup one morning, a first for us and quite a treat. We hope to get back there soon. I would imagine this Inn is a perfect stay any time of year as the inn keepers do it just right.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had such a lovely time at the Ullikana and would recommend this very special place to all traveling to Bar Harbor. Rarely have we found hosts in the hospitality world so enthusiastic about what they are doing and relating it so honestly to their guests. Helene's breakfasts were remarkable. I took pictures of many creations but they don't do justice to the flavors and creativity and delicacy of what Helene created. Roy was a wonderful host--kind, businesslike, welcoming, and ready for each guest's needs and interests. The historic nature of the Ullikana made the property itself very intriguing and so did its location with a fine view of the harbor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelforfun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a recent visit to Bar Harbor. The house and garden was full of little surprises at every turn. It was decorated eclectically with interesting pieces of art throughout. I was smitten when we arrived and walked past a multi tiered fountain where we found a little rubber duck enjoying a swim. The innkeepers were all very warm and helpful and the food was wonderful. The accomodations were very clean and comfortable. The best part ,though, was the location. It was tucked away in a quiet area of town but close enough to town to walk to shops and restaurants. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Roy & Helene go the limit. Helene's breakfast is reminiscent of the finest hotels in Paris. Daily, Roy takes the time to review what you've planned so that he can fine-tune what you want to enjoy, providing useful tips re: best roads, routes, restaurants etc. He does not get annoyed regardless the number of questions you ask.
We've just returned homw and are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been to Ullikana about a dozen or so times and cannot say enough great things about this exquisite Inn! You will always run into repeat guests such as us who return home longing for our return trip. This is an extraordinary house run by very special people that you will be hard pressed to match elsewhere. I saw the post about the small room and yes, there is ONE very small room in the house. All the other rooms are spacious and there are several that are quite opulent with beautiful decks and fireplaces. The rooms are immaculately clean and taken care of by a friendly housekeeping staff that tends to your every need. All the rooms are decorated in an artistic blends of colorful patterns and have lovely toiletries and plush towels. Various and interesting artwork are displayed around the premises. Roy and Helen are the very definition of gracious hosts. We have traveled to many other places and Roy and Helen have certainly spoiled us since we never find their kind of hospitality elsewhere! Helen’s breakfasts are a gourmet experience that you will be hard pressed to find in any other B&B. The house is set just far enough back from the main drag to be quiet and private, yet just a short walk to the center of town or to the famous shore path. Roy draws on his many years of living on Mt Desert Island to provide each guest with loads of choices from restaurants to hiking. His goal is to make your stay a memorable one so that you will want to come back. Happy hour, like breakfast, is served on the Inn’s beautiful patio garden overlooking the harbor. A more perfect spot in Bar Harbor does not exist! I can't wait until our next trip back!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful! The website shows all the different rooms with their features so check befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criticalandfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1800's large Tudor house owned by a wealthy Boston Merchant who also owned the Bar Harbor Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing