We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite vacation in New England.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite vacation in New England.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We look forward to going to Ullikana every summer. It is the only place that we stay on Mount Desert Island. Owners Roy and Helene are the epitome of gracious hosts as are Syd and Kathy. The breakfasts are creative, gourmet cuisine. There is detailed attention to everything about the house and one's stay. Delicious restaurants are within walking distance as is a walk along the shore and access to the Bar Harbor piers. This is a must vacation place. I cannot say enough good things.

Room Tip: We like room 7 because it includes an outdoor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    18
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
244
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed last minute one night in June. No other rooms left so were told small room available.
It was a closet and the bathroom sink was built for a 5 year old. We made the best of it but the price for this room was too high for what we got. Breakfast was great. View of water beautiful.
Location is hard to find and too close to town for us.

Room Tip: The other rooms we saw looked much bigger so check before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the minute we arrived we knew that Ullikana was a keeper. Stunning room, friendly staff, great location, gourmet breakfast, engaging innkeepers. It won't be long before we return and would quickly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATC41714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Eric and I stayed at the Ullikana for a week on our honeymoon, and we loved it! Roy and Helene are so friendly and welcoming, and the house is beautiful, comfortable, and clean. It is located right across from the harbor and near Main St., with all kinds of shops and restaurants just walking distance away. Roy is a great guide, full of information about the best spots of hiking, walking, kayaking, eating, etc. And Helene's breakfasts are to die for!! Amazing. We can't praise Ullikana Bed and Breakfast enough, and we can't wait to get back! We already miss our morning conversations with Roy and Helene... and we miss Louis, too! (the dog)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DvDSchoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I just returned from my third visit to the Ullikana, and it won't be my last. Everything is just as I remember it: charming house/artwork, incredibly clean rooms lovingly cared for, delicious breakfasts artfully displayed, and the finest staff you'd care to meet. Roy and Helene set a high standard for all other bed and breakfasts that I have ever visited, and no one ever compares. They will treat you with care and consideration, and their love for this inn is e evident around every corner. You will start as a customer and leave a friend.

Room Tip: Each room is lovely and special in its own right. Some are cozier than others, but they are all bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful location. Roy and Helene were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable hosts. The view from the rear of the inn where you have breakfast overlooks the harbor. Breakfast was a superb - you will not want lunch! We had room 2 in the main house - it was snug but extremely comfortable. We loved our stay in the inn and would definately go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not overlook the front if you are light sleepers as the road as a gravel one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As returning guests of Ullikana, this past May was no different than the 12 or so other visits since 1996. Simply put, it was perfect. Actually, when you talk to people there, you’d be hard pressed to find someone who is not a returning guest as well.

This visit to Ullikana was special for us because we hadn’t spent time alone, away from the kids in years and consequently, even when in Bar Harbor as a family, we hadn’t had the opportunity to stay at Ullikana.

So, why do we love Ullikana? Rather than start with the obvious things like beautiful house, lovely art, pretty décor, I’ll begin with the heart and soul of Ullikana. This is something that emanates from the owners/innkeepers, Roy & Helene and trickles down to their staff. It truly sets them apart. You won’t be greeted, but will be genuinely welcomed. They are sincerely interested in ensuring your enjoyment and they can’t help but demonstrate that with each and every guest.

The vibe you will get at Ullikana is one of pure warmth and comfort. If you don’t leave feeling much warmer and fuzzier than when you walked in, check for a pulse because you are probably stone cold and likely not breathing.

Aside from the “vibe” that is so palpable, yes there are all the other things about Ullikana that make for the perfect stay. Every one of Helene’s breakfasts is a lovely treat. The perfect combination of healthy and decadent and when you open your eyes every morning, you won’t be thinking about how grateful you are to be alive, you will be wondering what you’re having for breakfast.

When you make your way to breakfast, either in the dining room or outdoors if the weather cooperates, you will notice the blissful looks of the other guests as you all share your “aren’t we lucky to be here” smiles. Breakfast outside is the ultimate because Ullikana has a lovely view of the harbor. It’s tranquil and beautiful. You can keep to yourself or talk to other guests who for some reason all seem to be in a really good mood. This time, we had a lot of fun meeting some very nice people and even had a little “breakfast club” thing going on.

Sleeping is great because Ullikana is in a very quiet corner away from the main st. (appropriately named, Main st.) but it is a two-minute walk from all the shops, restaurants and most importantly, ice cream.

The rooms are squeaky clean, fresh, pretty and I had forgotten how great the mattresses are. We slept like babies- sleeping in until 8:30 every day- woo hoo! Luckily breakfast is served until 9:30 ☺

Aside from sleeping and eating, there’s plenty of quiet space to just hang out. Most people though, including us want to take advantage of the park and other things of great interest on the island. Roy is often seen in the library consulting the wall-sized map, giving advice on the best hikes, depending upon what you’re looking for. In the evening, you’ll often see a few people in the sitting room area, reading. I personally love to grab an oversized mug, fill it with orange spice tea and head up to our room.

Due to the unrelenting rain, while we didn’t get our usual Bar Harbor complete experience this trip, we did get our full Ullikana experience and left as always, relaxed, happy and very much looking forward to the next time! Being there again was just perfect.

Room Tip: Book early! Every time we've been there, they were fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded area of the village of Bar Harbor, Ullikana Inn keeps a constant eye on comfort. The terrace overlooks the harbor, and the door is but a minute walk to the center of town, with its shops, restaurants and activities. Park at the Inn, and explore the village with ease. Dramatic colors and sophisticated styling contribute to a sense of liveliness and fun. Guests also enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast served on the patio overlooking Frenchman Bay or in the large dining room with views of the terrace fountain. Relax in the afternoon with refreshments as you watch the sailboats and ships come and go in the harbor, or settle into a cozy chair by the fireplace to wind down your day. We are Eddie and Judy Hemmingsen - new owners of Ullikana! Ullikana is undergoing extensive renovations and upgrades for the 2017 season. The decor and colors of many rooms will be all new this season. We aren't new to the innkeeping business. We formerly owned The Bluenose Inn in Bar Harbor and currently own the Belfast Bay Inn in beautiful mid coastal Belfast, Maine. We look forward to meeting you and will do everything that we can to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing