We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from hone”
Review of Manor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from hone”
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We were told about this Inn from some friends. This was simply an incredible place to stay. From our arrival through to our departure, we were treated not just as paying guests, but as part of a family (the ones you like having around). Breakfasts were terrific and the staff was warm and friendly. Our room was wonderful. The grounds are so impressive and not off-limits. In fact the entire property was for us to enjoy! We will be back as will our friends.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — we didn't get to stay long enough
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aaoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    42
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
129
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We have stayed at the Manor House 2 years in a row. We stayed in the Acadia Southeast room. Very beautiful. Spacious jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was delicious. Within walking distance to downtown. We'll be coming back this year!!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vadisrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro ATL, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

No complaints here. We had a lovely visit! The grounds are beautiful and the inn is very close to town within easy walking distance of the town. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff friendly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ga_travels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Nice Bed & Breakfast near downtown Bar Harbor. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Other guests were nice and the owners were very helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do around Bar Harbor. Overall we enjoyed our stay, recommend to others, and would return again.

  • Liked — Big Comfortable Rooms, Clean, Good Breakfast, Helpful Owners
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JATravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

My wife and I spent our 5th anniversary at the Manor House, and the experience was nothing but pleasurable. We found the accomodations absolutely perfect. We booked the Acadia west room in the Acadia cottage. This room is the most expensive on site, but we thought well worth it. A large living area with a gas fireplace along with a jacuzzi tub in the bath was a nice touch. The breakfasts were very good and you could eat pretty much where you pleased. We found the staff very helpful, even prior to check in, I called up a few days in advance and ordered a vase of red roses for the room. Not only were they there, but also no additional charge to the bill. I thought that was classy. Also a real plus was its proximity to downtown Bar Harbor. A short walk to the restaurants and shops was a real plus for us.We will stay there again when visiting Bar Harbor.

  • Liked — Proximity to town, good accomodations.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
422 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The Manor House Inn is a lovely old inn with old-fashioned Victorian charm and romance. We were warmly greeted by Lillian and later met the cook and owners who also were very nice. Breakfasts were very good, especially the oatmeal and hot offerings. You can take food up to your room on big heavy trays. Tea and fresh, warm cookies are available in the afternoon. The location is ideal -- a couple blocks from the center of Bar Harbor so it's close but quiet. We had, I think, Room #3...it is on the second floor and one of the least expensive, and for a reason so be forewarned...the room is small. Also, the bathroom is across the hall, so bring a bathrobe! The bathroom is not shared, it is private and even has a small sitting room (so you can keep luggage there and use as a dressing room), but this set-up is not for everyone. But to save $40 bucks a night it worked fine for us. The place was full, but we had no problem parking on site. We stayed 3 nights to celebrate our 2nd anniversary and would recommend MHI to anyone.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nagled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We had high hopes coming to Bar Harbor but we found a very chill welcome in this B&B. The inn keepers almost made us feel we're interrupting when we arrived at the B&B to check in. After a very cold & business-like introduction of do's & don'ts (felt like being back at school) we where shown our room - no help was offered with our suitcases. Breakfast was stated to be from 7:30-9:30AM - already early for a Saturday - but we when we arrived at breakfast by 9:15AM, we found that there was not much left. We expected the kitchen to replenish breakfast but they simply stated that they only cooked once and that they leave at 9:30AM - so much for service. This B&B advertises a full hot breakfast and simply doesn't deliver - they didn't even have simple toast. We decided to take our loss and go to another hotel and paid for a breakfast. - we really should have deducted this from our bill but we couldn't be bothered; we're just happy to leave this place. The next day we didn't even bother to have breakfast here and went straight to Cafe This Way, just off Mt.Desert St;, where the locals go for a great breakfast at great prices. We can recommend Cafe Bluefish for a great dinner; we had the lobster pie - excellent taste.

  • Liked — location is convenient to the center of Bar Harbor
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff & lack of personable service. Breakfast below par
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ozdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 106 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1856
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House Inn is a lovely home located in the West Street historic district of Bar HArbor, Maine. It is just a short walk to the waterfront and waterfront activities, shops, and restaurants. Acadia National Park is just 2 miles from our front door. Our spacious 1 -1/2 acre of grounds contain the five buildings comprising 18 beautiful guest rooms, ample parking and plenty of greenspace to enjoy. A full breakfast is created for you each morning and afternoon treats are served daily from the original 1887 Butler's Pantry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing