We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended”
Review of Manor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Strongly recommended”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We spent one night here during our New England trip. The rooms are very nicely decorated and very clean. Very good prices too. We paid little for our room because the bathroom was across the hallway, but it didn't bother us at all since all the other rooms on our floor were not occupied. They also supplied bathrobes. The only problem was the breakfast: there was not much choice for our 5-year-old daughter, who loves jam or honey and bread and a cup of milk (there were no such things). But on the whole it was a nice place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    42
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
129
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rye, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The main house at The Manor House Inn is a beautifully restored 19th century house, which has been very sympathetically updated over the years and maintains a well deserved place in the National Register of Historic Places. The common rooms are spacious, airy and beautifully decorated. There is a great wrap around porch with comfortable wicker furniture, which makes a great place for breakfast, tea, reading, people-watching, napping, etc.

The house is located right on the edge of downtown Bar Harbor - a very easy three block walk to the main streets of shops, restaurants, etc. It is less than a block to the water and very close to the sand bar that goes to Bar Island. The Bar Harbor Club is directly across the street. One real benefit is that The Manor House has off street parking for its guests.

The rooms in the inn are very comfortable. Some are bigger than others, but they're all more than adequate. The beds and linens and very comfortable. We booked our trip late so we stayed in three different rooms over the course of a week. Each one was unique and we loved them all. Some rooms have fireplaces. They all have private bathrooms, though some bathrooms are across a hallway from the bedroom. There is free wi-fi throughout the property.

The complimentary breakfasts and afternoon tea are excellent. We stayed for six nights and never had the same breakfast or tea twice and every dish was delicious, made with lots of fresh local ingredients.

Without a doubt the best part of our stay was the staff. They are gracious, unobtrusive and very, very helpful. They were ready with suggestions for everything from where to rent mountain bikes, to where to eat, to where to watch a meteor shower. Mt Desert Island and Acadia National Park have something for everyone and it was incredibly helpful to have local people ready with ideas for how we could get the most out of our trip.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat - today, if I could!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJR03870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed in a small cottage just outside the B&B. It was great to have our own space. Breakfast and afternoon snacks were great. Inn Keepers were VERY nice and helpful with suggestions for things to do. When we asked where we could find a laundrymat, they offered to do our laundry for us. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to go to Bar Harbor and be close to all the shops and restaurants and tours. GREAT GREAT place to be.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Strother0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed in this lovely B&B for two nights during our stay in Bar Harbor, Maine.

Loves: great location, wonderful rap-around balcony on the ground floor
Likes: nice quiet room, nice hosts, cookies and tea in the afternoon
Dislikes: store bought breakfast (jams, breads, pancake batter, most everything...)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We were so glad that we found out about the Manor House Inn and were able to stay there for our Honeymoon! The location was fantastic...just steps away from Bar Harbor's Main Street and minutes from Acadia. We enjoyed the breakfasts immensely...the staff was fantastic! We were very warmly welcomed and felt very 'at home' throughout the house, in the common areas and in our suite in the Acadia West suite (highly recommended!). The bed was so comfortable and the A/C was needed and it did a good job cooling the unit when we arrived. We stayed very busy during our stay and didn't get to enjoy too many afternoon teas, but the food in the mornings was just great. There was a bicycle touring group there that pretty much took over the breakfast areas some mornings and apologized for 'ruining our solitude' but that was a minor issue during our stay...they were a fun and interesting group! I can't say enough about the evening staff and the fantastic job done by the breakfast chef...she was just a doll! Highly recommended and worth the price for a splurge on a special trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anichol8958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Clean and cozy historic home. It's on a quiet road, yet 5 min walk to downtown.
The breakfast served buffet style was delicious. Tea time also has tasty pastries.
We had 3 rooms - room 7, 8, 10. Room 7 is perfect for a couple, with 10 great if you have kids traveling with you. Overall, we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My husband, our son and I stayed at the Manor House Inn for four nights in June. We had Rooms 5 and 6. Both rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We were greeted upon arrival and taken to our rooms by Janie, who was very cordial. We settled in our rooms and then walked a few blocks to town for dinner. This Inn is an excellent location for walking almost anywhere in Bar Harbor. The weather was a mix between sunny and rainy, but we were very comfortable leaving the windows open. An air conditioner window unit was available to use if we desired. This street location is a busy traffic area, with lots of construction going on at this time in Bar Harbor, but most of the traffic noise didn't begin until about 7:30 am. It wasn't unbearable. The breakfasts were wonderful. The items offered each morning were described by the hostess on duty. We especially enjoyed the blueberry stuffed french toast. A nice assortment of snacks were available in the afternoon along with hot tea or lemonade. We would highly recommend this Inn to our family and friends and would love to return and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmpandjsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 106 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1856
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House Inn is a lovely home located in the West Street historic district of Bar HArbor, Maine. It is just a short walk to the waterfront and waterfront activities, shops, and restaurants. Acadia National Park is just 2 miles from our front door. Our spacious 1 -1/2 acre of grounds contain the five buildings comprising 18 beautiful guest rooms, ample parking and plenty of greenspace to enjoy. A full breakfast is created for you each morning and afternoon treats are served daily from the original 1887 Butler's Pantry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing