We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Yellow House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed three nights in the Yellow House - we had a large and spacious room which was comfortable and had all the ameneties that you needed. This included a small guest kitchen with a fridge so that you could make your own drinks etc.

The inn keepers are very welcoming and can't do enough for you and provide advice and directions of places to visit, drive to or for walks. Breakfasts were excellent and set you up for the day. Free wine and cheese each afternoon was lovely and were very sociable and meant that you met and chatted to the other guests.

The inn is in an ideal location and 5 minutes walk and you are in the centre of Bar Harbor and also only steps away from the Shore Path and some stunning views. The inn is also ideal for access to Acadia Park which mustn't be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

A quiet little B&B tucked away between rows of maples with a view of the ocean. Or maybe a warm breakfast served by friendly faces right next to the main hub of Bar Harbor. Why choose. At the Ullikana you can have both. Close enough to everything to make you feel guilty about ignoring your daily exercise, but quiet enough to get in an afternoon nap without any disturbance. And lets face it, thats what Vacation is all about.... That and copious quantities of cheap Lobster. Ask Roy or Helene and they will give you the inside scoop on where the locals go. This is where the trip ends and the vacation begins.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the more you pay, the more space you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My room in the Yellow House, Malvern, was comfortable and beautiful. The breakfasts were outstanding. Roy and Helene are wonderful hosts. The location, near downtown Bar Harbor and the Shore path cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The inn is in a wonderful location overlooking the harbour. Our room was just beautiful with a separate but lovely bathroom. The breakfast apple pancake was absolutely delicious! A delightful stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The property and location are ideal. What distinguishes this b and b are the owners, they are so nice and helpful. We have stayed here three times. The breakfasts are wonderful, made beautifully and deliciously by Helene.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from our 5th stay at the Ullikana. Our room (Belmont) in the Yellow House was charming, cozy, and clean. The 3 course gourmet breakfast prepared by lovely Helene and served on the patio overlooking Frenchman's Bay was outrageously delicious. Roy attended to every guest and willing offered hiking, biking, and restaurant recommendations. Evening manager Sid was equally welcoming. Roy and Helene are the consummate innkeepers and the Ullikana remains the best B & B in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: No pool. Sorry, my error. Fitness Center = Acadia National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Ullikana Inn has everything you want of a bed and breakfast. Starting with the hosts Roy and Helene. Helene prepares the five star breakfast. The coffee, fruit and muffins were an excellent start to warm your appetite. The crapes were lite and the stuffing very scrumptious. A great way to get ready for Bar Harbor’s physical activities. This is where Roy comes in; he is so knowledgeable of Bar Harbor and Acadia that your time in the area is well spent. The guests were a delight to converse with at the breakfast and the afternoon wine and cheese social.
We stayed in the Library room for two nights. The bed was perfect and my wife loved the soft pillows. We had a private door to the porch where late night after dinner drinks were relaxing after walking and hiking.
We completely enjoyed this experience and have decided to return again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded area of the village of Bar Harbor, Ullikana Inn keeps a constant eye on comfort. The terrace overlooks the harbor, and the door is but a minute walk to the center of town, with its shops, restaurants and activities. Park at the Inn, and explore the village with ease. Dramatic colors and sophisticated styling contribute to a sense of liveliness and fun. Guests also enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast served on the patio overlooking Frenchman Bay or in the large dining room with views of the terrace fountain. Relax in the afternoon with refreshments as you watch the sailboats and ships come and go in the harbor, or settle into a cozy chair by the fireplace to wind down your day. We are Eddie and Judy Hemmingsen - new owners of Ullikana! Ullikana is undergoing extensive renovations and upgrades for the 2017 season. The decor and colors of many rooms will be all new this season. We aren't new to the innkeeping business. We formerly owned The Bluenose Inn in Bar Harbor and currently own the Belfast Bay Inn in beautiful mid coastal Belfast, Maine. We look forward to meeting you and will do everything that we can to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing