We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis in busy Bar Harbor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis in busy Bar Harbor”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed here four times in the last two years as we took our child to and from camp nearby. We typically stay one or two nights, but this would be a great place for a longer stay as well. The location is ideal- just a a couple of blocks takes you to downtown Bar Harbor, and it is a 5 minute walk to the shore path as well. Despite its central location, the inn feels removed from the busy town streets. We have enjoyed rooms in both buildings, and most recently stayed in Audrey's room in the main house which had a really fun decor. The rooms are comfortable with unique furnishings and interesting artwork in the halls and outside the inn. A lovely breakfast is served outside in the mornings. The owners are warm, and Roy is a great resource for planning activities in the area. Last visit he helped us plan a bike ride into Acadia and his tips really helped make for a fabulous day. We look forward to returning next summer!

Room Tip: Both Ullikana and the Yellow House (which is across the driveway) have great rooms. Some rooms are...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank OakHill1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    17
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
237
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henryville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Yellow House, Bar Harbor, is a wonderful old cottage along with its sister property, the Ullikana. It is located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor but still manages to feel secluded. The room was comfortable, spacious, and nicely decorated. Unique original artwork displayed throughout both cottages. Wonderful common rooms to sit and relax by the fireplace after a long day at Acadia. Owners and staff very friendly, and helpful with planning activities, and black lab Louie was so calm and friendly, we wanted to take him home! Excellent breakfasts, presentations were so beautiful I had to take pictures! Weather was warm enough to have breakfast outside, overlooking Frenchman Bay. Definitely worth another visit!

Room Tip: Malvern is a corner room on the 2nd floor, very private, quiet, and bright & cheery during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed three nights in the Yellow House - we had a large and spacious room which was comfortable and had all the ameneties that you needed. This included a small guest kitchen with a fridge so that you could make your own drinks etc.

The inn keepers are very welcoming and can't do enough for you and provide advice and directions of places to visit, drive to or for walks. Breakfasts were excellent and set you up for the day. Free wine and cheese each afternoon was lovely and were very sociable and meant that you met and chatted to the other guests.

The inn is in an ideal location and 5 minutes walk and you are in the centre of Bar Harbor and also only steps away from the Shore Path and some stunning views. The inn is also ideal for access to Acadia Park which mustn't be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A quiet little B&B tucked away between rows of maples with a view of the ocean. Or maybe a warm breakfast served by friendly faces right next to the main hub of Bar Harbor. Why choose. At the Ullikana you can have both. Close enough to everything to make you feel guilty about ignoring your daily exercise, but quiet enough to get in an afternoon nap without any disturbance. And lets face it, thats what Vacation is all about.... That and copious quantities of cheap Lobster. Ask Roy or Helene and they will give you the inside scoop on where the locals go. This is where the trip ends and the vacation begins.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the more you pay, the more space you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My room in the Yellow House, Malvern, was comfortable and beautiful. The breakfasts were outstanding. Roy and Helene are wonderful hosts. The location, near downtown Bar Harbor and the Shore path cannot be beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The inn is in a wonderful location overlooking the harbour. Our room was just beautiful with a separate but lovely bathroom. The breakfast apple pancake was absolutely delicious! A delightful stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The property and location are ideal. What distinguishes this b and b are the owners, they are so nice and helpful. We have stayed here three times. The breakfasts are wonderful, made beautifully and deliciously by Helene.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
0.9 mi away
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded area of the village of Bar Harbor, Ullikana Inn keeps a constant eye on comfort. The terrace overlooks the harbor, and the door is but a minute walk to the center of town, with its shops, restaurants and activities. Park at the Inn, and explore the village with ease. Dramatic colors and sophisticated styling contribute to a sense of liveliness and fun. Guests also enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast served on the patio overlooking Frenchman Bay or in the large dining room with views of the terrace fountain. Relax in the afternoon with refreshments as you watch the sailboats and ships come and go in the harbor, or settle into a cozy chair by the fireplace to wind down your day. We are Eddie and Judy Hemmingsen - new owners of Ullikana! Ullikana is undergoing extensive renovations and upgrades for the 2017 season. The decor and colors of many rooms will be all new this season. We aren't new to the innkeeping business. We formerly owned The Bluenose Inn in Bar Harbor and currently own the Belfast Bay Inn in beautiful mid coastal Belfast, Maine. We look forward to meeting you and will do everything that we can to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing